Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Braised Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Braised Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2013

      I had this as a vegan, low-carb lunch (hard to combine those two things usually), replacing the butter with mustard oil which I tempered with mustard seed. Cooks in southern India use mustard oil in their cooking, as it adds a nice pungent bite (does NOT taste like yellow mustard afterwards). I also added some garlic to the vegetables, which I sauteed all at the same time. I served drizzled with sriracha sauce along with a piece of nan bread. Quick easy and good. Just as a note, this is not a braised dish, but a saute, as you need to use both dry heat and cooking liquid for braising. This is better than braised cabbage!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2014

      Simple and comforting, but nothing really exciting. However left-overs can be used in anything at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2014

      A nice quick vegetable side that is ready in short order. I did add in a touch of dill and thought it added a nice touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2013

      I love cabbage and this did not disappoint. I followed the recipe as written other then we like our vegetables soft and not crispy so I cooked mine for about an hour. Since I cooked it longer, I did have to add another three tablespoons of butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      We really enjoyed this lovely simple dish breezer. My dh liked it so much he asked for it the next night also. No hardship there, enjoyed both times. Quick and easy to make, with lovely flavor and texture. A great way to get those veggies in you. Thanks for sharing a dish that will be made often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      This was very easy to make and very quick. I used a bagged coleslaw that I needed to use in the fridge and added Italian seasoning to the mix. Tasty dish. Made for Zaar 1-2-3 Hits Tag
      Game 2012. 1/20/13 Was going through my reviews and saw I forgot to add the stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2012

      I make a version of this all the time in the winter months! Try adding a bit of nutmeg at the very end. Tasty! Made for Football Pool 2012

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      So very simple to make. Changed up a little. I use bought coleslaw mix and white onions instead of green onions. Made for Football Pool 2012 week 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      A nice simple side dish that brings nice colors to the dinner plate, made as written and enjoyed the clean simple flavors of this pretty side. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2011

      Great simple recipe! I made a half recipe with sliced cabbage instead of shredded. I LOVE cabbage and this was a nice way to make it. I liked the green onion and carrots with it. Freddy Cat says hi! Made for the Photo tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      Simple and yummy. I used about 2 cups cabbage and 1/2 of a carrot. I used a mandoline to slice thin. I changed it just a leeetle bit. I had some homemade vegetable stock in the fridge, so added a touch of that at the end and let it absorb. Thanks for another good way to eat cabbage! Made for Newest Zaar tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Braised Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 92.9
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    57%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 286.0 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes