Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Braised Lamb Shanks With Garlic and Rosemary (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Braised Lamb Shanks With Garlic and Rosemary (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2013

      The recipe is fantastic! Favors are well balanced. The aroma while cooking is awesome. I highly recommend making sure you use fresh ingredients like garlic and rosemary, it made a difference. My only critique is that the recipe does not require 12 hours of cooking. After 5 hours on high in the crock pot, this recipe was falling off the bone tender. I'd say 6 hours on high max. I'll be making this dish many more times.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      Love this recipe! Its a keeper. I don't think it requires as long cooking as per recipe though. FLAVOUR and tender

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      I browned the shanks first but I felt this dish lacked flavor. The meat was very tender but it needed something to add to the overall taste. Maybe some tomatoes or more wine. I wouldn't bother cooking this again & shall look for another recipe for lamb shanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      This recipe was fabulously delicious, and received rave reviews from my Gourmet Book Club members. I had a sit down dinner for 10 and the Lamb was tender and seasoned very well. I used two crock pots (because I use 14 shanks 7 per pot) with the same amount of seasoning and preparation for both (I did brown my shanks before putting them in the crock pots). The only thing I changed was the time of cooking. Cooked on high for 6 hours then turn down and cooked on low for 1 hour (the lamb is really tender and falling off the bone. The presentation was beautiful, I should have taken pictures, everyone’s plate was empty. I served Vichyssoise for the soup, mashed sweet potatoes, roasted broccoli, and zucchini with the Lamb entrée, along with Banana Foster and French vanilla ice cream for dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      This IS divine! I was on the hunt for another kind of lamb shank recipe, not one with beans as usual, and this fitted the bill! I LOVED the lemon in this, it gave a clean and sharp flavour that married well with the rosemary. I used 2 shanks for the two of us and cut the quantities back to suit. I cooked this for 6 hours on automatic in my crock pot with great results. Served this with fluffy mashed potatoes for a wonderul and special evening meal last night. Oh yes, forgot to say, I browned the shanks first in a little olive oil to give them colour and a nice crust before slow cooking. Made for Special Meals in the Photo's Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      I love this dish! The only things I changed were to substitue some chopped mint leaves for the rosemary and new baby potatoes for the carrots. It was really good the first day but the leftovers were even better!! A definite keeper. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      This is one of the best lamb shank dishes we have had. The taste was superb,and it was just so easy to cook. We loved it . Thank you so much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2007

      What wonderful comfort food! I followed the recipe precisely, and served the shanks in large bowls over cooked rice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Braised Lamb Shanks With Garlic and Rosemary (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (367 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 666.3
     
    Calories from Fat 304
    45%
    Total Fat 33.8 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 13.7 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 242.1 mg
    80%
    Sodium 1027.4 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 72.6 g
    145%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites