16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good recipe, however I did "jazz" it up a bit, used four chicken breasts, diced, cooked two diced onions with the diced red bell pepper until the onions were browned, tossed the chicken with some flour/salt/pepper/thyme, then cooked in the pan, added the onion/peppers, added the mushrooms, then a large can of diced tomatoes, a bit of white wine and tons of spinach at the very end .

Made a cream sauce using: butter/with two cloves of garlic, then added some flour to make a rue, then added chicken stock, then added non fat half and half, cooked a bit, then added thyme, salt/pepper, cooked until it was thick and then added about a cup or parmesan cheese.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JHeffner December 28, 2010

I wish I had of read the reviews before making this. I would probably add what other reviewers had suggested or added sundried tomatoes, more garlic or a prepared pesto to it for a punch of flavor. I'll be making this again but will make additions to it next time. It was overall a good, filling dish that made tons. I had some the next two days for lunch and it was even better after the flavors had blended. Love the way it was quick to make too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happycampermama September 02, 2012

This was a quick easy Tuesday night dinner. Like the previous reviewer, I would add some other ingredients to jazz it up if I make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta April 12, 2011

I'm afraid we did not care for this dish at all. We found it extremely bland. I love all the ingredients but it was just lacking a depth of flavor. Not a keeper for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissMarla March 01, 2009

My family and I really liked this flavorful dish. We did alter it a bit, but the recipe itself is great. We added roasted red peppers and mushrooms. We substituted cream of mushroom soup for the chicken broth; and to make it go further (we are on a budget and try to get two meals out of one) we added a can of white beans. We loved the textures of this dish and will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheflady00 January 25, 2009

Oh man, oh man! This might be my favorite pasta dish ever now! I did change and add things, such as, instead of chicken broth, I used a can of mushroom soup, I also added fresh basil and chopped fresh tomatoes. Oh, and a weird addition was diced potatoes. And I topped it with cilantro, green onion, sour cream, and parmesan cheese. So, it turned out kind of weird, but in a super tasty way! Oh, and red pepper flakes out the wazoo. Yumtacular!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kyene January 09, 2009

This taste great and it is easy to make.What could be better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jinglesmom August 25, 2008

A colorful, healthy combination that I spiced up a bit with crushed red pepper. I'd find a few more ways to perk up the flavor next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea May 10, 2008

found I could eat this on weight watchers points plan, I omitted the love oil and used leeks instead of spinach and no parsley but it was tasty. I used campbells condensed chicken soup (the 99% fat free version) which was really tasty and quite creamy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacey-Jane January 27, 2008

We liked this but will need to make some more modifications in order to make it again. I thought it was a little plain and may add some chili peppers and lemon zest to kick it up a bit. I did almost triple the garlic the first go around as well. I like the idea of adding mushrooms as well. Thanks for posting a good base to start with!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyaos January 05, 2008
Bow Ties With Chicken and Spinach