70 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband declared this the best recipe on food.com. Delicious!!! I used andouille sausage.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover October 26, 2011

I made this for the 2nd time tonight and I have to say I love it! The first time I halfed the amount of pasta and added some asparagus I had to use up at the end of cooking time just to get it tender enough to eat. It was great - both DH and DS (2.5 years old) ate 2 helpings! The second time I made it, I used the full amount of pasta but should have used only half. I added broccoli this time and I added some garlic powder and italian seasonings, I only had about a cup of cream, so I used that and the rest 2% milk. I also only had 1 can of italian seasoned tomatoes so I used that and 1 can of just plain diced tomatoes. It was great again! Both DH and DS ate two helpings again! This is a keeper! Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FKHamer December 18, 2011

Very nice recipe. A few changes but nothing that impacted the flavor. I used a mix of hot and sweet Italian sausage, it was what I had on hand and I removed it from the casing and cooked it. I didn't break it up that much and left it in pretty large chunks. I did add a bit more onion (personal taste) I love onion. I used the heavy cream, garlic, etc, but I did add 1 tablespoon fresh basil to the sauce. I love fresh herbs. It thickened up nicely with the heavy cream. Half and Half or milk just will not thicken like heavy cream. Also adding the pasta to the sauce will thicken up the sauce naturally.

It turned out great. I garnished with a little extra parsley and pecorino romano for a little tang. I loved it. Definitely make again.

Two notes. Get heavy cream as the recipe calls for and good tomatoes and fresh herbs. That really makes the recipe.

Thx for a nice quick easy recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook August 24, 2010

I have made this twice now. Both times I used 2% milk instead of cream. The first time I used a can of diced tomatoes and the sauce turned pink due to the tomato juice-- it looked WEIRD but tasted great! Next time I followed the directions with the tomatoes and I didnt like it as much because there was not enough sauce. Will be making again (with the diced tomatoes).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
College Gal July 12, 2008

We LOVED this, sbsbea! Thanks for the recommendation. I subbed mushrooms for the sausage as you suggested (we don't eat meat and fiance is sensitive to seafood.) Also, I used half and half instead of heavy cream for the sauce, out of dietary guilt. Finally, I did take Boca's suggestion and add some white whine--I did this to deglaze the pan when the mushrooms and red pepper flakes were cooking. Fabulous meal. We'll make this many times.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock February 15, 2004

I love this meal. It has turned into one of our favorites. I use hot italian sausage, instead of kielbasa(personal preference)and I also add about 1/2 cup chianti. This is true comfort food for me. Thanks for sharing, sbsbea

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boca Pat February 06, 2004

The flavours in this dish are awesome! I only decided to make this for tonights dinner about lunchtime and the quick trip I made to the closest supermarket had no kielbasa, so I improvised and bought 1 Rookworst. I also bought a ciabatta loaf and heated it for 5 minutes, it was a great slop up the juices tool! Delicious, thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* January 05, 2004

so easy and surprisingly delicious. made it for my brother who loves kielbasa. I don't care for it, but we all enjoyed this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLamen May 15, 2015

Very good! I made this tonight (made it awhile ago) and came back to post a new review with a pic. I used a can of San Marzano tomatoes, which I chopped up inside the can with a kitchen scissors then added to the pan. Topped with some fresh parsley and basil from the garden and fresh grated Asiago cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook September 11, 2014
Bow Ties With Sausage, Tomato, and Cream