Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Braised Leeks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Braised Leeks

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 20, 2013

      This was fantastic. I have a boat load of leeks this year so am really looking for some recipes. I made as directed,however, was rushed so I added everything to the pan at once and simmered the leeks until the sauce reduced, resulting in a nice glossy coat on the leeks. Thank you for an easy and healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      I just discovered this leek recipe and made it for visitors last night exactly as written. They loved the results and so did we. We eat a lot of leeks and will be using this recipe often. Thank you for posting it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2012

      We have many huge leeks in our veggie patch at the moment, so this recipe was a perfect opportunity to put them to good use.
      We served them with our dinner of grilled salmon, mashed potato & corn on the cob.
      I'm sure this will be finding its way to our table again really soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      These were delicious! My leeks weren't terribly large, so I reduced the butter to 2 tbsp. I used home-dried thyme and homemade chicken broth. I added 1 tbsp of cider vinegar with the broth. When the leeks were cooked, I uncovered and reduced the sauce to just a couple of tablespoons. I added another tablespoon of cider vinegar and another tablespoon of butter, then swirled to combine. These were so good, my sister wouldn't let me take the leftovers home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      I'm new to cooking with leeks. I don't know if you're supposed to use the dark outer portion, but I used the whole thing. I didn't have chicken stock so I used chicked broth instead. It was rather bland. Next time I think I will try and use water with chicken bouillon cube or broth with a cube. I also think I will add a tablespoon of Apple Cider Vinegar for a little kick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      I've never had leeks before except in a soup where you couldn't really distinguish their taste. So decided to try this recipe and was surprised and happy with this dish. I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

    • on August 08, 2007

      Yum! Had some leeks I needed to get rid of and looked for a recipe that had "pantry" ingredients. This recipe hit the spot! Used fresh thyme (it was in my garden). My husband and I ate the whole thing. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Delicious! I used these for the leek filling of Welsh Leek Pie #230294. It was perfect. Then I (unintentionally:-)) finished them off, a little at a time, as I fixed the rest of dinner. They go on my list as a frequent vegetable dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      This was the first time I'd ever eaten a Leek and I must say it was pretty good. I kept the recipe as is and will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      My husband is not a vegetable lover, and we tend to just stick to the same old things--broccoli, beans, or salad. However, when I made these, we both loved them! I used only about a tablespoon of butter, and it was still enough to make it creamy. I agree with the slotted spoon suggestion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      These were fabulous. People asked for the recipe after, and my leek-hating partner ate it without any of his usual complaints! The stock really took away what greasiness the butter may give, and the thyme really made the dish. I used a bit more pepper because I like it so much. When I served these, I used a slotted spoon, but plenty of the liquid still clung to the leeks. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2006

      Very tasty and health.Quick to make. Can be served cold also.I used margarine instead of butter to make it dairy free.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      Leeks are a common side dish in my house, too. Glad to see someone else appreciating this underrated veggie! This recipe is wonderful. Pure and simple, yet tasty. I loved the thyme in there. I'll make leeks like this again. Thanx for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Vegetable Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Braised Leeks

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 142.4
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    58%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 23.8 mg
    7%
    Sodium 282.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes