11 Reviews

I didn't make it exactly like the recipe because once i got towards the bottom I realized that the banana wasn't actually put into the cake so I improvised. Make sure you read all directions before making the cake. (I'm sure the cake would've tasted great otherwise)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
musicgeek422 January 18, 2011

I halved the recipe, adding in three mashed bananas in the batter and one a half on top. I also used butter instead of margarine. Made it for my mom's birthday. Turned out moist and everyone loved it! :D I'm making this again with another layer of the sliced bananas added in the middle. They were the yummiest part!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nidhik January 05, 2011

Doesn't really look like the picture, but very tasty. Nuts are a must. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarity148 February 20, 2010

Very good banana cake. Next time I might try putting the bananas in the middle of the batter, instead of on top. I had it in Brazil for the first time, and tried to find a similar recipe once home in Canada. This was very close to what I had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajtravellingchef February 26, 2009

Great cake! I've made it a few times now, and everyone raves about it. I only use 1 cup of sugar now, because the bananas have so much sweetness on their own. I also put half the banana slices in a middle layer, and put half on top. This helps keep the bananas from sinking in during baking. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slick18 January 29, 2009

Delicious and moist cake that we loved! I added walnuts when I put the bananas over the batter. Will make this again. Made for ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLu July 11, 2008

Very moist and light. Glad I took the time to read the other reviewers, as I probably would have mashed the bananas, also. Worked out well, though. Went very well with tea this morning. Thnx for posting, Sassy in da south. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter July 11, 2008

Despite my inability to follow directions, this cake turned out SUPER DELICIOUS!! Out of habit, I mashed the bananas instead of slicing them and spread the mashed bananas over the top of the batter. The cake is so moist and wonderful, full of banana flavor. Next time I will slice the bananas instead, and see how much better it turns out! :) I think I might also try adding some walnuts to the batter. Made for ZWT4 Family PIcks for the CAFE ZMAKK Gypsies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annisette July 08, 2008

My family really enjoyed this cake. I followed Chef floWer's review( great picture) and mashed the bananas. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks July 06, 2008

ZWT4: Excellente!! We loved this banana cake!! We added a mix of nuts: macadamias, brazil nuts, cashews, peanuts, etc. all chopped up small - terrific!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose June 30, 2008
Brazilian Banana Cake