Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Braised Baby Bok Choy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Braised Baby Bok Choy

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 22, 2010

      well - I sprang for all the ingredients and used most of my garden harvest of bok choy. When you stir fry in oil first, it seals the greens, and the sauce just slips off, doesn't permeate. I put the sauce on the fish I served with it instead and all enjoyed. The bok choy was nice even without sauce, just stir fried in the oils!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      This bok choy recipe is so good. And so easy to make. The sauce was perfect and traditional-tasting. Instead of cornstarch I used arrowroot, and I added three sliced-up green onions to the stir fry. I served it over steamed jasmine rice. Delicious. I will make this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Very good! I love collecting ways to prepare one of my favorite veggies--bok choy. I added a sprinkle or two of red pepper flakes to kick it up a notch. Turned out very yummy. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      simple, light and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      This was great. Followed exactly. Easy to make. Just got everything ready before hand. Very tasty and now I have a recipe for Bok Choy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      This is a delicious dish thank you. Jewelies cooked it for us tonight along ith lamb shanks and wasabi mashed potatoes. It was a perfect match for both these dishes and I plan to make it myself soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      really excellent...next time I will add chicken or shrimp and call it a meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      What a nice change of pace. We all loved it, and even used the sauce to dip our lumpia in. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      We loved, loved, loved this recipe. Before we finished eating, we were already planning to use the sauce to stir fry asparagus, other misc vegetables, and sliced chicken breast. This is the perfect stir fry sauce, and so easy. I didn't have oyster sauce so I did without (I saw one reviewer say he didn't have it and substituted fish sauce but darn it I forgot to do that!), nor did I have sweet soy sauce, so I added a tsp of sugar. I also used double strength stock, which I almost always do in recipes, as we tend to like strong flavors in our dishes. Anyway, this was really good and I highly recommend it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      Delicious! I did not use oyster sauce and it was still good. I can't wait to make it again, with the oyster sauce. Thank you Emjay99.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      This is really lovely. For us I wanted to make it into a meal so I doubled the sauce and added about 350 grams of finely sliced rump steak. I cooked the rump first. Then took it out and added it back to the wok at the end of stage 4. Definite make again meal for us. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      I like this and very easy to prepare. I didn't read the instructions and put everything into the marinade inc garlic and oil. I don't like ginger so left it out. Will definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2004

      A keeper! I used a dozen baby baby bok choy to serve 2 but kept the rest of the ingredient measurements the same. I omitted oyster sauce but added 1/2 tsp fish sauce. I used Bragg (an unfermented soy sauce) seasoning in place of the Indonesian sauce. The hoisin sauce comes through nicely. And the best part, it's soooo easy and soooo good!! Served with baked fish fillets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2004

      This was really good. Now I have to find other recipes to use Oyster sauce and ketjap manis. I love bok choy. Maybe I'll just make that every night. Lee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2004

      Delicious and easy recipe! I couldn't find any ketjap manis in our local stores so I used the soy sauce and sugar substitution. Both my DH and I loved this and I'll make it whenever I can get the baby bok choy. Thanks, Emjay99, for a real keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      Absolutely delicious. I love Bok Choy and served with this sauce was a real taste sensation. I have a bottle of thick sweet soy sauce which I used in place of the ketjap manis (its very likely to be the same thing) Will make this again, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Braised Baby Bok Choy

    Serving Size: 1 (68 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 54.7
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    47%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 1.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 269.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ketjap manis

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites