17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were totally awesome! They went like hotcakes at my office party today. I used food service gloves when I made the cookies into balls--voila! no sticking! After I chilled them for about an hour, I re-rolled them in the powdered sugar, as the powdered sugar from the first roll got absorbed. They were much better after sitting overnight in the fridge. I got 34 1" rum balls out of the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Cook! December 23, 2011

Super good and so easy! I made these ahead of time and allowed them to sit in the fridge in a sealed container for 3 days before handing them out to my friends and family...Lots of requests for more! <br/><br/>Thanks for this easy and delicious recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lorri70 December 14, 2013

All I have to say is MMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!
I did not find they needed to mellow, they were fine as is. I also didn't experience the dough sticking to my hands.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lil' Lori December 21, 2012

I ended up making these twice because of a stupid mistake. Probably nobody but me will do this, but I might as well confess. First of all, vanilla wafers are not sold in Japan, where I live. I decided to substitute a different kind of crisp cookie. The first time, I bought cookies at a neighborhood bakery. Several people have given the weight of the cookies, so I thought it would work. The cookies were in little bags with a small pouch of dessicant. Well, long story short, I luckily tasted the mixture left in the bowl after making balls. What was that hard stuff? Yes, it was beads of silica gel. Oops. So anyway, I started again today. I do think I learned something from the first experience (besides not using ingredients not called for, especially if they are inedible.) So I toasted the pecans and chopped them separately because I wanted some crunch. I broke up the cookies in the food processor, added the cocoa and powdered sugar and transferred it all to a bowl. I then cautiously added the liquids and stirred in the nuts. This time I used packaged Langue de Chat cookies, which didn't have dessicant. Although I was worried about the mixture getting sticky, it was perfect with the amounts given. I used white rum. I have tasted these, and they seem quite good, but do need some time for the flavor to develop. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao December 12, 2012

What a great recipe! I used the food processor to chop the pecans and the cookies and the just threw everything on top and pulsed till it came together. Used a small ice cream scoopto ball the cookies and they turned out perfect, no sticky or any other problems.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bridget Elaine December 07, 2008

I just came back to this recipe as I am planning my gift baskets for the holidays. I forgot to review it last year! This is so easy and quick and OH SO TASTY! I used Myers dark rum and a 12 oz box of Nillas were just right. Everyone loved them last year, and honestly, I could eat these until I pass out!!! LOL. Another winner Rita!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie November 30, 2008

I had the same problem as chef #63870-- the "batter" was impossible to work with, but I just popped it into the fridge for a little while and it rolled into balls very easily after that. Although, at that point, the powdered sugar didn't stick very well. Maybe I had it in the fridge a little too long. Gave it 4 stars because it just didn't look very attractive... but maybe that was my fault. Otherwise, yummy and RUMMY!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mortimurmur December 15, 2007

very quick and easy to make, and tasted great! i used a 12 oz box of vanilla wafers, and rum, i got 36 rum balls, which i divided and put into gift bags. i think my co-workers will love these!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia December 20, 2003

My Husband and I enjoyed these rum balls. It was my first time making them and they turned out delicious ! They had kind of a fudgy texture. Thank you for the recipe !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry & Carl August 14, 2014

this is a great recipe, but do as the reader suggested and chill the dough before making into balls. also grease your hands. I made them with chocolate cookies instead of vanilla and added no cocoa and rolled them in pecans--yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianebencrist_8940653 December 23, 2010
Bourbon (Rum) Balls (No Bake Cookies)