Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brazilian Collard Greens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brazilian Collard Greens

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2009

      Pretty good. But sauteeing over medium high heat made the garlic burn a little. The greens were still pretty chewy/tough after 20 minutes, so had to cook a bit longer. I also added 1/2 cup beef broth which added to the flavor. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      Something new and different for this Southern Gal used to a big 'ole pot with pot liquor and cooked-to-the-brink collards. I added some sweet red bell pepper to the saut?, sprinkled a little bit of sugar and it balanced bitterness of mature collards. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      Very very good. I like greens the Southern way but it is not very healthy with bacon etc. I am so glad I found this recipe so I can cook for my family. The taste is so simple, fresh, crunchy, tasty and so easy to do... I love it Cookidog and thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      Oh my! This tastes just like my favorite side dish from a local Rodizio restaurant. I definitely prefer it to the "southern" slow cooked version with bacon etc.( and I love bacon). Next time I will double the recipe because I could just eat that whole thing by myself. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      this was a really simple and nutritious recipe. my 4 year old even enjoyed it - although, we did tell her it was spinach. :) thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Very good - and not overcooked or with bacon/pork so very healthy. I'd been a bit intimidated by cooking collards but this was very easy. We really enjoyed these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      This is very similar to how I saute collards, it's soooooo good. I don't bother with shallots or onions (and I add a lot more garlic). I usually add a splash or two of liquid - water, white wine, chinese cooking wine, etc. This saute method is the way to go - boiling collard greens for hours makes them taste awful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      I have to admit, collards aren't my favorite, but this approach is much tastier than the traditional boiling them to mush.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      Lovely! I used spring greens instead of collard greens. The shallots and garlic give the greens a lovely, delicate flavour. Thanks cookiedog!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      This was simple and delicious! I mixed in some beet greens with the collards, and used only olive oil. It was superb with chicken and brown rice. I will remember to come back to this recipe whenever I have a batch of greens to cook. Made for ZWT4. Thanks, Cookiedog!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      This was quiet an experience for me! As a Southerner, this was a revelation. I'd never heard of sauteeing the greens..and only cooking them for 15 minutes? I thought they'd be very bitter. I ended up cooking them for about 20 and they had a much prettier color than I am used to and tasted wonderful, although I did miss having pot liquor. In the American South, we cook them in water or other liquid and consider the resulting "pot liquor" to be just as important as the greens. This is why I love ZWT. You learn new things about foods you'd never think could surprise you. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      I am always happy to find another yummy way to eat greens. The only change I made was to use low fat margarine and it still tasted great. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

    • on April 15, 2008

      Wow, this is fabulous!!! This is my first time making collard greens, but both of us absolutely loved this dish. This is such an easy, inexpensive, and yummy side dish! Thanks cookiedog!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      Here in the Caribbean we don't have collard greens so I substituted some local greens called bhagi. Added 1/4 finely chopped scotch bonnet pepper for a slight heat. Very nice side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      I loved the onion and garlic in the greens! I used kale for a change of pace(I had just cooked collard greens). I did end up adding a little water to get the leaves really tender. My DH enjoyed this too. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brazilian Collard Greens

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 78.4
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    60%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 3.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 31.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes