33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

LaLa, these were perfect, decadent and simply wonderful. A classic!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaniceJean December 28, 2002

This is an incredibly good recipe. By far the best sweet potato dish I have ever eaten.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Funda December 11, 2003

Thank you so very much for this one. Last year I was hosting Thanksgiving for 2 families and had a rush towards the end trying to find a good side recipe. I hadn't found any original Sweet Potato recipes and stumbles across this one. It was one of the favorite items at last years dinner. It has become a page in my Thanksgiving Dinner recipe book. It was simple to do and the taste, Wonderful. Thank you again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeleComCal October 14, 2003

YUMMY! THANK YOU for posting this delicious recipe! I LOVE sweet potatoes and this recipe is great when I want to impress, or simply for something to snack on over the weekend.

My modifications: To save time I use sweet potatoes from two 29 oz cans (I heat them in the microwave for a few minutes then fully mash them); only 1/2 cup brown sugar; 1/4 cup half and half; only 3 Tablespoons bourbon; added 1 tsp vanilla; skip the pecans; and in our family, after baking for 25 min. we top the casserole dish with marshmallows then bake for another 10 min.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
butterflymome July 23, 2011

I love this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackieandgary January 03, 2010

This were a big hit at Thanksgiving...I got many compliments on them...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc November 28, 2009

everyone loved them at thanksgiving dinner. my sister found this recipe to make for her dinner and i'm glad i didn't stick to the standard candied yams with marshmellows and followed her lead. rave reviews.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jetta_mel November 26, 2009

I made this dish for Canadian Thanksgiving and it will be making a repeat appearance for American Thanksgiving. Really delicious! The bourbon and heavy cream truly make it. I did cut the amount of sugar based on previous reviews and it was still perfectly sweet. Also, I did brown the pecans and then candied them. Maybe this kept some of the sweetness. Great recipe. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deuelkathryn November 10, 2009

This was good, but I think it was too sweet. Next time I will probably cut down on the sugar and then when the yams are warming, cook them through and then mash them. The sweet casserole was a bit much for me, but I am excited to tweak it to my tastes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amlaphq May 30, 2009
Bourbon Sweet Potatoes (Yams)