Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Braised Brisket Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Braised Brisket

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2010

      This was very good. I made some changes and I would make further changes next time. I thinly sliced garlic and inserted into thin incisions into both sides of the meat. After browning both sides I put the brisket onto a bed of sliced onions. I followed the recipe as directed, but raised the temp up to 350 and the meat still took about a total of 3 & 1/2 hrs for a 6lb brisket. Next time, I would double the beer, ketchup, and red wine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      Simply AMAZING! I followed the recipe to a "t" (used red wine). I didn't have a dutch oven large enough to sear a 5# brisket so I used my largest skillet for searing then deglazed the pan with wine. Then I used a 13x9 baking dish for baking. I covered the baking dish very tightly with heavy foil. Worked perfectly. The gravy was incredible. The baking time was spot on. I served with roasted root vegetables and Crash Hot Potatoes. Deb1, thanks a bunch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      I made this as the main course for dinner for about 100 volunteers. I made 6 briskets and they were gone almost as soon as serving. Everyone raved about the taste. It was great that while it was cooking I could get other things done. So simple, so great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      Wow, so easy and soooo good. I will be cooking this again. Thanks for a nice tender brisket, and great leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Yum! I had about 8 something lbs. so I cut it in half and doubled the gravy ingredients. I didn't sear the meat. I am too lazy for that! For the vinegar, I used cider and balsamic together because I didn't have enough cider vinegar alone. I trimmed the fat and sliced the meat and skimmed the fat from the gravy. It is in the oven now reheating. Thank you for a really nice brisket!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      I have tried dozens of Brisket recipes over the years but this one is by far the best. This is the classic jewish brisket at its best, no fuss no muss! The best part is that you can add or subtract the measurements for the ingredients and it still comes out great. This is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Absolutely wonderful recipe. It was sooooo delicious, everyone just loved it. I used a large roaster, browned on top of the stove and then in the oven for about 4 hours at 300-325, basting every couple hours. Will definately make this again! Thanks for a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I only have one word for this recipe "EXCELLENT". I used a 5 lb. piece of brisket and the only thing I left out was the pepper.....mainly because I had run out of pepper corns for the pepper mill. I think next time I will put in potatoes and carrots the last hour of cooking. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      I used a 41/2 lb. boneless chuck roast, well trimmed of fat. I added 4 whole garlic cloves to the pot after everything was in there. They say sometimes less is better and let me tell you.....the smell throughout the house and finally the flavor of this melt in your mouth recipe leaves you in speechless culinary bliss!!!! I promise I will be using this recipe the rest of my life.Oh yes, and I used a 5qt. dutch oven in a 350 degree oven for 2 1/2 hrs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      This is the best brisket and the only recipe I use. You cannot mess it up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Somehow I forgot to add the beer! Even so, this brisket was mouth-wateringly tender, juicy, and perfectly seasoned. If you could bottle the savory aroma while it was roasting, you could make a fortune. The wonderful gravy was perfect with mashed potatoes and some roasted carrots, and the meal was a huge hit at our house. Certainly the perfect winter comfort food, so I'm making it again today. Thanks Deb1 for an easy masterpiece!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      I served this brisket for a Hannukah celebration last night. My picky husband, who won't eat brisket cooked with ketchup, loved it as did our guests who were all asking for seconds and the recipe. It made a delicious gravy. Looking forward to our leftovers. This recipe will be a staple when I'm cooking brisket. I used light beer which is what I had in the house and it came out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      I made this recipe exactly as directed for Rosh Hashanah. I did cook it longer since I had about an 11 pound brisket (doubled the ingredients). I've been looking for a great non-barbeque type brisket and now have found it. Wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      Ever since I discovered this recipe a few years ago it has become a family´s favorite. Specially when I need a delicious dish for holidays and don´t have a lot of time I take out this recipe. Thanks! I once didn´t have onion soup mix, so I added slices of onion to the sauce and added some beef broth. And it was just as delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      This was very good although I do like my brisket to be a bit sweeter. I thought it was a little too tart but I will keep it in my cookbook as it was good and my dad would like it. I cooked it all on the stove top and it came out fine. I served it with egg noodles and steamed green beans as part of our Shabbat meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      This was wonderful! I added about 2 ounces of BBQ sauce (because I love the taste) and cooked it with potatoes and carrots. I especially liked that I didn't have to marinate it. A keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2004

      I made this for my family of 30 people. It was a big hit. Even my sister-in-law who is a great cook herself asked for the recipe. I had 4 briskets to make and tried 3 different recipes. This one was the absolute best and is going to be put in my permanent cookbook! I did not sear the beef on the stove top though. I just put it in a roaster, poured over the sauce,covered with tin foil and cooked 325degrees for about 5 hours for a 5-6lb brisket. I took the tin foil off the last hour of cooking to brown the top. I basted it a few times throughout the cooking. It came out very tender and very tasty. What could be easier. Thanks Deb1

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2003

      Brisket-Schmisket!! This was great brisket, and I'm not Jewish. I had a big chunk of beef brisket in my freezer and wanted a recipe that I didn't have to marinate overnight. I also wanted a recipe where I had everything on hand. This was the one, and it's excellent!! Talk about easy. And the kitchen smelled so good while it was cooking. My SIL stopped by and I gave her a copy of the recipe. The only thing that I did differently was the vinegar. I was out of red wine, so I used half balsamic and half cider.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Braised Brisket

    Serving Size: 1 (334 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1129.4
     
    Calories from Fat 815
    72%
    Total Fat 90.6 g
    139%
    Saturated Fat 36.4 g
    181%
    Cholesterol 248.5 mg
    82%
    Sodium 929.3 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 58.6 g
    117%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes