11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an easy, flavorful dish. My family loved it. Instead of serving the sauce over the chicken, I cooked the chicken until almost done, then cut it into cubes and finished it off in the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAFFY TAFFY December 07, 2011

Great tasty dish. Made as written but only 3 breasts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound November 28, 2011

Hadn't found a keeper in a while, this is definately one. It was delicious. I did tweak the heat, and I'm glad I did, only 1/2 tsp of cayenne (which will be dropped to 1/4 tsp next time) and only put one jalapeno, for my own taste, it was quite spicy, but oh so good. And I went with what was in the freezer, so I did half chicken breast, half thighs, cut in pieces, and as someone suggested, heated it all up in the sauce. YUMMM!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Canadian Chef November 16, 2011

YUM! I've been bragging to everyone I know about how delicious this recipe was - it was definitely spicy but the coconut milk sauce really mellowed it out. And I couldn't help but feel like the combination of spicy and sweet gave it a very Indian feel... which is fine with me since I LOVE Indian food!

Anyway, delicious! Five stars! This is going to become a regular at my house. Not to mention it made FANTASTIC leftovers the next day. :*)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rikki Lynn November 11, 2010

This was so good, the only thing I added was a 1 1/2 teaspoons of sugar and added the chicken pieces back to the sauce to finish off cooking.Will definitely be cooking this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lorraineinSpain April 26, 2010

This was a fabulous way to use up odds and ends in my fridge and pantry. So much flavor, but not too spicy as the coconut milk smoothed everything out. The only change I made was to use 1 jalapeno pepper for DH's sake. Thanks so much for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
16Paws September 01, 2009

This was absolutely excellent. I made the chicken for my husband, and prepared tofu in the same way for myself, which turned out great! I served it with Brazilian Rice (http://www.recipezaar.com/Brazilian-Rice-310199); Brazilian Crock-Pot Beans (http://www.recipezaar.com/brazilian-crockpot-beans-363036); and the salad described in the final step of the bean recipe. A delicious Brazilian feast! A Brazilian genre station on Pandora made for excellent accompaniment : ) Thanks for the exquisite recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meliska August 03, 2009

I made this into a stirfry by cutting the chicken breasts into large slices and adding some vegies. Wonderful flavours & easy to make. Thanks Sassy for sharing this lovely recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl April 25, 2009

Very pretty - the spice rub leaves the chicken tumeric yellow, and the tomato red and pepper and parsley green really pop against the coconut white. I added some shredded coconut meat as well. It was great hot, and worked well as a cold salad the day after. Next time, I would halve the amount of cayenne - it was just too hot, to the point it was covering up flavor. I didn't add more oil to cook the vegetables - there is some chicken bits left in the pan, and more oil would just burn them. The vegetable juices can be used to deglaze the pan and capture this chicken flavor. There is a bit too much coconut milk - it is convenient to use the whole can, but 10 ounces is probably better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
realbirdlady June 14, 2008

This was VERY yummy!!!! I made a few changes: I did not have fresh jalapeño or ginger, so I used crushed red pepper and dried ginger. I also omitted the parsley. We served this over spaghetti and enjoyed the bold flavors. It has a spiciness that creeps up on you. We will definitely make again. Made for ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElleFirebrand June 14, 2008
Brazilian Chicken With Coconut Milk Sauce