Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brattens Famous Clam Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brattens Famous Clam Chowder

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on March 29, 2009

      Great chowder. Rich and creamy and very easy to prepare. I do think I liked it better before the addition of the vinegar though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      This was very good. I did make several chages....more veggies, used some whole milk, some fat free and some cream, and we alwasy have bacon in our clam chowder. Very smooth, silky texture and the vinegar, I would never have thought of that! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      This has been our family favorite for years. I always use fat free half & half and brummel and brown yogur butter and it turns out delicious. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      It was good! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      4 1/2 Stars- This is a nice tasting soup recipe, that is easy to prepare. But I thought it was missing something, hence only 4.5 stars. I initally thought about adding some smokey bacon (nutrition %DV already off the chart) ended up adding a couple of pinches of course ground thyme. This helped out alot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Thank you Silly Sally for a GREAT clam chowder recipe...and VERY easy to make. I used a bottle of clam juice rather than adding water in, and added extra clams. This was one of the best clam chowders we've had in a long time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      This is just like I remember going to Brattens years ago. This is a wonderful find for myself and my family. Thanks. Even my sweet 10yr old liked it and she doesn't normally like fish dishes. The rest of us loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      Five stars all the way! Very simple, very low in fat and perfect for a cool evening. I followed the directions to a "T" except in I used land'o'lakes half fat butter (margarine) and fat free half and half. Superb results...I do recommend cooking the cream mixture over medium high heat to get a good simmer and really thicken it up. So delish! I can't wait to make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      Woo Hoo! My fairly picky 12 year old DD loved it and proclaimed it one of the best things I've ever made. I used leftover little neck clams chopped up for about 1/2 required. I also used bottled clam juice to help cover the veggies. I also am glad I used the vinegar. It really made the differene Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      Yes, we loved it! I did add a few more clams. The next time I make it, I'm going to buy a bottle of the clam juice and replace some of the water with it. I also added some thyme -- which was a really good addition. The directions didn't say when to add the salt and pepper -- so I just added them to the vegetables right before I combined them with the white sauce and clams. I didn't find the white sauce too rich or too thick -- it was just right. This makes six VERY generous servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      OUTSTANDING clam chowder! I think I've made every chowder on ebay in the last 3 years and this one is the best! My family loved it! I made it exactly as described, but I simmered my vegetables slowly and had plenty of water left at the end so that may be why I didn't need to thin it down. I was a little worried about adding the vinegar since I'm not a vinegar fan at all, but the chowder didn't have a vinegary taste at all--just a little something "extra" that added to the overall flavor. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      This was pretty good, everyone really liked it and asked for the recipe. I split the half & half and 2% and used 1 extra can of clams. Next time I think I will cut back on the onions as well, maybe only use 1/2 cup. Very good, will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      Oh mymymymymy! This is wonderful! It reminds us of our favorite chowder that we drive to the Oregon coast for. I followed the recipe exactly (ALL the cream :)) It was simple and I'm sure took less time to prepare than stated, and easily 6 servings. I'll make this again for sure! Thanks silly sally.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Ridiculously delicious! After reading other reviews, I decided to use only 1 cup half & half, then rounded out the quart with 2 percent milk. I can't imagine this being any more rich and delicious. Excellent. I will be making this often this winter. Thanks silly sally, for a great keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      This soup was awesome silly sally. I found like lennie it was very thick so I just added some milk and was great.. I think next time I will try it with 2% and add a extra can of clams. The wine vinegar gave it a wonderful taste..I did sprinkle parsley on top and mmmm good. Now I don't have to wait to go out to get my clam chowder soup, I can make it anytime I want.. Thank you for a wonderful, tasty, creamy recipe that will be used again and again.. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      Rich, smooth and creamy and soooo sinfully delicious! After eating this, it's going to be hard to order clam chowder in a restaurant; they'll have a tough act to follow;) I had only 3 cups of half and half, so I used 2% milk for the last cup. (I think you could easily use fat free half and half if you wanted to cut some fat.) That red wine vinegar really adds something special to the chowder. Thanx for posting this. I'll make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2005

      This was very yummy. I had to make a few adjustments to the recipe, as I found the soup too thick and too rich. After combining the veggies and the white sauce (step #11), I also added a fair amount of 1% milk as the soup was way too heavy for me, and next time I think I will not use cream to make the white sauce, but whole milk instead. I also needed to add more salt, plus I added thyme, savory and black pepper too. I really liked the technique of this soup and found it very easy and quite quick to make. With the exception of the cream, inexpensive too. I made this yesterday and finished off the leftovers tonight; the soup reheated well in the microwave, although (as expected with a chowder) it had thickened up in the fridge and needed thinning with a little milk while reheating. Thanks for posting; I'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brattens Famous Clam Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (366 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 919.4
     
    Calories from Fat 580
    63%
    Total Fat 64.5 g
    99%
    Saturated Fat 39.4 g
    197%
    Cholesterol 242.7 mg
    80%
    Sodium 1345.9 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 35.5 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites