28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

excellent! just like the pickles my grandma used to make

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raybwilk September 23, 2002

A #1 results, I had to substitute cucumbers with straight neck squash as my cucumbers did not fare very well this year, My mom had a recipe for squash and this one sure hit very close.Family and friends send Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rick Eman July 26, 2002

This is an excellent pickle recipe and I've made it seeral times with cucumbers. Now I'm getting ready to make a batch with watermelon rind to see how it turns out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IMED400 November 01, 2009

I made this into a relish. I added chopped sweet red peppers and the other veggies in the processor. This is incredible!! We love it with hot dogs, burgers, italian sausage and lots more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jokutman February 18, 2007

Fabulous! I made them today and snitched a few out for eating right now. I added a sliced green pepper too. I'm not sure if it made much differnce,but it seemed like a good idea at the time. I highly recommend the recipe, sure to be on my list for next year. Thanks for sharing it with us. Maryanne

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Azcrafty1 August 15, 2003

Whoops..thought I'd reviewed these last year! This makes an excellent pickle an is easy to half. I always use pickling cukes for the crispest pickles. Fiddly but good and I use my food processor as well to chop the vegetables.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan in Lanark August 26, 2014

I've made 3 batches of these in the last few weeks, can't keep them in the house! Gave a few pints away, and now friends are clamoring for more. Even had requests to sell them!! By far, the best sweet pickles I've ever had. Won't be able to tolerate store-bought ever again!<br/>7/2013 Update: I have been making these every summer since 2009 when I discovered this recipe! I truly believe this is the best sweet pickle I've ever tasted. Just wanted to add that I recently found a half of a quart jar of them from last summer in the back of the fridge. They looked and smelled great, so I polished them off over the course of 2 days with tuna sandwiches. Perfect! Even after a year in the fridge! (Also, I don't process them, and keep in fridge, just in case!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davianng July 18, 2013

Great tasting pickles,made just as directed. Perfect sweet/sour taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby July 06, 2013

wonderful !!! awesome !! Fantastic !!! Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lainie October 11, 2011

These are absolutely AWESOME!! And so easy. I have another recipe but I have to refrigerate them. I plant so many cucumbers that I soon run out of room in the fridge. So this will be a keeper forever!! Thanks so much for finding the perfect mix for these. Oh, I could not wait for the 28 cups of cucumbers so I divided it by 4 and it worked just find. Thanks again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Joyce July 27, 2010
Bread-And-Butter Pickles My Way