11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had this as a vegan, low-carb lunch (hard to combine those two things usually), replacing the butter with mustard oil which I tempered with mustard seed. Cooks in southern India use mustard oil in their cooking, as it adds a nice pungent bite (does NOT taste like yellow mustard afterwards). I also added some garlic to the vegetables, which I sauteed all at the same time. I served drizzled with sriracha sauce along with a piece of nan bread. Quick easy and good. Just as a note, this is not a braised dish, but a saute, as you need to use both dry heat and cooking liquid for braising. This is better than braised cabbage!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau January 31, 2013

Simple and comforting, but nothing really exciting. However left-overs can be used in anything at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alvinakatz August 10, 2014

A nice quick vegetable side that is ready in short order. I did add in a touch of dill and thought it added a nice touch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG August 07, 2014

I love cabbage and this did not disappoint. I followed the recipe as written other then we like our vegetables soft and not crispy so I cooked mine for about an hour. Since I cooked it longer, I did have to add another three tablespoons of butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol April 26, 2013

We really enjoyed this lovely simple dish breezer. My dh liked it so much he asked for it the next night also. No hardship there, enjoyed both times. Quick and easy to make, with lovely flavor and texture. A great way to get those veggies in you. Thanks for sharing a dish that will be made often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato March 05, 2013

This was very easy to make and very quick. I used a bagged coleslaw that I needed to use in the fridge and added Italian seasoning to the mix. Tasty dish. Made for Zaar 1-2-3 Hits Tag
Game 2012. 1/20/13 Was going through my reviews and saw I forgot to add the stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty January 21, 2013

I make a version of this all the time in the winter months! Try adding a bit of nutmeg at the very end. Tasty! Made for Football Pool 2012

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
westtextazzy November 07, 2012

So very simple to make. Changed up a little. I use bought coleslaw mix and white onions instead of green onions. Made for Football Pool 2012 week 8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
School Chef November 02, 2012

A nice simple side dish that brings nice colors to the dinner plate, made as written and enjoyed the clean simple flavors of this pretty side. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl January 05, 2012

Great simple recipe! I made a half recipe with sliced cabbage instead of shredded. I LOVE cabbage and this was a nice way to make it. I liked the green onion and carrots with it. Freddy Cat says hi! Made for the Photo tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed October 21, 2011
Braised Cabbage