Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Boursin Cheese (Homemade) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Boursin Cheese (Homemade)

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2009

      When I first started cooking, I used this same recipe (only with much larger measuring units) for Stuffed Mushroom Marinara although I omitted the marjoram. I cooked at a four-star restaurant, and it was such a hit. Clients were always asking us about the "delicious stuff" in the mushrooms. They had no idea that is so inexpensive to make. We also used it to spread on flat breads and even put a bit in the French Onion Soup. This recipe is GREAT! I use it for everything now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      I have made this many times and love this recipe! So much less expensive than the premade stuff! I have found it keeps well in the refrigerator too. Great to have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      Can you stand another rave review of this recipe? Simply fabulous! I needed some Boursin for a recipe, but couldn't find any here in our small town. It's times like these, I'm thankful for Zaar (Food. com) contributors. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      LOVE this stuff! The fresh parmesan and parsley really kick it up. I usually add a bit more garlic and sometimes I use an asiago or mixed cheese blend if that is what I have on hand. It always comes out tasty, whether I am using it in a recipe or just for snacking. Thanks for posting, Ev! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Delicious, Evelyn, simply delicious. It tastes very similar to Boursin. I loved it. Quick and easy to make. Very easy to halve. I made enough for myself to have a tasty sandwich. I used a good quality fresh vienneise bun, Caliente Salami and your boursin recipe. What a terrific lunch it made. Thanks for sharing. Made for Pool Party Tag :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      OMG. I just made this for Christmas Eve and had to taste it. Delicious. My family is going to go crazy when they taste this! Much better than store bought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      I took this recipe to my first meeting of the women's fishing club (called the Fishin' Chics) and it was a hit. They requested it for distribution to the other members. I think I used twice the amount of garlic cloves. I pounded the garlic with a meat pounder and mixed everything in step 3 in a food processor. Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2005

      MMM! This is my 2nd recipe for boursin cheese I have made off this site and I have to say, the addition of parmesan cheese was really superb! I had to sub white pepper for black but that is the only sub I made. Thanks evelyn..I will be making this often. Its great on roast beef sandwiches:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2004

      Good stuff! It tastes newer and crisper than the box. I really loved it1

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      this is a very tasty and inexpensive version of boursin that i will be making often. it tastes just like the original for 1/5 of the price. thanks ev.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      I found this recipe while browsing and OH Boy is it great. The only problem was the cloves of garlic were large and I should only used one clove---it's garlicky. The next time I'll only use one clove if they are large. I LOVE boursin and this is a keeper. Good job!!! Thank you for a jo0b well done.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

      We make this for family gatherings all the time. So much less expensive than buying the store bought type and it tastes exactly the same. If anything, it's tastier. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      I have made this several times, it is a fabulous cheese spread that tastes very similar to Boursin. This time used only half of the butter amount and substituted the other half with Ricotta to make it a little lower in kalories. Worked great, couldn't tell the difference. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, evelyn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      Alright I have to add another, 10 star review!!!! AMAZING! It is so expensive to buy Boursin and now I'll never have to again!! Thank you, thank you, thank you evelyn/athens !!!!! Must try it stuffed in mushrooms, mmmmmmm

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      I used this recipe as a substitute for the boursin cheese called for in Bacon Wrapped Boursin Stuffed Chicken Breasts - a Deux! It was wonderful! I prepared 12 chicken breasts and still had some of the cheese left over. I made the chicken ahead of time and froze it. I then thawed and baked some of it for for Mother's Day. I would certainly recommend this recipe and would not hesitate to use it again. Everyone loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      This stuff is great. I used all dried seasonings instead of fresh because it's the middle of winter and I have no garden available and 1/2 tsp. garlic powder instead of the clove. I let it sit overnight in the frig and served this on a toasted everything bagel. This will for sure be getting made again. Thanks for this fast easy and tasty recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      And . . . here's another rave review. I joined this board just so I could add my voice - this is an absolutely fabulous recipe. I served it on French bread toasts and, as suggested, with Cooking Light's Tomato-Basil soup.The soup was OK, but the toasts were out of this world!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Tasty! Not quite boursin, but still good. Made a half recipe. Be sure to give plenty time to let it sit out to room temp before serving. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      EXCELLENT! My son and his partner were home from NY and they ate over half of it themselves! Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      I thought this was delicious! I had to try a couple before putting in the frig. to chill. What a great appetizer with crackers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Boursin Cheese (Homemade)

    Serving Size: 1 (712 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1087.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1032
    94%
    Total Fat 114.6 g
    176%
    Saturated Fat 68.9 g
    344%
    Cholesterol 333.5 mg
    111%
    Sodium 1104.5 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes