9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I enjoyed the taste of this, but it was soooo salty! I made as posted to be true to the recipe, but next time I'll add some diced jalapenos for spice and use reduced-sodium soy sauce. I also think I'll add some broccoli or snow peas to help absorb some of the sauce. I thought the ginger amount was perfect....wouldn't change that at all. I'll definitely try this one again, just try to reduce the salt content. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom July 27, 2010

This was good but we all agreed that it was a 'bit' too gingery. I will make it again but with less ginger and like one of the other reviewers, I will double the sauce and add some water chestnuts and other vegetables. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft March 11, 2010

I loved this dish! I halved the recipe and used boneless pork chops cut into bite size pieces, instead of the loin. This is now a must do often recipe at my house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Angie** January 04, 2010

Made it to my best of 2009 cookbook. Fabulous entree. I used fresh ginger and siracha sauce (instead of pepper flakes) and glad I did. Served with Near East brand rice, Sesame and Ginger flavor and seemed like it was created to go with this recipe. Fabulous!! Salty, but salty doesn't bother me, if it does should use reduced sodium broth and soy sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT August 30, 2009

This is very good. I had cut the recipe in half as that there only 2 of us and I used fresh grated ginger, otherwise I had followed the recipe. There wasn't any leftovers, the sauce was very nice on the rice as well. It wasn't too salty for us, but we do like things on the salty side so those that don't things as salty probably should use low sodium broth instead. Will make again in future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Girl June 04, 2009

Very good! I made it exactly as posted minus the optional pepper flakes, while I do like a bit of spice I thought it might have hidden the other great flavors. I used a home-made chicken broth that was probably less salty than store bought chicken stock, if using that you would probably want to use low-sodium soy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J April 07, 2009

We enjoyed this thanks Mikekey. It was ever so simple to make and the taste-although a little salty for us-was great. I used fresh ginger root (a personal preferance in savoury dishes), a generous pinch of chili flakes and I had to add extra water as the 4 tablespoons of flour used made the sauce extrememly thick. I will make this again using low sodium soy and I might try chicken for a change.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS March 28, 2009

I served this to company last night and it was enjoyed by all. We all agreed that it needed a little kick, so next time I'll add some crushed red pepper flakes. I did add some green peppers and orange peppers to the mix and doubled the sauce mixture. Great flavor combination. Served this over rice with some steamed carrots for a great meal. Thanks mikekey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ August 10, 2008

Loved it! This was so simple and so good. I did use minced ginger root instead of the the ground (love my ginger, lol), but followed the rest of the recipe as directed. Thanks mikekey for yet another great recipe. Made for Aussie Swap #14.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme March 11, 2008
Braised Ginger Pork