Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Braised Beef Heart Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Braised Beef Heart

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2009

      I am not a fan of weird meat, but this was fantastic. We slaughtered a cow this spring and after splitting it with the neighbor, I ended up with the heart. I meant to give it to the dogs, but thought I would try this, and then if I didn't like it, they could have it. NO WAY! I added a few carrots and a leek to the stew, and used French Onion Soup mix, otherwise no changes. FANTASTIC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      One reviewer descried that heart is organ meat. By the simplest definition, that is true, but the point is that it is muscle, smooth instead of striated, but not at all like liver, brain, pancreas, or thymus (all of which I love) . I think the point is that liver-phobics may well relish heart. I suspect there is some genetic predisposition to liver flavor. I've not known anyone to grow to like it. But my wife, kids, and grandkids who hate liver, love heart.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      I used a 5# moose heart instead of beef, and it was FANTASTIC! I added another onion during the second hour of cooking, and turned the heart before I sprinkled it with bread crumbs - it was wonderfully moist in my french oven. I added some cornstarch to the gravy as a thickener at the end (after removal from the oven) - I'll be making this again for certain!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      This is a wonderful recipe. We hadn't tried beef heart before and were given one when we purchased part of a local cow with some coworkers. It had a different taste than any cut of beef we've had before; I almost want to say it was more complex (but I suppose that could have been due to the way the cow was raised and butchered). This is a very easy recipe for beef-heart newbies to follow, and the gravy it creates is absolutely fabulous. We served it over rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      This was a great recipe. I love organ meats but can never get my family to eat it. Before I served it I cut it up and told them it was a roast. Even my picky 3-year old ate it up. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      the greatest heart recipe ever a definate must try by all heart lovers

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      Four stars right now because I haven't made it, but I really like beef heart! Thanks for pointing out the nutritional side and it looks like a terriffic recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      Nice to see a heart recipe that doesn't involve wine. Mu hubby & I can't drink and even though the alcohol itself gets cooked out, neither of us care for the taste wine offers anyway. this sounds fab. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2013

      Heart IS organ meat. The heart is an organ. using your logic stomach or tripe would not be organ meats either - they are muscles too. Tongue is the one that I think is sort of problematic. But biologically heart is a true internal organ.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      Delicious. I saw veal hearts at the market and finally bought one and then had to figure out what to do with it. My heart was just over 3/4 lb, plenty for two. I browned it, then threw it into the crockpot. I avoid soup mixes, so added some dried onion flakes along with the fresh, thyme, paprika, whole peppercorns, a bay leaf, chicken broth instead of water, and a squirt of tomato paste. It made a fantastic gravy. I think adding some mushrooms would also be great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      My 9-year old said, "Awesome!" My 7-year old said, "This is Wonderful; the best food ever!" My husband said, "It's a little peculiar but the more I eat it, the more I like it." I made the recipe exactly, except for using one pound of heart instead of three. Everything else was the same. It was a little salty to me, so I may use less soup mix next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Braised Beef Heart

    Serving Size: 1 (303 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 339.3
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    37%
    Total Fat 14.0 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 281.2 mg
    93%
    Sodium 400.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 41.6 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes