2843 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I followed the recipe to the T. It didn't taste exactly like the Bourbon chicken in the mall, but DANG was it goooooood!!!! I will definitely be making this again soon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyCookingMommy February 11, 2013

Great chicken! I used one pound of chicken and doubled the sauce. Mixed the sauce ingredients in a separate bowl before frying the chicken. This gave the sugar time to dissolve. Once the chicken was cooked, I added the sauce and simmered for 20 minutes. I added a cornstarch slurry at the end to thicken the sauce. Served over jasmine rice. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickoholic83 January 13, 2013

It was good but not outstanding. I don't see why it's the most popular recipe on this site. I think probably from reading all these reviews my expectations were too high.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpumphrey1 August 30, 2012

This was wonderful and too easy! A friend kept raving about her Bourbon Chicken so I looked and found it here. Used OJ instead of apple juice as that is what I had and it worked perfectly. Also added some cornstarch to the sauce as other reviewers and my friend suggested. Mixed the sauce ingredients in a bowl while the chicken cooked. My husband loved this over rice. Will be making again for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terriyaki 2 August 24, 2012

I prepared this today and it was a hit. We have friends staying with us because their power went out after a recent storm, and a neighbor's child who is always over - 12 people in all! Needless to say, there were no leftovers and it has been requested that I prepare (a bigger batch) tomorrow. I did do a couple of things different than the recipe after reading reviews: 1) I used fresh zested ginger in place of the powder form; 2) I used a little more oil than the recipe calls for the brown the chicken; 3) I combined and whisked the ingredients for the sauce in a bowl prior to heating in the pan; 4) I added the red pepper to taste; 5) Instead of soy sauce, I used Braggs liquid aminos to cut down the amount of sodium a little. This is a keeper for my household!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortOrderCook4MyKids July 25, 2012

After so many rave reviews, I was pretty confident that this would be a fantastic recipe...sorry to say I was a tad bit underwhelmed. The chicken (after cooking for 25 minutes) had a nice flavor but was pretty rubbery--blech. The sauce was too thin, although flavorful. Served it over steamed brown rice. I think it has potential, but not sure I'll make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle in KY June 18, 2012

made this one a million times, I use what ever juice I have on hand, I even used hawaiian punch once lol and it comes out perfect every time! thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allie in Cali October 22, 2011

fantastic! My hubby is obsessed with bourban chicken and was all weirded out by ketchup and apple juice sauce... Tasted amazing we made it to a T and it was perfect! Definitely make over and over again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MmmrsBe October 20, 2011

OK. I'm going to give this 5 stars. Don't be afraid to let the sauce cook down, no need for cornstarch thickener. I am going to double the sauce the next time and add some oriental-style vegs(pre-cooked or stir fried) after the sauce has cooked-down. Also, I highly recommend using a low sodium soy sauce!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clevergirl3 October 18, 2011

Wow this was amazing considering the short list of ingredients!Packs a flavorful punch.I coated my chicken pieces in cornstarch as others suggested,added more garlic(3 Cloves) and cut the sugar to a 1/4 and only added 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes (my little one would have complained otherwise)Once I had brought to a boil and started simmering I realized I didn't have enough sauce! so I just mixed up some more in a bowl and dumped it in the pan and 20 minutes later we had a great dinner with lots of sauce for our rice:)Save time double your sauce!Also I tasted the sauce when I first mixed it up and thought"oh no I don't like it!"trust me the flavours get wonderful after it cooks,glad I didn't chuck it!Husband loved and little one did too.Thanks Linmarie for posting this gem,not that you needed another 5 star review:D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delish #2 September 26, 2011
Bourbon Chicken