11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am not a fan of weird meat, but this was fantastic. We slaughtered a cow this spring and after splitting it with the neighbor, I ended up with the heart. I meant to give it to the dogs, but thought I would try this, and then if I didn't like it, they could have it. NO WAY! I added a few carrots and a leek to the stew, and used French Onion Soup mix, otherwise no changes. FANTASTIC.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mdicus October 12, 2009

One reviewer descried that heart is organ meat. By the simplest definition, that is true, but the point is that it is muscle, smooth instead of striated, but not at all like liver, brain, pancreas, or thymus (all of which I love) . I think the point is that liver-phobics may well relish heart. I suspect there is some genetic predisposition to liver flavor. I've not known anyone to grow to like it. But my wife, kids, and grandkids who hate liver, love heart.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Paul August 03, 2013

I used a 5# moose heart instead of beef, and it was FANTASTIC! I added another onion during the second hour of cooking, and turned the heart before I sprinkled it with bread crumbs - it was wonderfully moist in my french oven. I added some cornstarch to the gravy as a thickener at the end (after removal from the oven) - I'll be making this again for certain!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jens_iguanapad September 24, 2009

This is a wonderful recipe. We hadn't tried beef heart before and were given one when we purchased part of a local cow with some coworkers. It had a different taste than any cut of beef we've had before; I almost want to say it was more complex (but I suppose that could have been due to the way the cow was raised and butchered). This is a very easy recipe for beef-heart newbies to follow, and the gravy it creates is absolutely fabulous. We served it over rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kamark March 19, 2009

This was a great recipe. I love organ meats but can never get my family to eat it. Before I served it I cut it up and told them it was a roast. Even my picky 3-year old ate it up. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dalialando1 August 25, 2008

the greatest heart recipe ever a definate must try by all heart lovers

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seanandmarg April 20, 2008

Four stars right now because I haven't made it, but I really like beef heart! Thanks for pointing out the nutritional side and it looks like a terriffic recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissaMew May 31, 2006

Nice to see a heart recipe that doesn't involve wine. Mu hubby & I can't drink and even though the alcohol itself gets cooked out, neither of us care for the taste wine offers anyway. this sounds fab. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BellsD August 18, 2013

Heart IS organ meat. The heart is an organ. using your logic stomach or tripe would not be organ meats either - they are muscles too. Tongue is the one that I think is sort of problematic. But biologically heart is a true internal organ.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loki-dog May 23, 2013

Delicious. I saw veal hearts at the market and finally bought one and then had to figure out what to do with it. My heart was just over 3/4 lb, plenty for two. I browned it, then threw it into the crockpot. I avoid soup mixes, so added some dried onion flakes along with the fresh, thyme, paprika, whole peppercorns, a bay leaf, chicken broth instead of water, and a squirt of tomato paste. It made a fantastic gravy. I think adding some mushrooms would also be great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte May 01, 2013
Braised Beef Heart