19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I also added mushrooms when adding the onions and used more chicken stock than water. Incredibly awesome and a big hit with the family! The chicken itself was juicy and full of flavour then add on the sauce and WOW!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nymphadora Tonks March 29, 2011

This is real good! I took the suggestion of others and added mushrooms and cooked the chicken with the balsamic. I also used a more expensive balsamic as suggested. So thank you to all the reviewers!!!To the recipe I would suggest adding the mushrooms as optional because they really added to it and they were actually my favorite part. Thank you Charmie!!! A definite keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mommie June 12, 2007

Definitely a KEEPER! I wish I could give it 20 stars! I didn't do a whole pound of onions (altho' I used two large onions--maybe they weighed a pound?). The whole thing was SIMPLE and EASY to prepare, not to mention DELICIOUS to eat. I'm SO glad that I made extra...now I can enjoy this AGAIN! On the advice of an earlier reviewer, I added about a half-pound of fresh, sliced mushrooms, and that really gave it a nice appearance (not to mention something else to LOVE!). *Made for ZWT 3 Spanish Adventure*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debber June 01, 2007

My dad said this was the best chicken he ever ate! I followed Akillians advice and reached for the best bottle of balsamic vinegar I had. My dad once me to make this one again the next time he visits. Thank you Captain Charmie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog May 29, 2007

Excellent! I found it fast and easy to prepare. The taste was truely fab. Next time I'll serve with rice to soak up all that delish sauce, and will add mushrooms as well. A definate keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becca- B July 09, 2006

LOVED this!!!!!!!Next time I'll cook the chicken in the balsamic, too. I also added mushrooms just because we really love them! VERY good recipe!! Will DEFINATELY make again!!! Thanks so much!!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildflour April 11, 2006

Superb! I would strongly suggest using a good quality balsamic vinegar. If you don't have it, I might hold off until you can find some. I too, used mushrooms. I actually cooked the chicken in the balsamic as well - and I think the flavor went throughout well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 January 11, 2006

What is not to like? Onions, garlic, balsamic vinegar--these are 3 of my favorite things. I agree it is soooo flavorful and the aroma is out of this world. Timing is perfect and the chicken is nice and moist.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG October 25, 2005

This was excellent!!!! I did do like some of the others and cook the chicken in the balsamic vinegar. Also, instead of a full cup of water, I added about 3/4 c of water, 1/4 c white water, 1/4 c balsamic vinegar, and then a splash of liquid chicken bullion. And about 2 tbsp of brown sugar. At the end I mixed about 1 tbsp of corn starch with a splash of water to the cooking liquid to try to thicken up. It was absolutely delicious! I made this with rice and a tomato, pepper, green bean feta salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FallnXangel June 03, 2009

This was an easy recipe to follow, and while my husband liked it, I felt there was something missing. It tasted like a "honey/soy" without the honey :) I dont think there is anything wrong with the recipe, I guess I am just not fussed on cooked balsalmic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills January 24, 2008
Braised Balsamic Chicken With Garlic and Onions