17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is great for a different appetizer or first course whatever your diet. You can easily eliminate butter to cut a few fat calories, but it's worth the splurge. Love to dip leaves into resulting broth. Artichokes are most tender cooked this way. After the prep work is completed, there's little to do. I didn't remove choke - but that's a nice touch. I would love to try several different herbs to augment the parsley. Great recipe for family or dinner party.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeanine Marcucci May 02, 2001

I will never boil artichokes again. This to me is the only way to eat an artichoke without loosing the potent nutritional value it holds. The wine is an essential ingredient in this recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Todd Gilligan October 17, 2001

WOW!!!!!!This was an amazing recipe!!!!! I have always steamed artichokes in plain water, but never again. The garlic placed in the leaves adds a wonderful flavor. I marinaded the artichokes a day ahead of time. We like to dip our chokes in butter, and we added some of the braising sauce, umm,umm good. They were so tender they almost melted in your mouth!!!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia Chandler April 18, 2002

WOW! I'll never make artichokes the same way again, this is our new favorite! I added a little garlic salt to the tops of the artichokes and served it with mayo pepper (mayo mixed with a ton of ground pepper) and it was SOOOO GOOD!! I'd give this 10 stars if I could, thanks for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilmsbritches April 30, 2010

This is a very flavorful way to serve artichokes - so much better than steaming or boiling. Enjoyed it very much! Excellent as a light meal with a salad and crusty bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny233 October 09, 2002

After having something similar in a restaurant I'd been searching for a recipe like this for a long time! Delicious! The only change I made was using 4 small artichokes instead of 2 large. I also mixed the sauce with some mayo to make a super yummy dipping sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofie-a-toast March 05, 2012

I actually cut the artichoke in half and cooked in a saute pan with a cover. The flavor is incredible!! I have been making artichokes for years and don't really like the stuffed version and always feel guilty about dipping in butter...these are awesome with the cooking broth!! Thank you so much for sharing and this will be my new always use recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandra S. February 14, 2010

I saw artichokes in the store and thought I'd give them a try. I've never cooked fresh artichokes, so I wasn't clear on exactly what a choke was and even how to eat one. The following site helped me figure out how to clean and eat these things: http://foodblogga.blogspot.com/2008/04/how-to-clean-cook-and-eat-artichoke.html I just ate with dinner and will try the left over artichokes after a day or so in the fridge. I'm still not 100% sold on artichokes, but they seemed to cook up well with this recipe and they tasted OK. The braising sauce by itself seemed to lack flavor. Didn't try making a hollandaise sauce from it, but the sauce was fairly bland on it's own & the hollandaise may have helped.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan in Raleigh, NC December 13, 2008

I love this flavorful recipe, and the braising sauce is a much better dip than butter or mayo. Thanks so much Josette! Update: this works well with a dried herb blend, Herbs De Provence. Also, I cook them for 30 minutes, then turn them upside down for another 20-30 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Reader April 22, 2008

This is great. I too was looking for something besides your normal steaming, broiling and stuffing. The kids that love hollandaise sauce should love this sauce. Really great. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri Leyendecker May 01, 2006
Braised Artichokes