Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Braised Pork in Soy Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Braised Pork in Soy Sauce

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2009

      I like this recipe only because it's very close to a traditional Filipino dish called adobo. The only difference is using the same amount of asian vinegar as soy sauce instead of brown sugar and adding a bay leaf. Simple and very easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      This pork was a big hit in my house. I think next time I make this pork I am going to put it over the sesame noodles from the recipe Funky Chicken and Sesame Noodles.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      Wonderful, and easy. Nothing else to add. -- posted Apr 1, 2004 Update: I have made this so many times since I have posted my review! I came back tonight (while my meat is browning to make yet another go-round) to make sure I had given this five stars (I had). This recipe is so versatile. I have made it with onion powder & garlic powder, and even no onion at all - I prefer the original, although I now cut my onion *very* small since my kids are picky onion-haters. ;) I have also, at various points on my low-carb journey, used Sweet & Low Brown, Splenda with a dash of blackstrap molasses, and plain Splenda. Again, I prefer the original, but these substitutes are do-able. (I don't recommend leaving the brown sugar out entirely - I did once, and it just didn't have the right balance of flavors.) I usually don't find that my sauce stays thin. It usually cooks down and caramelizes beautifully. I have found that it doesn't do that when I double the recipe, and I don't like the result as much, so I try to use 2 pans to double this. I usually use pork country ribs. I guess that's about it, except to profusely thank MaeEast for posting such a wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2004

      I am not a fan of pork; in fact, if it weren't my DH's favorite, I would never eat pork, but I sure did enjoy this! As promised, it was melt-in-your-mouth tender! Everyone thoroughly enjoyed it and there were absolutely none of the usual and anticipated left-overs (I always plan roast recipes to last for 2 meals). I will certainly be making this one again! Thank you for improving my perspective towards one of DH's favorite foods Mae!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2003

      This was fabulous!! I can't even describe how wonderful it was. I left this recipe for my husband to make while I was at work and it was apparently easy enough for him to handle, because it was done when I got home and the house smelled great. We had it with Rice Pilaf and string beans. All 4 kids scarfed this down and asked if there was more! The only complaint was that it didn't make enough. I was surprised that the sauce stayed as thin as it did, but the flavor was awesome and was great over the rice. Thanks for sharing this! I normally don't even like pork, but with this recipe, our whole family can enjoy it together. Thanks for sharing this...we all decided that this will be a regular around here!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      This was very very good. Nice flavor and very easy to make. I did thicken the sauce with a little cornstarch. Served with rice and green beans. Thanks for posting this Mae! Made for Zaar Cookbooks Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      yum yum yumm!! i didn't have my brown suger firmly packed and i think i over did it with the olive oil... instead of 2 tablespoons it was more like 4. I don't know why. and i had lots of mushrooms that were going to go bad if i didnt use them and boy was i glad i did! i cant imagine this plate without them! either way it was extremely delicious! i did add some maizena (cornstarch i think?) at the end to thicken it up for my mashed potatoes. thank you maeeast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      Very easy! Very Tasty! Both my children, my DH, and I loved the simple taste. I served it with rice mixed with peas. Great recipe! Next time I'm going to make it with chicken and double the sauce...yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      Thank you, thank you, thank you, MaeEast! This dinner was fabulous. My very picky 5 and 8 year-old daughters eyed their plates suspiciously. But, after taking a nibble, they couldn't have enough. Each girl returned for a THIRD serving! I prepared this recipe with no changes, using low-sodium soy sauce and pork tenderloin. (I know that's a waste of a good cut of meat, but it was delicious!) Next time I'd like to add some sliced cabbage and broccoli. Thanks for providing one more meal that both my children will eat without a fuss!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      Holy smokes this was delicious!!! I did everything as directed but cooked it all day in the slow cooker and boy was it tender! I served it over LikeItLoveIt's Indonesian Spiced Rice recipe and just finished eating it. My husband and I both agree this is our new favorite meal! I really encourage everyone to try it because it is absolutely delicious!! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      Delicious and simple! Thank you, Mae!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      This was exceptionally tasty, but very salty (and I am a salt fiend) even using reduced sodium soy sauce, so next time I will cut that down some. I doubled the sauce ingredients , halved the meat and added veggies (which should have helped absorb soem of that salt). I used baby portabellos, baby carrots, sliced, green pepper slices, and broccolini. I did add a dash of sesame oil and some fresh ginger as well. It simmer down beautifully, and some of the veg even carmelized beautifully. I served this over jasmine rice. I will make this again, but I will cut back on the soy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      Delicious! I did use a bit of cornstarch at the end to thicken things up a bit. Great flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      All thumbs up around our table tonight. Where's this recipe been hiding from me, it was so good and will be add to my favorites cookbook. The only changes I made were no onions (sad, sad, sad -- kid's tastes ya know). The recipe didn't suffer even though the adults would have loved that ingredient. I did increase the garlic to 2 tsp. of chopped garlic and added a mixture of water, soy sauce and cornstarch to thicken the sauce a bit, a personal preference. This is an awesome meal to use those cheaper cuts of pork chops once the fat and bone is cut away. The recipe would deserve more than 5 stars especially without my changes. Thanks MaeEast for sharing your wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      This braised pork is wonderful! I tried to hide it from DH but it didnt work, we ate it all! The pork is very tender and I did double the soy sauce, brown sugar, and water. Cooked quickly in my electric skillet and browned so nicely. A definite keeper, thank you MaeEast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      This really simple and easy to make dish was supprisingly yummy!! I'll be making this for dinner again tonight and this time, I'm gonna try to add some grated fresh ginger in it to add a bit more zing!! Thanxs for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2005

      Quite easy to make. I added some red pepper flakes when the oil was heating, before i sauteed the pork -- yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2005

      The flavors in this recipe really are superb. My entire family enjoyed this. I did not make any changes in this recipe. Thanks for sharing a quick and great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2005

      I haven't made this but I will very soon...it sound so good. I think I will add mushrooms and onions and broccoli too. Maybe some beansprouts.I can't wait to try this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2005

      Great flavor with melt-in-your-mouth tender meat. My only complaint is it was a bit salty for my taste (and I didn't add any at all). We'll definitely have this again, but next time I will use salt-reduced soy sauce, and also add some ginger as Watermelon suggests. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Braised Pork in Soy Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.4
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    45%
    Total Fat 15.5 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 97.4 mg
    32%
    Sodium 739.3 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 34.7 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites