2909 Reviews

This dish is absolutely delicious! I have used many recipes from this website and all have been impressive, but this was the one that compelled me to register for the site so I could show my appreciation! I followed this to a T except I used chicken thighs, much more tender than chicken breast. I made this for my partner and his brother and everyone was blown away by the flavour. Considering the very simple list of ingredients this requires, and the perfect outcome this is going to be a permanent fixture on our dinner menu!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyMaiready June 23, 2013

Excellent recipe. I doubled the juice and ginger and left everything else the same. I added some toasted sesame oil at the end and thickened all of that broth with a little cornstarch slurry. A small can of slice water chestnuts was a nice addition. I like the way the sauce got brown and looked delicious... and it WAS delicious. I'll keep the single serve bottles of apple juice in my freezer for when I need this quick meal to toss together. I think pepper and onions would be a nice addition... or really any kind of vegetable.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge March 06, 2013

This was absolutely fantastic and easy to prepare. I mixed the sauce ahead of time and cooked the chicken about ? hour before she got home. She walked in the door and 15 minutes it was served. This is definitely a %u201Cdo over%u201D and made for a great lunch the next day. I doubled the sauce as many people pointed out and it was prefect. This is by far a great recipe!!! Thank you very much to the creator who posted the recipe. Mike

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WhyTry??? March 04, 2013

LOVE! used a little less sugar, but otherwise perfect, didn't need any thing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gatorbek February 22, 2013

I followed the recipe to the T. It didn't taste exactly like the Bourbon chicken in the mall, but DANG was it goooooood!!!! I will definitely be making this again soon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyCookingMommy February 11, 2013

Great chicken! I used one pound of chicken and doubled the sauce. Mixed the sauce ingredients in a separate bowl before frying the chicken. This gave the sugar time to dissolve. Once the chicken was cooked, I added the sauce and simmered for 20 minutes. I added a cornstarch slurry at the end to thicken the sauce. Served over jasmine rice. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickoholic83 January 13, 2013

It was good but not outstanding. I don't see why it's the most popular recipe on this site. I think probably from reading all these reviews my expectations were too high.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpumphrey1 August 30, 2012

This was wonderful and too easy! A friend kept raving about her Bourbon Chicken so I looked and found it here. Used OJ instead of apple juice as that is what I had and it worked perfectly. Also added some cornstarch to the sauce as other reviewers and my friend suggested. Mixed the sauce ingredients in a bowl while the chicken cooked. My husband loved this over rice. Will be making again for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terriyaki 2 August 24, 2012

I prepared this today and it was a hit. We have friends staying with us because their power went out after a recent storm, and a neighbor's child who is always over - 12 people in all! Needless to say, there were no leftovers and it has been requested that I prepare (a bigger batch) tomorrow. I did do a couple of things different than the recipe after reading reviews: 1) I used fresh zested ginger in place of the powder form; 2) I used a little more oil than the recipe calls for the brown the chicken; 3) I combined and whisked the ingredients for the sauce in a bowl prior to heating in the pan; 4) I added the red pepper to taste; 5) Instead of soy sauce, I used Braggs liquid aminos to cut down the amount of sodium a little. This is a keeper for my household!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortOrderCook4MyKids July 25, 2012

After so many rave reviews, I was pretty confident that this would be a fantastic recipe...sorry to say I was a tad bit underwhelmed. The chicken (after cooking for 25 minutes) had a nice flavor but was pretty rubbery--blech. The sauce was too thin, although flavorful. Served it over steamed brown rice. I think it has potential, but not sure I'll make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle in KY June 18, 2012
Bourbon Chicken