22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I like this recipe only because it's very close to a traditional Filipino dish called adobo. The only difference is using the same amount of asian vinegar as soy sauce instead of brown sugar and adding a bay leaf. Simple and very easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaMSaM August 13, 2009

This pork was a big hit in my house. I think next time I make this pork I am going to put it over the sesame noodles from the recipe Funky Chicken and Sesame Noodles.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover April 01, 2006

Wonderful, and easy. Nothing else to add. -- posted Apr 1, 2004 Update: I have made this so many times since I have posted my review! I came back tonight (while my meat is browning to make yet another go-round) to make sure I had given this five stars (I had). This recipe is so versatile. I have made it with onion powder & garlic powder, and even no onion at all - I prefer the original, although I now cut my onion *very* small since my kids are picky onion-haters. ;) I have also, at various points on my low-carb journey, used Sweet & Low Brown, Splenda with a dash of blackstrap molasses, and plain Splenda. Again, I prefer the original, but these substitutes are do-able. (I don't recommend leaving the brown sugar out entirely - I did once, and it just didn't have the right balance of flavors.) I usually don't find that my sauce stays thin. It usually cooks down and caramelizes beautifully. I have found that it doesn't do that when I double the recipe, and I don't like the result as much, so I try to use 2 pans to double this. I usually use pork country ribs. I guess that's about it, except to profusely thank MaeEast for posting such a wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch October 02, 2005

I am not a fan of pork; in fact, if it weren't my DH's favorite, I would never eat pork, but I sure did enjoy this! As promised, it was melt-in-your-mouth tender! Everyone thoroughly enjoyed it and there were absolutely none of the usual and anticipated left-overs (I always plan roast recipes to last for 2 meals). I will certainly be making this one again! Thank you for improving my perspective towards one of DH's favorite foods Mae!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn February 28, 2004

This was fabulous!! I can't even describe how wonderful it was. I left this recipe for my husband to make while I was at work and it was apparently easy enough for him to handle, because it was done when I got home and the house smelled great. We had it with Rice Pilaf and string beans. All 4 kids scarfed this down and asked if there was more! The only complaint was that it didn't make enough. I was surprised that the sauce stayed as thin as it did, but the flavor was awesome and was great over the rice. Thanks for sharing this! I normally don't even like pork, but with this recipe, our whole family can enjoy it together. Thanks for sharing this...we all decided that this will be a regular around here!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= October 07, 2003

This was very very good. Nice flavor and very easy to make. I did thicken the sauce with a little cornstarch. Served with rice and green beans. Thanks for posting this Mae! Made for Zaar Cookbooks Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft November 15, 2009

yum yum yumm!! i didn't have my brown suger firmly packed and i think i over did it with the olive oil... instead of 2 tablespoons it was more like 4. I don't know why. and i had lots of mushrooms that were going to go bad if i didnt use them and boy was i glad i did! i cant imagine this plate without them! either way it was extremely delicious! i did add some maizena (cornstarch i think?) at the end to thicken it up for my mashed potatoes. thank you maeeast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jendendenor October 19, 2009

Very easy! Very Tasty! Both my children, my DH, and I loved the simple taste. I served it with rice mixed with peas. Great recipe! Next time I'm going to make it with chicken and double the sauce...yumm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Italian_mama December 02, 2008

Thank you, thank you, thank you, MaeEast! This dinner was fabulous. My very picky 5 and 8 year-old daughters eyed their plates suspiciously. But, after taking a nibble, they couldn't have enough. Each girl returned for a THIRD serving! I prepared this recipe with no changes, using low-sodium soy sauce and pork tenderloin. (I know that's a waste of a good cut of meat, but it was delicious!) Next time I'd like to add some sliced cabbage and broccoli. Thanks for providing one more meal that both my children will eat without a fuss!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peppergirl April 10, 2008

Holy smokes this was delicious!!! I did everything as directed but cooked it all day in the slow cooker and boy was it tender! I served it over LikeItLoveIt's Indonesian Spiced Rice recipe and just finished eating it. My husband and I both agree this is our new favorite meal! I really encourage everyone to try it because it is absolutely delicious!! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jklumper January 23, 2008
Braised Pork in Soy Sauce