13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

AAAAAAAbsolutely FABULOUS!!! I didn't have the evaporated milk, so I just subbed 2% milk, and the recipe was just perfect!!! Put the sauce over some white rice, and it was a great dinner--thanks for an awesome dinner!!!~~~~TERESA

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TGirl,RN February 20, 2003

Wowweee! This was just TOO good! I had 1.9 lbs. of boneless chops, so I increased the sauce ingredients here and there just a tad. (I kept the flour at 3 T.) My chops were thick, so I cut them in half horizontally. I added 1/2 t. hot sauce to the milk mix. By the way, the sauce thickened up perfectly! Time it for 2 minutes over medium heat stirring constantly, it's just right! It was so delectable that we dipped the crispy edges of our rolls into it, which was a whole new dimension of tasty goodness! One recommendation: a whisk is invaluable for this recipe. Use it to mix the beef broth and barbecue sauce, and use it again to mix the evaporated milk, sour cream and flour. What a fabulous dinner...my table salutes this recipe with smiling faces! Yay! Served with crispy roasted red-skinned potatoes, corn, crescent rolls and tossed salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr March 27, 2010

Great dish. I usually use lowfat sour cream in dishes like this because I like the extra tang. I think it would also have been nice with the full fat sour cream. I have to admit, I had too many things going on and ended up overcooking the pork chops so they were a little dry. If I gave 5 stars for dry chops, I can't wait to see how much we like it when I do it right;) I might add some sliced crimini mushrooms to the sauce next time. That would also be nice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keolani August 16, 2004

This dish is a simple and tasy weeknight meal. The sauce was a little too delicate (probably just our personal taste) so I added some salt, pepper, & garlic seasoning blend. This didn't stop Mark from going back for seconds, though! Next time I make this, I will probably double the amount of the bbq sauce, too, for extra flavor. Thanks for this recipe, Inez - I know when I see your name, we always enjoy your dishes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee October 22, 2003

We loved this recipe, the sauce was wonderful! I served with mashed potatoes and spinach.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Robyn~ September 24, 2012

I used 2 pork chops and the full recipe of sauce. This was made using Crock Pot Chicken or Turkey Stock, evaporated skim milk and Mock Sour Cream to cut down on fat and calories and the sauce was incredible. The chops were tender and juicy served with Amish Noodles on the side. Thanks for posting MizzNezz, Made for When It's Hot Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn July 24, 2010

This was really good!! I made as directed, I did double the sauce so I'd have enough gravy for mashed potatoes. Thanks for sharing. I'll be making this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armymomx2 May 08, 2010

This is an exceptional dish. It is easy to prepare and the taste is outstanding. I especially liked it that it didn't have crm of anything soup in it. First time I made it exactly to recipe and the second time I used lite sour cream and 2% milk with very good results. It was put in the keeper file for regular making. thanks so much for posting this super recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Modmom50 February 09, 2010

I made this dish tonight. The consistency was a bit too thick for my liking. I would probably reduce the flour if I make this again. I also thought the sauce needed a bit more kick to it. Overall, I thought this dish was good and satisfying.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon8777 January 13, 2009
Braised Pork Chops in Sour Cream Sauce