22 Reviews

Delicious and simple! Thank you, Mae!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yogi Mom September 20, 2007

This was exceptionally tasty, but very salty (and I am a salt fiend) even using reduced sodium soy sauce, so next time I will cut that down some. I doubled the sauce ingredients , halved the meat and added veggies (which should have helped absorb soem of that salt). I used baby portabellos, baby carrots, sliced, green pepper slices, and broccolini. I did add a dash of sesame oil and some fresh ginger as well. It simmer down beautifully, and some of the veg even carmelized beautifully. I served this over jasmine rice. I will make this again, but I will cut back on the soy sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. August 20, 2007

Delicious! I did use a bit of cornstarch at the end to thicken things up a bit. Great flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zobeed August 16, 2007

All thumbs up around our table tonight. Where's this recipe been hiding from me, it was so good and will be add to my favorites cookbook. The only changes I made were no onions (sad, sad, sad -- kid's tastes ya know). The recipe didn't suffer even though the adults would have loved that ingredient. I did increase the garlic to 2 tsp. of chopped garlic and added a mixture of water, soy sauce and cornstarch to thicken the sauce a bit, a personal preference. This is an awesome meal to use those cheaper cuts of pork chops once the fat and bone is cut away. The recipe would deserve more than 5 stars especially without my changes. Thanks MaeEast for sharing your wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Hippie July 16, 2007

This braised pork is wonderful! I tried to hide it from DH but it didnt work, we ate it all! The pork is very tender and I did double the soy sauce, brown sugar, and water. Cooked quickly in my electric skillet and browned so nicely. A definite keeper, thank you MaeEast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 October 24, 2006

This really simple and easy to make dish was supprisingly yummy!! I'll be making this for dinner again tonight and this time, I'm gonna try to add some grated fresh ginger in it to add a bit more zing!! Thanxs for a great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
syltel October 02, 2006

Quite easy to make. I added some red pepper flakes when the oil was heating, before i sauteed the pork -- yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chakrates December 09, 2005

The flavors in this recipe really are superb. My entire family enjoyed this. I did not make any changes in this recipe. Thanks for sharing a quick and great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
P.J. July 30, 2005

I haven't made this but I will very soon...it sound so good. I think I will add mushrooms and onions and broccoli too. Maybe some beansprouts.I can't wait to try this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cats Eye April 29, 2005

Great flavor with melt-in-your-mouth tender meat. My only complaint is it was a bit salty for my taste (and I didn't add any at all). We'll definitely have this again, but next time I will use salt-reduced soy sauce, and also add some ginger as Watermelon suggests. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daydream February 03, 2005
Braised Pork in Soy Sauce