20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you very much for posting this amazing homemade copper and brass cleaner! I used it this afternoon on my copper pot that hasn't been cleant in 4 years. Now, after using this cleaner on it, my pot is the cleanest thing you'll see in my house:-)) I used about 12-15 tbsps. of white vinegar, 6 tbsps. of all purpose flour and 6 tbsps. of table salt. Works like a charm! Also, like the other reviewer has said, this is cheap(economical), all the ingredients are so easily available at the supermarket, there is no need to use gloves(infact, I used my fingers to scrub this cleaner on the pot- but be careful if you have an open cut then it'll burn because of the white vinegar)and it was ready in no time! I am in love with this recipe;-) Thanks again! You have made 4 people in this household impressed and happy with this quick & easy to fix cleaner!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani September 13, 2003

I just used this to clean my copper cannisters and a copper tea kettle. IT WORKS!!! Took less time than when I used some commercial stuff. LOTS cheaper too. And I didn't have to wear gloves.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seashell September 12, 2003

This worked well. I have some brassware my late husband brought home as a souvenir of the Middle East over 50 years ago. Admittedly, it doesn't look like new even after being polished, but it does look a lot better. I was happy that this cleaner didn't scratch the brass or remove the inlaid colors, either. Thank you for sharing this with us.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao June 24, 2012

This worked very well on my treasured copper frying pan. I still used the copper cleaner afterwards, but the heavily burned on bits came off much more easily. The pan looks fantastic! Thank you for posting this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
N@ June 03, 2012

This is AMAZING! I had several decorative brass pieces that I almost tossed, but thought I'd look up a recipe to clean them. Within minutes, everything was restored to new condition! What an easy, inexpensive way to clean brass & copper. Thanks so much, Audrey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick November 05, 2010

Easy and inexpensive. I have an old Revere Ware frying pan that was badly scorched at some point. This technique restored the shine to all the copper, except where the scorch wore the copper thin. This is an excellent formula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat's Mom February 20, 2010

I inherited my great-grandmothers brass wall sconces that were just a few shades of blackish-brown. I've gone through 3 different store bought brands with no luck. I then thought maybe recipezzar has something. And woo-lahhh! They are so clean and shiny I can see myself in them. This stuff works with little effort too. Thank you for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetp February 14, 2010

I wish I had taken a before and after picture of the large copper pot I used this stuff on! I bought it at a garage sale for $3, and it was in tough shape. I have plants planted in it, and wanted to see what it "used to" look like! I used this recipe and it is so beautiful and shiny now! Worked like a charm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sillyelmo May 13, 2009

This is great!!! I bought a small brass pot at a thrift store for 99 cents. It was very bad off. This stuff took the years/gunk/whatever it is off like magic! A little elbow grease was all that was required. Non toxic which is great and I always have the stuff to make it! Thanks so much for posting! I'm willing to look at more brass/copper items at thrift stores now , knowing I make them beautiful again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marlene. May 31, 2008

Thank you Audrey M! I had a brass jewellry box that was looking very sad. I liked your cleaner as it was easy to use and not as harsh on the skin. Now the jewellry box looks lovely & shiny.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catherine Robson May 17, 2008
Brass and Copper Cleaner