12 Reviews

I used 1/2 cup more chicken stock, which provided a little more gravy. We loved this dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jeffy April 25, 2008

This was excellent! Left such a good taste in my mouth I didn't want to brush my teeth. LOL. Gave me a chance to use my new and much-loved enameled cast-iron dutch oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calteri1 March 01, 2014

This recipe is a favorite in our house, the only thing I did different was add chopped garlic cloves and used fresh thyme tied into a bundle and fresh rosemary, thanks for this recipe it is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shudson71 September 14, 2012

We thought this was ok, but we weren't over the moon about the flavor, which was a tad on the bland side for us. Probably not a repeater at our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NavyWife'nMom January 31, 2010

This is amazing. I only had red wine and it was still delicious. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myojo93 January 07, 2010

WOW!! Only 7 ratings so far? And no wonder they are all 5 star ratings! This was soooo delicious! And simple to put together. I left out the onion, since my husband despises them. I added a clove of garlic. Instead of the oil I used 2 T. smart balance and some extra four, which made a nice sauce. The chicken turned out extremely tender and the whole dish was just full of flavor. I served with some homemade buttermilk biscuits for a superb dinner on an cold and windy night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers November 06, 2008

Delicious! The only issue was that there was no "leftover" flour to add to the pot, so after it was done I took the chicken and veggies out and thickened it up with cornstarch. Next time I might use 1-2 tbps butter instead of oil for better flavor, and be sure to add more flour for a roux. Served with freshly-baked dinner rolls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fujiko July 07, 2008

This was great. I substituted Bisquick for the flour and added a few cut up celery stalks. Easy to throw together and only had to wash one pot. Wish I could add more stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kbarbon January 10, 2008

this was terrific!! even my semi-picky daughter asked for thirds!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sofia 71 September 02, 2007

I made this for dinner last night. It was fabulous!I didn't have any wine so I substituted more chicken broth; I also used a combination of thighs and legs (with skin). At the last miinute I decided to add about a tbls. of minced garlic to the stock. This was really a wonderful meal - I will make it often. (very easy too!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seajayh January 04, 2007
Braised Herb Chicken Thighs With Potatoes