9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I didn't find this recipe here - instead from my 2003 Collection from SL. Nonetheless, it is amazing. The original recipe calls for 8 bone-in thighs, weighing a total of 2 lbs. I substituted thighs and one half breast, all boneless, which weighed a total of 1.75 lbs. Followed all other instructions and served over rice with a corn pudding (Barefoot Contessa w/adaptations) as the side. Great meal for a cold, clear night. 5 stars all around if you include the simplicity of prep.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefjen November 19, 2004

I prepared this recipe for 100 people for our family reunion. I also used bone-in thighs, but I removed the skin and braised them first. I then made the sauce, poured it over the chicken thighs and marinated them overnight. The next day I removed them from the sauce and put them in my roaster. I thickened the sauce and then poured it over the chicken. I then roasted it slowly in my roaster oven until the chicken was done. It was outstanding! I served it along with Oven Baked White Rice, Perfect Every Time!, Oven Baked White Rice, Perfect Every Time!. It was a fabulous combination for a large crowd. I will use both of these recipes again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandyAtHOME August 20, 2005

This was delicious! The first bite I took I was like oh my gosh this is good! I used all pineapple juice from a can of crushed pineapples, so 1 cup pineapple juice, used 1 1/2 tsp of ground ginger (because 1/4 tsp of ground ginger equals 1 tsp of minced fresh ginger), then put the green onions in with the rest of the sauce. I thought it was a tad too pineappley for me so I added another 2 TBSP soy sauce, 2 TBSP brown sugar, 1 TBSP ketchup, 1 TBSP cider vinegar, 1/2 tsp jarred minced garlic, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper, and 1/2 tsp ground ginger. I cooked it just like it said too and it was some of the best chicken I've ever had. I only had my sister and myself to cook for so I can't wait to let others try this! *Update* I cooked this again for the rest of my family, and they loved it. Also, This recipe could easily be used to cook a 3 lb bag of chicken thighs, but if you want extra sauce for rice or something, you could use less chicken. (Over rice was delicious).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thirdsplease May 31, 2012

mmm..mmm..this is such a great recipe! Practically the only meal everyone in my family likes! I have also used the sauce on pork chops as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelfyre #2 October 28, 2008

Hate to ruin the shut-out. The cooking technique for the chicken DID result in a very nice texture but the sauce was ho-hum; kind of a botched sweet-and-sour sauce rather than "barbeque". It took a lot of starch to thicken--maybe I had watery chicken. DW wishes I had done oven-BBQ with a bottled sauce instead. P.S. I used a healthy shot of habanero sauce for my 2nd serving and really liked it--DW (non-chile-head) won't be asking for this again tho.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SpicyDoc January 07, 2006

went together easily. I did tip off the oil after browning the chicken. I didnt have pineapple juice, so I used 2 tablespoons crushed pineapple, and the texture was very good. I served this with mashed pots and broccoli, will try it with rice, though I think the sauce is a little strong for that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills November 06, 2005

Excellent! I bought bone-in chicken thighs and removed the skin. I recommend mixing everything together because the first half of the recipe goes fast. I needed the cornstarch to thicken to sauce, so I would recommend setting it aside in case you need it. If you cook over high enough heat the sugar will caramelize w/o the cornstarch but the flavor is better if you simmer as the recipe states and then add the cornstarch at the end to thicken the sauce. It also saves your pans. As for flavor, I thought this dish would have an Asian flavor but it didn't. I served it with potato salad and baked beans and it was a very good meal! The real beauty of this dish is that you can serve with baked beans and potato salad or serve it with stir-fry veggies and rice. It is very versatile! A must try! Highly recommended!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy November 06, 2005

This chicken is delicious! I have made it twice in two days, last night for my boss and her husband and tonight for my husband and myself. I found that I didn't need to use the cornstarch mixture, the sauce thickened up quite nicely on it's own, both times. I forgot to sprinkle the onions on top before I shot the photo. oops! We both enjoyed this very much. Easy to put together, using simple ingredients, this is something I know I will make often. Thanks! Oh yes, I served it with stuffed baked potatoes and stir fry vegs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarieRynr October 29, 2005

I used bone-in skinless thighs and the same cooking time. No ginger - dh doesn't like it. They turned out perfect. So moist and tender; incredible flavour!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuisinebymae February 27, 2005
Braised and Barbecued Chicken Thighs