Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brazilian Vegetable Curry With Spicy Tomato and Coconut Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brazilian Vegetable Curry With Spicy Tomato and Coconut Sauce

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2012

      The whole family liked this recipe. I completely changed the veg and also added 2 teaspoons of garam masala to suit the tastes in our family! One to repeat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      This was excellent. My husband doesn't care for butternut squash so I used carrots instead. I also roasted some onions with the vegetables because we love roasted onions. I didn't have any corriander leaves - so I added a teaspoon of Thai green Curry Paste to intensify the flavour. Served it with Basmati rice and it was DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      Very good. I, too, added more tomatoes and a touch more coconut milk. I also added some cayenne pepper and paprika to make it really spicy, but I suppose that's just personal preference. It's the kind of recipe where you can modify it with all kinds of spices and it would still work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      This was scrumptious!! Luckily I am not one to be put off by not having all the right ingredients!! I believe this just proved how versatile this recipe is! I left out the aubergine, peppers, chickpeas and chilli. I added 1.2kg chicken, 2 carrots, a drier squash, a tsp of sweet chilli sauce and a tblsp of tomato paste (I thought it needed to be just a bit richer). In my usual 'slap it together' style I threw it all in the cast iron fry pan and, while the chicken and veg cooked, I mixed the rest (from bottles!)and threw it in. I used a whole can of coconut cream (400ml) and simmered a little to reduce. I fed a young family of five with just enough over for a work lunch! YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      Excellent dish! A definate keeper, thanks PinkCherryBlossom! This is what I did a bit differently. I used basil instead of cilantro (I dislike cilantro). I also doubled the coconut and tomatoes--it makes it gives it more sauce. Also for a curry dish I didn't see any curry. Next time I'll add some and report back.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      This was really really good! I accidentally doubled both the tomatoes and the coconut milk and luckily had already doubled the garlic and ginger because I love those flavors. It turned out really good. I loved the flavors of the freshness, but did wish it was a little more spicy. So, once it was done, I served it with cayenne pepper, so that everyone could make it as spicy as they wanted. This actually worked out very well, because my fiance and I love spice, while my son can't quite handle it yet (he's five). My mom was also over and loved that it wasn't spicy (I cook a lot of spicy dishes)! Anyway, thanks for an awesome recipe. I'll be making this again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      A hit! I used butternut squash and sweet potato and eggplant. I could have used lots more ginger - but then I like ginger. It was well recieved by the wine tasting group. I would definately make it again when I need to take a dish for a group. Easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      This recipe is delecious. I used more coconut milk though to get more sauce. I would never have thought that aubergine and butternut squash go together that well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      I really like the ideas in this recipe and enjoyed the marriage of flavors. I did make some adjustments though. I used butternut and sweetpotato instead of eggplant, added the zest and juice of one lime, doubled the coconut cream but used light coconut milk to keep the calories and fat down and because I LOVE fresh coriander added more. I also noticed that the recipe does not call for salt. I didn't add any until the end and then just enough to bring out the flavors. Overall, quite yummy with Basmati rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brazilian Vegetable Curry With Spicy Tomato and Coconut Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (532 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 432.8
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    30%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 230.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.8 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 11.8 g
    47%
    Sugars 32.5 g
    130%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gingerroot

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites