Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Braised Red Cabbage with Red Onion and Apples Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Braised Red Cabbage with Red Onion and Apples

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2002

      Our local super had a sale on red cabbage and I decided to try this recipe last night. I can highly recommend it, and this will be added to my recipe list. Very flavorful combination including the chicken stock, wine, and brown sugar. Since I'm a garlic lover, I added a couple extra cloves of garlic. Easy, flavorful side dish. Thanks, Lennie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      This is a great recipe - only change I made was adding a couple of pieces of crumbled bacon - my sister-in-law used to make it many years ago and she used bacon with a little pit of bacon grease (today that's probably not a good idea)! Oh, and try adding balsemic vinegar in place of the red wine - gives it a better sweet/sour taste. Anyway, my husband loved it - we ate all of it in one sitting!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Nice and simple and very healthy! Not too sweet. Next time I might try it with a tad more brown sugar and vinegar. Thanks Lennie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Pretty darn good I used Splenda and bacon fat. Next time try a bit of soy sauce. That livens it up a bit and enhances the cabbage flavor

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2004

      I made this recipe as posted, and found it to be a bit bland for my family. I searched my fridge and found some cranberry salsa, added another apple, a bit more splenda , and voila a delicious dish Thanks so much for the basic recipe.We will be enjoying this dish for a longtime to come. With the cranberries it could make it to the Thanksgiving table.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      This was really good and easy. I had it as a side dish to the Chipotle Pork Roast. It was a tasty combination. It would be good with any pork roast. I will definately keep this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      This was simply fabulous! My husband and I are on the South Beach Diet (Phase one) and I made this for super tonight. I omitted the fruit since we are not allowed to have any yet and replaced the sugar with Splenda. Super Yummy! Definately a keeper! Can't wait to try this with apples!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2014

      This is a great basic recipe! Lots of substitutions are possible. I added extra apples for sweetness instead of sugar. Also used apple cider vinegar. It made me think of Germany. Next time I'll add 1/4 to 1/2 tsp each of ground cloves, nutmeg, and cinnamon. Served it with half whole wheat/half white flour Spaetzle dumplings and chicken bratwurst.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2013

      My daughter wanted to make this dish after having something similar at Oktoberfest at Busch Gardens. Even the family members who don't like sauerkraut enjoyed it! Very easy to prepare...once all the chopping is done. :) Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

      This recipe makes a lot. I used 4 cups of red cabbage and still got 4 servings. The onions were thinly sliced and the apple was washed and cored but the skin left on. The dish was cooked for about 30 minutes with some bite left in the cabbage. The dish has a touch of sweetness which went really well with Southern Fried Salmon Patties. I plan on making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2012

      This was wonderful!!! I had never used red cabbage before, and this recipe was recommended by a friend. Thank you dear friend. First, I had a smallish head of cabbage, and so I cut down slightly on the onion. I did the rest as the recipe suggested, and I have LOTS of liquid left in the pan, but I won't cook any longer (think it's been on over an hour now). Excellent flavor. The only thing I will change next time is to probably get a little bigger head of cabbage. I used Fuji apples. This is going to be an absolute favorite recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Pretty good. I too cooked it about 30 minutes and liked the texture. Love that this is a nice way to get a red/purple veggie in your diet. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Very good. I only cooked the cabbage 30 min. & it was fine since I like it with a little "bite". Used half the amount of Splenda brown sugar & the sweetness was perfect. Great with pork chops & roasted root veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      Delicious! Even my preschooler has asked me repeatedly to make this for her ;-))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Not normally my favorite dish (just not a big red cabbage fan), but I still enjoyed it. My other half ate it up and asked for seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      I halved this recipe with good success and found that it had the perfect balance of sweet and sour. The only change I made was to cut back on the oil without a problem. Thank you Lenny for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      This was fantastic! I made a crock pot version about a week or so ago.. but I wanted to try this since I didnt have all day. This came out fabulous and there wasnt too much left over either.. We have converted a friend who had never had Red Cabbage before and he will soon be making this himself. Thank you for a fabulosu recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      This recipe filled the kitchen with fabulous aromas,looked great in the serving dish and is a big taste hit with our family. Didn't have bay leaf so we used caraway seeds instead which worked great. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      This is an excellent use of red cabbage! The only change I made is I used beef stock instead of chicken (it's what we had on hand). Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      this was really good, though i did make a few ingredient changes. i have a thing against red cabbage, not sure why, but i used green cabbage and sweet onion. i also used 1T veg oil and 1T bacon drippings. used cider vinegar, but will probably use the red wine vinegar next time (maybe a little less too), as well as omit sugar. not sure if it has to do w/ the cabbage choice, but it's just too sweet for me. Overall very good though and i'll definitely make it again, maybe make a meal out of it by adding in some of my homemade sausages. MMMmmmmm..... :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Braised Red Cabbage with Red Onion and Apples

    Serving Size: 1 (381 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.7
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    31%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 1.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 130.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 25.0 g
    100%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites