Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Braised Boneless Short Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Braised Boneless Short Ribs

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2011

      Very good. You can make it even better by making your own beef stock with the bones. Either remove them yourself or ask the butcher for them if buying boneless. Smear them with a little oil and a couple tablespoons of tomato paste; roast them for an hour at 400 F; put in a pot with twice their weight in cold water (about a gallon for 4 pounds of bones) and bring up almost to a boil, then simmer for about 6 hours. You can also add some peppercorns, parley stems, a bay leaf or two and some mirepoix. Use this instead of canned stock, and freeze any that's left over. It is vastly superior to the commercial stuff.

      You can probably skip the gelatin in the recipe if you do this, since the bones will add a good deal of their own to the party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      Delish!! We used bone in (because that's what was on special this week). Made just as directed. When I saw it was Doctors recipe, I knew we'd love it, right on again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      Wow, this meat melts in your mouth! I used bone in short ribs and left the bones in, then skipped the gelatin part because the bones thicken the sauce up. I also cooked it in my crock pot. Served over egg noodles. Next time I might add mushrooms and put the carrots in after the meat has cooked a while so they won't get as mushy. Short ribs are so cheap that I was looking for more recipes to use them, and this hit the spot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      Great recipe. I prefer 1 carrot and 2 celery stalks instead of the 4 carrots. Rounds out the flavor. Love the gelatin idea. Very tasty....mix in some sour cream and you have a braised stroganoff. Elegant and robust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      This is a great recipe. The meat melts in your mouth. I made pretty much as directed with no problems, it was very easy. The only thing I did different was making a roux and stirring in the strained broth to make my gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      What an excellent dish. I made it exactly as written and just added a drop of gravy browning at the end to richen the color. Thanks for posting !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Fabulous recipe! Followed the recipe except I added mushrooms with the onions and didn't strain the liquid, just served everything over mashed potatoes. My DH really enjoyed it and even my picky 8yo liked it. Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      This is a great recipe. You can also use 1 cup of Guinness (or another stout) instead of the wine and skip the "reduce by half" step in Step 3. Add 1/2 cup of chopped prunes at the same time. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      This is a great recipe. I personally don't strain out the onions and carrots, I like to eat them. I cook for 3 hours so the meat is fall apart tender!! I sometimes add mushrooms as well. I serve over mashed cauliflower instead of potatoes. Freezes well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Braised Boneless Short Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (420 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 905.1
     
    Calories from Fat 680
    75%
    Total Fat 75.5 g
    116%
    Saturated Fat 31.8 g
    159%
    Cholesterol 150.8 mg
    50%
    Sodium 692.0 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 30.5 g
    61%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes