Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Braised Lamb Shanks

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 01, 2014

      I was making roast lamb often, but the price went up, so I tried shanks, using this recipe. It's SOO delicious, my husband prefers it to the roast! Before, we only got lamb shanks when we'd ocassionally go to a Greek restaurant, but now I can make them proudly at home, ty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      This was great! I was out of beef stock and only had a small can of cream of celery soup so I used that 1:1 with water and then used the same amount required as the beef stock. I only made three shanks and cooked it for 1 hour and 40 min and it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      Delicious! Finally found a recipe without tomato. Worked perfectly in the crockpot for 3 hrs. on high. Lovely aroma with succulent results. Devine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Really good. I love lamb shanks. As I am usually cooking for myself, I had to adapt the quantities a bit and I added a cup of sliced, sauteed mushrooms. Thanks for a good meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Simply divine flavours! Will definitely be making this again - thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      This is the first time I have ever made lamb shanks. This recipe is outstanding and my husband couldnt get enough. It is easy and the meat is very tender and tasty!!! Everone has to give this a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      I made this dish for my anniversary. It was mouthwatering and very tender. I highly recommend this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      This dish was amazing! Rich and flavorful and you can't believe how good the house smelled. I made a couple of changes, used 1 carrot and 1 stalk of celery with the onions and mixed chicken and beef broth. Will definately make this again and add this to the family cookbook. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      This recipe is fantastic! Instead of onions I used shallots. The meat was falling off the bone when it was finished and the sauce was excellent. We saved the sauce to use with future dishes. There was enough food for 4 people to eat and also leftovers for my wife and I the following day at work. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      absolutely delicious, the meat was falling off the bone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      I made this with 2 shanks in a dutch oven while we decorated the front of the house for Chistmas. Cooked itself. I opened a can of Canelli beans and heated them in the micro. I drained them and put the shanks and beans on our plates and spooned the rich wine sauce over both beans and shanks. We had french rolls to soak up the wonderful gravy. Wundabar!! could not have been better!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      This is a fantastic recipe for lamb shanks. So simple but yet so good. The meat was falling off the bone and oh, that gravy!! It is really rich and full of flavour. The cooking time was right on, leaving the lamb a bit pink. I am so happy to have found this dish and especially for the leftovers so I can enjoy this lamb again tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2004

      Well cooked shanks are always a 5 star meal in this house. They are a favourite, but are expensive, so they need to be done well. This made a really nice change, as most often we have tomatoey sauces over them, and lately a lot of beans in those sauces. This simple, but rich sauce really highlighted the flavour of our delicious shanks. Thanks, we'll make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Braised Lamb Shanks

    Serving Size: 1 (705 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1108.5
     
    Calories from Fat 518
    46%
    Total Fat 57.6 g
    88%
    Saturated Fat 21.6 g
    108%
    Cholesterol 363.1 mg
    121%
    Sodium 936.6 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 110.9 g
    221%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes