Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bread-And-Butter Pickles My Way Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bread-And-Butter Pickles My Way

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2002

      excellent! just like the pickles my grandma used to make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2002

      A #1 results, I had to substitute cucumbers with straight neck squash as my cucumbers did not fare very well this year, My mom had a recipe for squash and this one sure hit very close.Family and friends send Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      This is an excellent pickle recipe and I've made it seeral times with cucumbers. Now I'm getting ready to make a batch with watermelon rind to see how it turns out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      I made this into a relish. I added chopped sweet red peppers and the other veggies in the processor. This is incredible!! We love it with hot dogs, burgers, italian sausage and lots more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2003

      Fabulous! I made them today and snitched a few out for eating right now. I added a sliced green pepper too. I'm not sure if it made much differnce,but it seemed like a good idea at the time. I highly recommend the recipe, sure to be on my list for next year. Thanks for sharing it with us. Maryanne

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2013

      I've made 3 batches of these in the last few weeks, can't keep them in the house! Gave a few pints away, and now friends are clamoring for more. Even had requests to sell them!! By far, the best sweet pickles I've ever had. Won't be able to tolerate store-bought ever again!<br/>7/2013 Update: I have been making these every summer since 2009 when I discovered this recipe! I truly believe this is the best sweet pickle I've ever tasted. Just wanted to add that I recently found a half of a quart jar of them from last summer in the back of the fridge. They looked and smelled great, so I polished them off over the course of 2 days with tuna sandwiches. Perfect! Even after a year in the fridge! (Also, I don't process them, and keep in fridge, just in case!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      Great tasting pickles,made just as directed. Perfect sweet/sour taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      wonderful !!! awesome !! Fantastic !!! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      These are absolutely AWESOME!! And so easy. I have another recipe but I have to refrigerate them. I plant so many cucumbers that I soon run out of room in the fridge. So this will be a keeper forever!! Thanks so much for finding the perfect mix for these. Oh, I could not wait for the 28 cups of cucumbers so I divided it by 4 and it worked just find. Thanks again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This recipe reminds me of the Bread & Butter PIckles I grew up with in Pennsylvania...that all my family made. I LOVE it! Of course I had to make it "My Way" too by adding 2-3 cloves of garlic and 1 jalapeno, cut in half into each jar. The flavor was great...not too sweet...not too sour...and not too spicy/garlicy. Thanks for your post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      I had never made pickles before today, but this recipe sounded easy so I decided to try it. I did half a batch (just type in 5 1/2, no dash), because that's how many cucumbers I had. I don't have the Cuisinart food processor, I have a Hamilton Beach that holds 14 cups. For me half a batch was 2 large onions. I didn't do step 9 in processing them and I ended up with 5 and 1/2 pints. They turned out great, Every one of the jars sealed, and they're nice and Crisp. These are way better than store-bought bread and butter pickles. Definitely next time I'll wait until I have enough cucumbers to do a full batch, thanks Lennie for so great a recipe and with such good directions that even for someone who has never made pickles before it turns out great! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      My DH love Bread & Butter pickles, but was a little doubtful that they could be made at home and come out as good as store bought. He has no need to worry any more...these are way better! I will make huge batches of these every year from now on. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      I quartered the recipe as it was my first time making pickles of any sort. I was really happy with how they turned out. I appreciated the specifics in the directions, very helpful! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      Love this recipe! The only thing that I changed was I used 1 1/2 tablespoons of ground mustard because I was unable to find any mustard seeds. It still turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      Turmeric stains everything bright yellow. Clean it up from counter tops immediately with baking soda and water. Wash clothes immediately and cross your fingers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      Lennie, waited a whole year to rate this recipe. Wanted to be sure that this was THE bread & butter pickle recipe. It sure is! Followed the recipe exactly. Used my food processor. Did make a small batch with cider vinegar they were good as well. Just made the next winter batch. Thanks for the bit of summer on a winter burger!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      Made these this weekend, it was my first time making sweet pickles and not only was your recipe easy to follow but these are the best bread and butter pickles I've ever tasted! I used 2 baskets plus 1 quart of pickling cuecumbers which yielded 28 cups. Out of this recipe I was able to fill 13-500 ml jars and 1-1 litre jar. Thank you for sharing, this recipe will now become part of my yearly routine!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      These are the best pickles I have ever had. Everyone that tries them wants me to give them a jar. They are taking them as fast as I can make them. This will be the only recipe I use for bread and butter. Thanks so much for sharing this with us!!! Pickles from Texas

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      This recipe was easy to make and Lennie was right could not keep them in the fridg for more than a week and they were gone. This is sweet and crunching at the same time the best pickles I ever eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      A really good recipe, I will be making this yearly. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bread-And-Butter Pickles My Way

    Serving Size: 1 (7687 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 347.0
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    78%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2705.7 mg
    112%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.5 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 76.6 g
    306%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites