Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bourbon (or Rum) Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bourbon (or Rum) Balls

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2009

      Great basic recipe. After making the first batch and realizing how easy and delicious they were, I got creative and changed both the type of liquor and cookies. (Example: graham cracker crumbs with kahlua and vodka!) Each batch was delicious. They were definitely better after sitting a week or so in the refrigerator; however I did have to re-roll them in powdered sugar before serving. They are also pretty rolled in colored granulated sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      These are soooo good and soooo easy. I made these for a holiday party and everyone loved them. I made them about 5 days before the party and they got better each day. I used Malibu Rum in place of the bourbon, because I love Malibu! I also rolled them in Demerara Cane Sugar (raw sugar) which made them look very festive. Thanks for such a wonderful and easy recipe. This will be one of my holiday standards from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      Easy to make, and fabulous! I used sugar cane rum instead of bourbon, and it gave them a really nice flavor. These are so easy to make, I may make another batch before the holidays. Thanks, Kari - this one's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

      Great love it but first batch i thought i messed up but turned out awsome used sudar wafers and fireball and cinnamon sugar to coat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      I just made this. I used my food processor to crush the vanilla wafers and the pecans so these came together quickly! The only thing that I would suggest would be to sift the confectiorer's sugar to get rid of those pesky little lumps. In error, I used almost 15 ounces of vanilla wafers. I used my 1.5" scoop and rolled the rum balls in granulated sugar. I made close to 40 pieces. It's 8:30am here and I've already sampled them. I didn't have a problem with the strength of the rum (oops, maybe I do have a problem - it's only 8:30am!). Thank you for posting this recipe! I'm sure that I'll be making these again! (maybe before Christmas if I keep sampling them!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      These were SOOO strong that they were pretty much inedible. I followed the recipe exactly and used vanilla rum. I'm a drinker and so are my family members but no one could eat a whole one of these. Even the scent was overwhelming.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Woo-Hoo ! Was given a bottle of bourbon blend, and no one here drinks that. This will make LOTS of cookies ! I used 1 Tbsp Hershey's cocoa and 1 Tbsp of K.A. Black Cocoa --rich, dark, and DEElicious ! Rolled them in Demararra (raw) sugar, for a tasty finish. Thanks, Malriah, for a new taste on my cookie plates.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      These were really good... but a tiny bit strong for me. It reminded me of my Navy days! I made chocolate cupcakes with chocolate buttercream for my friend's 40th birthday bash. I topped each cupcake with a rum ball! The rum & chocolate were a nice combo. Great for a grown-up party. I used Whaler's Spiced Rum & rolled them in Baker's Superfine sugar. They looked pretty, and when word got out, they were gone! Nice texture, too. I have a few leftover that I kept, to see how the flavor changes over the next week! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Made these for Christmas. What a great flavor. Think I'll make red and green colored sugar to roll in next year. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Wow these where good. I had just a bit over a half a cup of bourbon left in the bottle and didn’t want to waste it, so I added the whole thing. Can I say WOW again? Hey what’s the use of a bourbon ball if you can’t taste the bourbon? :-) THX.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      This is the same as my Grandma's recipe with a few changes in quantities: 2 1/2 cups vanilla wafers, 1 cup pecans, 2 T light corn syrup and 1/4 cup bourbon - but surely next time I'll try it your way with the 1/2 cup bourbon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      These are good, but, wow, are they strong! Next time I think I'll cut the rum down a little bit. It was funny to watch my dad's face when he just popped one in his mouth. A nice addition to the holiday buffet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      Don't eat alot of these and try to DRIVE!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bourbon (or Rum) Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (932 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 837.3
     
    Calories from Fat 333
    39%
    Total Fat 37.0 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 219.6 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 111.0 g
    37%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    20%
    Sugars 49.3 g
    197%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites