59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Was really excited for this but it was bland, boiling the broccoli made my house smell foul and I tossed out the rest after eating a bowl. Added what appeared to be a handful of garlic salt but it couldn't save it. I'm happy that others have had luck with it though! Didn't want to give it 1 star but since I actually tossed leftovers I think it qualifies.. .

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain February 17, 2011

Pureeing the broccoli was a bit too much. Too salty, too. Take the salt out of the equation. And less butter, too. It was...just not satisfying. The taste was off and nothing really came together with this. It lacks something to tie it all together, and more broccoli isn't the answer. Not a good one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
salvinian June 22, 2010

I really wanted to like this recipe. I thought it would be a light, basic dish, but found it to be rather bland. Even after adding chopped red peppers, fresh black pepper, and fresh parm-reg, I found it wanting "something."

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cali March 29, 2010

this was ok for us. We all like broccoli but it needed more seasoning. Thank you for posting, I will make again, just adding a little.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 02, 2010

Somehow we did not really enjoy it that much... Sorry

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ayame June 22, 2010

I cooked the stems in chicken stock. Did not need to use the pasta water. My husband added some Parmesan to his second helping. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama April 12, 2010

I loved this. So very simple but loaded with flavor. I cooked my pasta in my new fasta pasta microwave cooker (couldn't live without this new gadget). Microwaved broccoli for 5 minutes then added butter, garlic salt and parmesan cheese. Mixed hot pasta right in the pasta fasta container and voila..done. Love these simple side dishes that need to be made quick and easy. Served with grilled chicken and roasted green beans. I didn't bother pureeing the broccoli either. Just chopped it small enough to microwave and I was ready. No muss, no fuss. I sure didn't want the clean up from pureeing even though I sure it would have distributed the broccoli flavor more thoroughly but when you want something quick...this was definitely my shortcut. Thanks. What would I do without Recipe Zaar?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Cameo April 11, 2010

Why didn't I know about this until now? Great combo of flavors...somehow the broccoli mellows quite a bit when paired with the pasta. Healthy & quick! Love this recipe and it even got my picky kids' approval. I added garlic salt, olive oil, tossed with salt and pepper and topped with freshly grated parmesan. Didn't even bother pureeing the broccoli mixture...it just blended right in with the pasta and cooked the Italian way as described by bbh's review. I'm sure it is equally good prepared the other way. Still glow-in-the- dark happy that my kids at broccoli and LIKED it. This is genius!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Epi Curious April 05, 2010

I love reading Rozanne Gold's cookbooks -they never fail to amaze me. Italians make this a little differently. Put the water on to boil - chop the broccoli into small pieces. When water boils dump in the pasta and the broccoli right on top of it a few minutes later. When pasta and broccoli are al dente drain, toss with salt and pepper, garlic salt, olive oil and grated parmesan. Very delicious, fast, and nutritious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbh April 04, 2010
Bow Tie Pasta With Broccoli and Broccoli Sauce