31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I can not say how happy I am to have found and tried this recipe! Tastes like boursin! One of my faves, and now I can fix it at home! I only made half the recipe, but I have a feeling that some of my friends may be receiving this with their holiday goodies this year. Thanks so much for sharing, Elly!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl November 20, 2010

What a money-saver! This tastes just like the commercial stuff, at a fraction of the cost. It's super easy, too. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl February 05, 2011

You suggested I use your recipe in leiu of garlic and cream cheese (that I couldn't find) in a recipe I was doing. Thank you so much, I absolutely loved this recipe. A restaurant in town puts this on their burgers, yummy! Thank you for suggesting this in the Q & A forum.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill February 03, 2005

Elly! I thought I reviewed this earlier, but may-be not. In any case, I will now.
I love this, and it is so easy. Easy to play with the herbs and such a treat and
everyone in my family has asked for this to be in our appy favourites. I made it
once with commercial cream cheese and once with my homemade ricotta, and it
is lovely.
And, if you are making a lettuce and tomato sandwich, and you use a generous
smear of this cheese, you will love it!
Thanks Elly!
Beachie

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barefoot Beachcomber October 24, 2010

What a simple and inexpensive way to have a product that is so expensive to buy! I used fresh herbs but used quite a bit more than the recipe called for. (Looking through the recipes on this site they all seemed to have about the same amount of herbs but it just seemed to me that they wouldn't give enough flavour). Next time I would up the herbs even more. I used light cream cheese in a vain attempt to pretend that this wasn't as unhealthy as it is. But it sure did taste good and makes a really nice treat once in a while.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paja April 25, 2010

This is amazing!!! I made it to go in a recipe for Mac n cheese bites, but I know this would be great with crackers or veggies! So much flavor! Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bebeboy03 May 26, 2012

For years I made my own "boursin" and it was a big favorite in my family. But in the process of making several moves to increasingly smaller living spaces, my recipe vanished! I am so delighted to have found this one, which I think is identical. At least it measures up to the recipe I had used for so long. Thank you, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellarbee2 December 18, 2011

Absolutely delicious and addictive! I still have some leftover and will try with carrot slices. I ate way too many crackers with this cheese because it was so good. My husband does not even like cream cheese but loved this even knowing that the cream cheese was in it. Perfect flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katobow June 28, 2011

I was making Boursin scalloped potatoes, but had to figure out a way to make them for a guest who is allergic to dairy, so I was happy to find this recipe. Butter doesn't bother her, so I just substituted the cream cheese with Tofutti "Better Than Cream Cheese" and it worked great. Thanks for sharing your recipe for Boursin!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyjaypee1 February 03, 2011

Fabulous recipe, so easy and so tasty too! I brought this to a family Christmas function and everyone raved about it. I served it with crackers and melba rounds. So glad I found this recipe, it's great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ December 20, 2010
Boursin Cheese - Make Your Own Homemade - Substitute, Clone