Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bourbon (Rum) Balls (No Bake Cookies) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bourbon (Rum) Balls (No Bake Cookies)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2011

      These were totally awesome! They went like hotcakes at my office party today. I used food service gloves when I made the cookies into balls--voila! no sticking! After I chilled them for about an hour, I re-rolled them in the powdered sugar, as the powdered sugar from the first roll got absorbed. They were much better after sitting overnight in the fridge. I got 34 1" rum balls out of the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      All I have to say is MMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!
      I did not find they needed to mellow, they were fine as is. I also didn't experience the dough sticking to my hands.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      I ended up making these twice because of a stupid mistake. Probably nobody but me will do this, but I might as well confess. First of all, vanilla wafers are not sold in Japan, where I live. I decided to substitute a different kind of crisp cookie. The first time, I bought cookies at a neighborhood bakery. Several people have given the weight of the cookies, so I thought it would work. The cookies were in little bags with a small pouch of dessicant. Well, long story short, I luckily tasted the mixture left in the bowl after making balls. What was that hard stuff? Yes, it was beads of silica gel. Oops. So anyway, I started again today. I do think I learned something from the first experience (besides not using ingredients not called for, especially if they are inedible.) So I toasted the pecans and chopped them separately because I wanted some crunch. I broke up the cookies in the food processor, added the cocoa and powdered sugar and transferred it all to a bowl. I then cautiously added the liquids and stirred in the nuts. This time I used packaged Langue de Chat cookies, which didn't have dessicant. Although I was worried about the mixture getting sticky, it was perfect with the amounts given. I used white rum. I have tasted these, and they seem quite good, but do need some time for the flavor to develop. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      What a great recipe! I used the food processor to chop the pecans and the cookies and the just threw everything on top and pulsed till it came together. Used a small ice cream scoopto ball the cookies and they turned out perfect, no sticky or any other problems.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      I just came back to this recipe as I am planning my gift baskets for the holidays. I forgot to review it last year! This is so easy and quick and OH SO TASTY! I used Myers dark rum and a 12 oz box of Nillas were just right. Everyone loved them last year, and honestly, I could eat these until I pass out!!! LOL. Another winner Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      I had the same problem as chef #63870-- the "batter" was impossible to work with, but I just popped it into the fridge for a little while and it rolled into balls very easily after that. Although, at that point, the powdered sugar didn't stick very well. Maybe I had it in the fridge a little too long. Gave it 4 stars because it just didn't look very attractive... but maybe that was my fault. Otherwise, yummy and RUMMY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2003

      very quick and easy to make, and tasted great! i used a 12 oz box of vanilla wafers, and rum, i got 36 rum balls, which i divided and put into gift bags. i think my co-workers will love these!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2014

      My Husband and I enjoyed these rum balls. It was my first time making them and they turned out delicious ! They had kind of a fudgy texture. Thank you for the recipe !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      Super good and so easy! I made these ahead of time and allowed them to sit in the fridge in a sealed container for 3 days before handing them out to my friends and family...Lots of requests for more! <br/><br/>Thanks for this easy and delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      this is a great recipe, but do as the reader suggested and chill the dough before making into balls. also grease your hands. I made them with chocolate cookies instead of vanilla and added no cocoa and rolled them in pecans--yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      Not having any rum or bourbon I substituted some caramel liqueur and they turned out wonderful! They were gobbled up in no time flat. Made for Holiday Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      Love. Love. Love this recipe. The only thing hard about it is getting people to try it. Once they do, they're glad they did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      I tried these as everyone rated them 5 stars. When I put everything into my food process I got what looked like brown glue. It was a soft sticky runny mess. I must have done something wrong. I even added extra vanilla wafers to no avail. Audrey

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      Wow, were these easy to make using the processor! Very tasty too. I used rum and from now on, this will be the only recipe I use for rum balls. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      Great, light, booze balls, yum! Not the usual grease balls. Will do in food processor next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2004

      These were very easy to make and they tasted great. I added extra bourbon, so when I gave them as gifts, everyone said they were great and all they needed was one to get drunk. HA! HA!.. Rita give us more recipes like this for next year. Dolly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      This is my favorite dessert. I can't get enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bourbon (Rum) Balls (No Bake Cookies)

    Serving Size: 1 (415 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 147.6
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    40%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 11.5 g
    46%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla wafers

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes