Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Braided Sweet Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Braided Sweet Bread

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2012

      I've never made bread before and chose to try it out. I chose this recipe and am so happy I did! My husband loves it and says it was the best bread he has ever had. Thats pretty good since he is a bread connoisseur! I am going to make this recipe a tradition in my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      I added some red food coloring and made it into 2 heart shaped breads for valentine's day, then drizzled them with a light strawberry glaze. They turned out lovely and was a big hit with my daughter! Used my bread machine to make the dough, so it was really simple and fun to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Wonderful and easy recipe. I have made this three times now and each time I get better at braiding! I do a four strand braid (I think it looks prettier). Though, this tastes so good out of the oven that the taste pales when it's been out of the oven for more than a couple of hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      I thought this bread was amazing! I have been looking for a recipe that taste like a steakhouse yeasted bread, and this is it!!! I changed the sugar though, to 1/2 cup honey. I wouldn't stack the bread as is done in the picture. It won't bake all the way through but, brown too fast because of the egg wash. Inside was perfectly tender and sweet, and the outside was a perfect shiny golden brown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      Very tasty and easy to make!! My whole family enjoyed this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      In the 1960's my grandmother would bring us Parker House rolls from Horn and Hardnet in NYC. I have tried to make these and they never tasted anything like the ones she would bring. When I tasted this bread it bought back many memories and I'll make this often. I'll even recreate the rolls I loved so much using this dough. I brushed melted butter along with the eggs to keep the top a bit softer. Next time I will reduce the temperature to 325 as the bottom of the bread was too brown, almost burnt. yumm...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I have made this multiple times and every time people RAVE about it! It is best served fresh & warm, otherwise it dries out quickly. I've also made them in 9x9 pans as dinner rolls (good for portion-conscious people)...they're great with meals, as toast with jelly, or just plain! It has the perfect amount of sugar (I've also sub. honey)- this will become a family recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      What a nice bread...i upped the sugar a wee bit and added some cardamom and nutmeg as well as another 3/4 cup of flour - otherwise it was just to sticky to work with. Rather than form braided loaves, i fashioned it into smaller sticks, brushed w/melted butter and doused w/cinnamon sugar. after baking (which, oh my - what an aroma!) i drizzled them with a cream cheese frosting glaze. they are quite delicious - especially w/coffee!! thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      This bread is one of my family`s favorite.Simple to make and very tasty.When ever I make this reipe,I just add some raisins.It`s more enjoyed when still lukewarm, smeared with butter,honey,fruit jam or jellys.I also serve this for breakfast.Jummy.........

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      This was VERY good, but this just wasn't IT for me. I"m still looking for something even chewier and sweeter. But so far this is my favorite recipe. Easy, clear and accurate directions, a delicately sweet bread. I used half whole wheat and half white. Turned out just fluffy and fine and lovely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      I was a bit reluctant about this recipe because it seemed so darn simple. The whole time I was making it, I was certain I was missing information. This turned out EXCELLENT!!! The other reviewers said their bottoms burned, so I baked mine on a stone. Turned out PERFECT! My family just loved the finished product so much they fought over the last bite!! This is an excellent, EXCELLENT recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      I absolutely looved this one! I did not worry about burning the bread, since that I have cooked with my stove so much to have gotten to really know "her" style of cooking. My stove bakes/cooks faster, so I always have a look out on breads and such. They came out wonderful and sooo tastey!! I made 4 braids and shared them with friends. Every baker/cook needs to know their oven's style for cooking. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2005

      I only have two things I didn't like about this:first I didn't like how heavy the dough became, and the bottom also blackened easily when it was baked. otherwise, not too shabby!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2004

      I really enjoyed making this bread, and I found it a good way to get back into the making of it. A bit more instruction on rolling the bread might have been handy and I found that even 25 minutes (in my admittedly new oven) blackened the bottom... Though I can't say it's not the sugar. But definitely delicious! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2004

      Very Yummy!! I liked it and it was so easy!!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2003

      This bread was wonderful. Time consuming to make, but wonderful. I thought it would have been a little sweeter, so next time I think I will add a little more sugar. I made this to go along with cold cuts for my son's birthday party and it was perfect for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2002

      I'm not sure, but I think this is the sweet bread recipe which I grew up with. Now, anyone have a poppyseed filling recipe to add to this? (Just flatten the bread, spoon poppyseed filling over it all but one inch from the ends, roll then bake.) That's what my family called Poppyseed Kuchen. It was a filled sweet bread, not a cake. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2002

      I would say YUM if my mouth wasn't full of this delicious bread.It was easy enough to make, the hard part is waiting for it bake.I was able to get 7 pieces of dough instead of the 6 so I used that to make a mini braid for the kids.They loved that idea.I say try this with some honey butter and you'll be coming back for more.Thanks MandA!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Braided Sweet Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1209 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1584.5
     
    Calories from Fat 313
    19%
    Total Fat 34.8 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 118.6 mg
    39%
    Sodium 2144.0 mg
    89%
    Total Carbohydrate 275.0 g
    91%
    Dietary Fiber 8.5 g
    34%
    Sugars 50.7 g
    202%
    Protein 39.9 g
    79%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites