Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Braised Lamb Shoulder Chops Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Braised Lamb Shoulder Chops

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on July 05, 2003

      Friday, July 4/03 My partner, Smiley, came home from work today, opened the door and said "This recipe contest of your's makes our court yard smell like a European bistro". The aroma of Braised Lamb Shoulder Chops simmering in juices flavoured with the recipe's prescribed herbs and seasonings adds to the anticipated enjoyment of dinner. We love a lemon addition to our food, use it frequently, so this recipe immediately appeals to our taste preference. The intelligent combination of the seasonings creates a subtility, yet enhances the sweetness of carrot, and onion, while toning down the acidity of tomato and contributes to the ultimate tenderness of Shoulder Chops. (I also added one very large thinly sliced white, mushroom for no good reason other than I could not help myself - I am a mushroom junkie...) To complement our dinner, I baked two potatoes, cut them in half, but not right through. (I wanted to be able to fold the jackets back over the flesh) I scooped out the flesh while still hot - (that took some doing) - mixed it with a fork until the lumps were smoothed away then added enough canola/soya margarine to bind the flesh, returned the potato to their jackets, folded the skins back over the potato only enough to have plenty of potato protruding through the opening. Then, scooped sauce and veggies over the potatoes and chops. AMBROSIA, PURE AMBROSIA! I did find, however, that one hour simmering time was not quite long enough to tenderize the celery; but I am a compulsive taster, so I allowed it to continue simmering while I continued tasting, until the vegetables were al dente. Total simmer and taste time about 1.5 hours. The sauce and vegetables are so tasty I could easily eat it on its own, like soup. Served with a bottle of chilled Terre del Sole, Pinot Grigio, from the 2001 Pasqua collection, made Smiley forget all about the airport woes. When I asked for an objective opinion of the recipe, the answer was an intelligent "Yum-Yum, Goot-Shtofe". I guess that brilliant critique means this recipe is a definite keeper, and I thank you for your contribution to the "Ready Set Cook Spring 2003 contest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      This is a very good recipe for people who are not used to the strong taste of lamb. The spicy tomato sauce with veggies & lemon tanginess, made this dish simply delicious. Yes, the lamb and veggies were a perfect match to instant Idaho mashed potatoes! Further, I cut the recipe in half and used some fresh tomatoes, tomato paste from a tube, less cooking times... with perfect results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Yum! I followed the recipe as is, except I added fresh sliced mushrooms. Very easy -- VERY delicious. Don't skip the fresh mint! And, don't count on leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Served over noodles. Used Sherry. Also, canned Rotele tomatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      Yum, and double yum! I served this to my parents who are really not lamb lovers, and they really enjoyed it, as did I. I didn't add any cornstarch, I just pulled the meat when it was tender and jacked up the heat to reduce the liquid. I used sherry instead of red wine, and I added mushrooms (in the last 20 minutes of cooking), because I had some that needed to be used. I also needed to make this as a make ahead, so I cooked through step 6 on day one, then packed the meat, cooked vegetables, and tomatoes and spices in a zip top bag and refrigerated overnight. Then on day 2, I dumped the entire mixture into a pan and brought it up to a simmer until it was tender. I served over noodles, but rice would have worked equally well. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe that I will definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      My family and guests adored this! I made it almost completely according to the recipe. I did not add the cornstarch, as the sauce was plenty thick enough for me, and I didn't add the mint because I didn't have any. Needless to say, I way will make this again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      I thought this was super delicious! I really like the flavor the lemon brought to this dish. The sauce is really yummy & the lamb very tender.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      Really great recipe! I had to tweak it a bit as I bought lamb shanks instead of shoulder chops...but delicious nontheless.The flavor was exactly what I was looking for. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      I used leftover Easter lamb roast for this and my husband declared it better than the roast which he made! Even the kids liked it. I only simmered it for about 1/2 hour and it was very easy. Because of the quick cooking I thought my flavors were a little sharp so I added about one tablespoon of brown sugar which worked perfectly. The flavor combination, even with the seasoning from the roast, worked perfectly: complex but not spicy. I'll try this with the shoulder chops and save this for the next lamb leg leftover meal. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      very good recipe, I also added zuchini and mushrooms and used chopped fresh tomatoes. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      Very good - can also use pork.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2005

      As an insulin dependant diabetic I follow the weight watchers diet very closely. But I am always looking for something different. i love to cook & this can be a challenge. This was a wonderful recipe for lamb or beef. my husband gave it a #10. If you are on weight watchers. the points per chop are 4 unless it's a lean shoulder chop then it's 4. The total points are 6. Very Good. dcgranny;

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      I thought this recipe was great. I used the red wine in mine. I agree with the other comments the lemon gives the recipe a special something. And the thing that really finished the dish off is the mint, it brings a freshness to the whole dish. Well done.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2014

      Very nice recipe and easy enough for those intimidated by lamb. The flavors melded nicely and I loved it. Being a Texan, I did not grow up with lamb on the table (Dad the cattleman always forbid it) so was an adult before the foray into lamb, sheep and goat. Thank you for the excellent addition of curry as well1

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      Carmelizing the vegetables and lemon slices before braising the lamb shoulder chops is brilliant. This recipe is as good as everyone says.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2013

      I don't usually care for lamb (or mutton) very much, but this dish is wonderful. My husband, who loves lamb, thought he was in heaven. I didn't have canned tomatoes, but diced some fresh tomatoes and simmered them in a bit of water, and they substituted nicely. The sauce reduced enough during cooking that I omitted the corn starch. I served the lamb with country-style mashed potatoes, green bean bundles, and a freshly baked loaf of rosemary potato bread. (I think I'll bake a sourdough baguette the next time; the potato bread was a little too soft to soak up all the yummy sauce.) Needless to say, we've happily added your recipe to our menu rotation and are looking forward to trying it with other meats as well. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      Excellent! Luscious! The changes we made: omitted curry powder and celery, and we braised it in the oven at 350' for an hour. We kept it warm for another 2 hours till dinnertime, and it was fall-apart luscious. The bites that contain lemon are downright startling. Next time we will add the entire lemon, finely sliced. What a kaleidoscope of flavors! Thank you, Derf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      Followed the recipe and in return was rewarded with a very tasty and fulfilling dish. This one is a keeper and we'll add it to our file of favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      this is a wonderful wholesome food for all the family, this recipe does it justice, expect no leftovers, dont be afraid to add other veg, and mess with favourite spices, excellent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      This dish was delicious and super easy! I didn't have mint, so unfortunately missed that layer of flavor, but if I hadn't read about it, don't think I would have even considered it. Also, I didn't have celery, so I added some celery salt for flavor. Also added sliced mushrooms, amchur powder, and used tangerines in place of lemon. Served the stew-like lamb and veggies over a bed of butter beans with a side of sauteed spinach. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Braised Lamb Shoulder Chops

    Serving Size: 1 (313 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 138.4
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    27%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 477.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    31%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    shoulder lamb chops

    fresh mint

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites