10 Reviews

Wow! This was beyond good. I made a bread pudding and really wanted to dress it up so I gave this a try. It nearly made my comfort food elegant! We had vanilla ice cream on top of the bread pudding, then topped it with the sauce. Great recipe! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiss*My*Tiara January 19, 2004

This was excellent. I have to admit that I was skeptical because there wasn't any cream in it but it turned out great! And I subbed Splenda for the sugar. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl January 16, 2004

I would give this 5 stars for taste but I'm not sure what the consistency is supposed to be but it seemed a tiny bit thin to me so that is why I'm giving it 4. Now, let me say that I did (because I was in a pinch for time) use Chef 769374's suggestion of using the microwave which was certainly quicker and less messy but I'm not sure if it compromised the texture or not. What I do know is that it was outstanding in the flavor department! The fam loved it! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill4man April 20, 2010

Yum, and I cheated making it so it was quik and easy too. Combined all ingredients in my mini blender, poured into microwavable 4 cup measuring cup and microwaved for 2 minutes stirring every 30 seconds. Came out 165° and delicious. I microwaved 30 more seconds and almost overflowed it so watch carefully cause if it starts to puff, it's over heated and cooking. I just poured it into the blender and blended it till smooth and it was thick and fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kandc88 April 15, 2009

I am giving this recipe 5 stars as it tasted wonderful...but oh what a pain to make...got it all the way up to 150 degrees and then it dropped to 120...had to start all over, but the taste was worth the hassle...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc January 14, 2008

Although this was a little bit of trouble, it's so wonderful that I can't stop thinking and talking about it. Any unused portion does separate rather quickly, so use it all - its delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna B August 19, 2007

Oh, so good!! I didn't have any bourbon so I used butterscotch schnapps instead. It was absolute bliss on bread pudding! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill Jump January 25, 2005

Fantastic....Can't wait to try it as a fresh fruit dip. It was wonderful on the Bread Pudding

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ursie November 26, 2004

My guests were amazed- and soo was I. Restaurant quality- great!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Ward June 07, 2004
Bourbon Sauce for Bread Pudding and Bread Pudding Soufflé