Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brass and Copper Cleaner Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brass and Copper Cleaner

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 13, 2003

      Thank you very much for posting this amazing homemade copper and brass cleaner! I used it this afternoon on my copper pot that hasn't been cleant in 4 years. Now, after using this cleaner on it, my pot is the cleanest thing you'll see in my house:-)) I used about 12-15 tbsps. of white vinegar, 6 tbsps. of all purpose flour and 6 tbsps. of table salt. Works like a charm! Also, like the other reviewer has said, this is cheap(economical), all the ingredients are so easily available at the supermarket, there is no need to use gloves(infact, I used my fingers to scrub this cleaner on the pot- but be careful if you have an open cut then it'll burn because of the white vinegar)and it was ready in no time! I am in love with this recipe;-) Thanks again! You have made 4 people in this household impressed and happy with this quick & easy to fix cleaner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2003

      I just used this to clean my copper cannisters and a copper tea kettle. IT WORKS!!! Took less time than when I used some commercial stuff. LOTS cheaper too. And I didn't have to wear gloves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      This worked well. I have some brassware my late husband brought home as a souvenir of the Middle East over 50 years ago. Admittedly, it doesn't look like new even after being polished, but it does look a lot better. I was happy that this cleaner didn't scratch the brass or remove the inlaid colors, either. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      This worked very well on my treasured copper frying pan. I still used the copper cleaner afterwards, but the heavily burned on bits came off much more easily. The pan looks fantastic! Thank you for posting this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      This is AMAZING! I had several decorative brass pieces that I almost tossed, but thought I'd look up a recipe to clean them. Within minutes, everything was restored to new condition! What an easy, inexpensive way to clean brass & copper. Thanks so much, Audrey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Easy and inexpensive. I have an old Revere Ware frying pan that was badly scorched at some point. This technique restored the shine to all the copper, except where the scorch wore the copper thin. This is an excellent formula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      I inherited my great-grandmothers brass wall sconces that were just a few shades of blackish-brown. I've gone through 3 different store bought brands with no luck. I then thought maybe recipezzar has something. And woo-lahhh! They are so clean and shiny I can see myself in them. This stuff works with little effort too. Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      I wish I had taken a before and after picture of the large copper pot I used this stuff on! I bought it at a garage sale for $3, and it was in tough shape. I have plants planted in it, and wanted to see what it "used to" look like! I used this recipe and it is so beautiful and shiny now! Worked like a charm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      This is great!!! I bought a small brass pot at a thrift store for 99 cents. It was very bad off. This stuff took the years/gunk/whatever it is off like magic! A little elbow grease was all that was required. Non toxic which is great and I always have the stuff to make it! Thanks so much for posting! I'm willing to look at more brass/copper items at thrift stores now , knowing I make them beautiful again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      Thank you Audrey M! I had a brass jewellry box that was looking very sad. I liked your cleaner as it was easy to use and not as harsh on the skin. Now the jewellry box looks lovely & shiny.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      This stuff worked like a charm on my second-hand store $2 copper roaster! I found a softer paste was easiest to work with so I ended up with almost equal amounts of all 3 ingredients. The salt as a scrubbing agent even removed the heaviest of the cooked on spots with minimal effort. Thanks for sharing this miracle recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      Fantastic. As stated this is great as everything you need is on hand. Had to use a fair bit of elbow grease, but that is probably due to the piece I was cleaning - I don't think it ever had been cleaned! Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      Awesome homemde recipe! This recipe embodies all of the things I like: I had all of the ingredients, it was easy, and it really worked. Thank you so much for sharing. I have a brass swan that had a silk floral arrangement in it that my Mom and I gave my Grandma when I was a little girl. My Grandma gave me the swan back this past Saturday because she has too much trouble cleaning it due to health problems. I was thrilled both to receive the swan and to find a simple homemade cleaner for it. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      This worked great on my copper bottomed pans. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2006

      Incredible! I can't believe how shiny my copper is after using this. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2006

      Worked like a charm! I mixed up a big batch of this and used it for my copper top bar and now it shines so pretty. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      This is amazing. I usually use Twinkle. But this works and I will never worry about running out of the expensive stuff again. Thanks so much. Angel

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2005

      Well, well, well ... First I wanted to try Verelucky's suggested ketchup as cleaner. It worked pretty well, Verelucky! But these pieces had years of neglect...so I mixed the cleaner by Audrey M. --Finished the trick!! See photo for cleaned creamer and tarnished sugar bowl. Thanks to you both for great cleaners. Gotta go finish the sugar bowl. (-:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2004

      I love to putter in second hand stores and find used treasures to use in my kitchen which I love. I found a copper frying pan recently which was a little worse for wear butI thought would look great hanging in my kitchen for $2. Imagine my disappointment when I brought it home and found that I was out of copper cleaner. Recipezaar to the rescue! It turned out beautifully. Thank you! I write a food column for a community newspaper and have passed along your wonderful tip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2003

      Thanks for the tip, here's another one for copper, Rub ketchup on the copper, let sit for 5 minutes, wipe off. It's amazing for cleaning copper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brass and Copper Cleaner

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 170.6
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    42%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 41859.5 mg
    1744%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites