17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great chowder. Rich and creamy and very easy to prepare. I do think I liked it better before the addition of the vinegar though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 March 29, 2009

This was very good. I did make several chages....more veggies, used some whole milk, some fat free and some cream, and we alwasy have bacon in our clam chowder. Very smooth, silky texture and the vinegar, I would never have thought of that! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
startnover December 14, 2008

This has been our family favorite for years. I always use fat free half & half and brummel and brown yogur butter and it turns out delicious. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irmantrude October 30, 2008

It was good! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala September 19, 2008

4 1/2 Stars- This is a nice tasting soup recipe, that is easy to prepare. But I thought it was missing something, hence only 4.5 stars. I initally thought about adding some smokey bacon (nutrition %DV already off the chart) ended up adding a couple of pinches of course ground thyme. This helped out alot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-GEORGE- February 18, 2008

Thank you Silly Sally for a GREAT clam chowder recipe...and VERY easy to make. I used a bottle of clam juice rather than adding water in, and added extra clams. This was one of the best clam chowders we've had in a long time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noni Suzanne February 01, 2008

This is just like I remember going to Brattens years ago. This is a wonderful find for myself and my family. Thanks. Even my sweet 10yr old liked it and she doesn't normally like fish dishes. The rest of us loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharinskishe December 31, 2007

Five stars all the way! Very simple, very low in fat and perfect for a cool evening. I followed the directions to a "T" except in I used land'o'lakes half fat butter (margarine) and fat free half and half. Superb results...I do recommend cooking the cream mixture over medium high heat to get a good simmer and really thicken it up. So delish! I can't wait to make again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend October 09, 2007

Woo Hoo! My fairly picky 12 year old DD loved it and proclaimed it one of the best things I've ever made. I used leftover little neck clams chopped up for about 1/2 required. I also used bottled clam juice to help cover the veggies. I also am glad I used the vinegar. It really made the differene Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NVirginian September 17, 2007

Yes, we loved it! I did add a few more clams. The next time I make it, I'm going to buy a bottle of the clam juice and replace some of the water with it. I also added some thyme -- which was a really good addition. The directions didn't say when to add the salt and pepper -- so I just added them to the vegetables right before I combined them with the white sauce and clams. I didn't find the white sauce too rich or too thick -- it was just right. This makes six VERY generous servings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie July 14, 2007
Brattens Famous Clam Chowder