Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Braised Artichokes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Braised Artichokes

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2001

      This recipe is great for a different appetizer or first course whatever your diet. You can easily eliminate butter to cut a few fat calories, but it's worth the splurge. Love to dip leaves into resulting broth. Artichokes are most tender cooked this way. After the prep work is completed, there's little to do. I didn't remove choke - but that's a nice touch. I would love to try several different herbs to augment the parsley. Great recipe for family or dinner party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2001

      I will never boil artichokes again. This to me is the only way to eat an artichoke without loosing the potent nutritional value it holds. The wine is an essential ingredient in this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2002

      WOW!!!!!!This was an amazing recipe!!!!! I have always steamed artichokes in plain water, but never again. The garlic placed in the leaves adds a wonderful flavor. I marinaded the artichokes a day ahead of time. We like to dip our chokes in butter, and we added some of the braising sauce, umm,umm good. They were so tender they almost melted in your mouth!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      WOW! I'll never make artichokes the same way again, this is our new favorite! I added a little garlic salt to the tops of the artichokes and served it with mayo pepper (mayo mixed with a ton of ground pepper) and it was SOOOO GOOD!! I'd give this 10 stars if I could, thanks for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2002

      This is a very flavorful way to serve artichokes - so much better than steaming or boiling. Enjoyed it very much! Excellent as a light meal with a salad and crusty bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      After having something similar in a restaurant I'd been searching for a recipe like this for a long time! Delicious! The only change I made was using 4 small artichokes instead of 2 large. I also mixed the sauce with some mayo to make a super yummy dipping sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      I actually cut the artichoke in half and cooked in a saute pan with a cover. The flavor is incredible!! I have been making artichokes for years and don't really like the stuffed version and always feel guilty about dipping in butter...these are awesome with the cooking broth!! Thank you so much for sharing and this will be my new always use recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      I saw artichokes in the store and thought I'd give them a try. I've never cooked fresh artichokes, so I wasn't clear on exactly what a choke was and even how to eat one. The following site helped me figure out how to clean and eat these things: http://foodblogga.blogspot.com/2008/04/how-to-clean-cook-and-eat-artichoke.html I just ate with dinner and will try the left over artichokes after a day or so in the fridge. I'm still not 100% sold on artichokes, but they seemed to cook up well with this recipe and they tasted OK. The braising sauce by itself seemed to lack flavor. Didn't try making a hollandaise sauce from it, but the sauce was fairly bland on it's own & the hollandaise may have helped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      I love this flavorful recipe, and the braising sauce is a much better dip than butter or mayo. Thanks so much Josette! Update: this works well with a dried herb blend, Herbs De Provence. Also, I cook them for 30 minutes, then turn them upside down for another 20-30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      This is great. I too was looking for something besides your normal steaming, broiling and stuffing. The kids that love hollandaise sauce should love this sauce. Really great. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      This is very good if you are looking for a change, but it does sort of tone down the artichoke flavor. DH and I thought it was fine, but DD was sorely disappointed that I had adulterated her beloved plain steamed artichokes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2005

      VERY GOOD! I cooked my extra large artichokes for 45 minutes, and it was a little too long but they were still tastey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

    • on March 16, 2003

      Thank you for coming up with this recipe!! I couldn't follow it exactly but it was still a wonderful way to prepare artichokes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2003

      I really liked this method of cooking artichokes. I put a little (purchased) Hollandaise sauce in the center after removing the choke and poured the liquid over all. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      I have a stupid question.... Do you put them in the fridge after cooking them or before? Loved the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2001

      this is great. a perfect sauce for dipping the leaves in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Braised Artichokes

    Serving Size: 1 (478 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 460.2
     
    Calories from Fat 355
    77%
    Total Fat 39.4 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 11.2 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 632.5 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    35%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites