13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these when my mother-in-law visited. She's a great cook and doesn't impress easily. We all loved them! I found the recipe a bit heavy on the onions but simply didn't include them all on the serving platter. Next time I would stick with the sweet onions and skip the regular onions. I will definitely make these again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim in Walnut Creek April 25, 2003

Nice blend of flavours. I used lamb steaks and they turned out very tender. I also added in 1 diced carrot and 1 sliced courgette when I added the steaks back to the pan to save cooking any other ishes. I served these on couscous. Thanks for a keeper:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen T July 11, 2005

Excellent lamb chops, thanks Chia!! I used shoulder chops. We loved the spices with the onions. The only onion I had in to use was a big reg one, so I just used it and left the regular onion out. The chops were succulent and tender, thanks for sharing a good one, we will be doing these ones again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf November 27, 2004

These were incredible. I used only vidalia onions and loved the sweetness they added to the sauce. Hubby was late for dinner, and I had to add a bit more wine and water in order to keep the lamb moist while simmering. But, even with the increased simmer time, the lamb was moist, tender, flavorful and delicious. I served this with a simple herbed couscous and steamed snow peas. It was a fabulous dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. May 12, 2004

Wow - easy and made the house smell like my Grandma's! Thanks this was just wonderful!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina97071 October 17, 2010

I made this minus the cumin....Deeeeelicious!!!! I scaled down the recipe not sure if my husband would like, only to have him wanting more! When I told him we only got one chop a piece he had the expression of a child with hurt feelings! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ursula H. April 26, 2010

The combination of herbs is wonderful with the lamb. I used lamb sirloin steaks and I like my lamb pink so I omitted the last summering step. Also I added some mushrooms (They were on sale). The Reisling wine turned the onions and mushrooms golden - Next time I make this recipe I will use shoulder chops and do the last step as well I am sure it will give an even richer flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy January 28, 2010

A lovely flavor. The lamb we used was a little tough and I think would have benefitted from longer cooking. Next time we make this recipe (and I'm sure there WILL be a next time!), I'll make this in the slow cooker.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly53 January 03, 2007

I won't rate this as I can't give it a fair rating. I used Lamb Rump Steaks and red wine instead of white ... I also only used one onion and left out the parsley. It had definite potential and the flavours were lovely but it was a little drier than I expected. That was probably either the fault of the cook (me!), or the cut of meat just didn't suit the recipe. Thanks for posting, chia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingernut August 07, 2006
braised lamb chops