Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Braised Balsamic Chicken With Garlic and Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Braised Balsamic Chicken With Garlic and Onions

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 29, 2011

      I also added mushrooms when adding the onions and used more chicken stock than water. Incredibly awesome and a big hit with the family! The chicken itself was juicy and full of flavour then add on the sauce and WOW!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      This is real good! I took the suggestion of others and added mushrooms and cooked the chicken with the balsamic. I also used a more expensive balsamic as suggested. So thank you to all the reviewers!!!To the recipe I would suggest adding the mushrooms as optional because they really added to it and they were actually my favorite part. Thank you Charmie!!! A definite keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      Definitely a KEEPER! I wish I could give it 20 stars! I didn't do a whole pound of onions (altho' I used two large onions--maybe they weighed a pound?). The whole thing was SIMPLE and EASY to prepare, not to mention DELICIOUS to eat. I'm SO glad that I made extra...now I can enjoy this AGAIN! On the advice of an earlier reviewer, I added about a half-pound of fresh, sliced mushrooms, and that really gave it a nice appearance (not to mention something else to LOVE!). *Made for ZWT 3 Spanish Adventure*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      My dad said this was the best chicken he ever ate! I followed Akillians advice and reached for the best bottle of balsamic vinegar I had. My dad once me to make this one again the next time he visits. Thank you Captain Charmie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      Excellent! I found it fast and easy to prepare. The taste was truely fab. Next time I'll serve with rice to soak up all that delish sauce, and will add mushrooms as well. A definate keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      LOVED this!!!!!!!Next time I'll cook the chicken in the balsamic, too. I also added mushrooms just because we really love them! VERY good recipe!! Will DEFINATELY make again!!! Thanks so much!!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      Superb! I would strongly suggest using a good quality balsamic vinegar. If you don't have it, I might hold off until you can find some. I too, used mushrooms. I actually cooked the chicken in the balsamic as well - and I think the flavor went throughout well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2005

      What is not to like? Onions, garlic, balsamic vinegar--these are 3 of my favorite things. I agree it is soooo flavorful and the aroma is out of this world. Timing is perfect and the chicken is nice and moist.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      This was excellent!!!! I did do like some of the others and cook the chicken in the balsamic vinegar. Also, instead of a full cup of water, I added about 3/4 c of water, 1/4 c white water, 1/4 c balsamic vinegar, and then a splash of liquid chicken bullion. And about 2 tbsp of brown sugar. At the end I mixed about 1 tbsp of corn starch with a splash of water to the cooking liquid to try to thicken up. It was absolutely delicious! I made this with rice and a tomato, pepper, green bean feta salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      This was an easy recipe to follow, and while my husband liked it, I felt there was something missing. It tasted like a "honey/soy" without the honey :) I dont think there is anything wrong with the recipe, I guess I am just not fussed on cooked balsalmic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Edited January 14, 2008. I had to change my rating after making this again. I don't know why it was so much better this time around, but it was outstanding! DH said it was one of the best meals he's ever had! Thanks! Nice results & an easy recipe. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts & I finished it in the oven instead of on the stovetop. I used Okanagan raspberry balsamic vinegar. This will certainly go into the rotation. Thanks, Dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      Simple ingredients and great flavor. I made a few changes based on reading the comments. I used a TBLP of olive oil to brown chicken breasts in; removed breasts and added 2 TBSP of 1/2 fat bacon bits to cook the onions in. When adding the chicken back into skillet I added the balsamic and added 5 oz sliced mushrooms at the same time. At the end I thickened the wonderful sauce with 1 tbsp of flour (mixed with 1/4 cup sauce in a shaker bottle, then poured into skillet). Made a terrific gravy. Leftovers will be served over rice. Excellent entree! I served it with baked broccoli/tomato and sauteed winter squash with maple, and sour dough for sopping up the sauce! Thanks for a wonderful recipe and very explicit directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      FALL PAC 2007: Outstanding!! Restaurant style quality!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      This is my first recipe from this site! It was simple and very delicious. I made a few simple changes: I used beef bacon, boneless skinless chicken breasts and red onions. I figured this would cut down on some of the calories and fat grams. Turned out really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      Easy, fast and very good. I also used sliced mushrooms and am glad I did and cooked the chicken and veggies with the balsamic vinegar for the last 30 minutes instead of adding it at the end. I'm sure this will be even better as leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      Very good! Made fabulous sandwiches the next day with the leftovers on toasted sourdough bread. We won't make this often due to the high fat content, but will be a treat every now and then. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Delicious, we loved it! I used 5 large chicken thighs and added some mushrooms to the onions and garlic. The sauce was very tasty. Will definitely make again. Made for ZWT III.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      For me this dish had too much fat in it. My boys thought this dish was good but for me and my DH we thought other wish. That was why I chose to rate this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Braised Balsamic Chicken With Garlic and Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 253.6
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    53%
    Total Fat 15.1 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 62.1 mg
    20%
    Sodium 126.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 16.5 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites