Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bourbon Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bourbon Chicken

    Average Rating:

    2,809 Total Reviews

    Showing 161-180 of 2,809

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2014

      I really liked this recipe and I made this as written however next time I will reduce the amount of red pepper, not a heat lover and I will add cornstarch to thicken, thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2014

      Excellent recipe! I did use pork loin cubes instead of chicken and used orange juice in place of the apple juice. Used fresh ginger and dark brown sugar as that was what I had on hand. No red pepper flakes as I was serving this to someone who can't take the heat. Sprinkled just a bit of cornstarch to pot during last 20 min of cooking to thicken the sauce to what turned out to be perfect consistency. I made it with basmati rice in less time than it would've taken me to call the local Chinese take out delivery restaurant and place an order and wait for it to be delivered.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2014

      Outstanding. Cooked it as written. Agree the sauce needs to be thicker. Served it on sticky rice. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2014

      Ok...another one who changed it slightly...I used chicken thighs...I use them for most Asian dishes...they allow for a few moments of 'error' in cooking time...breasts do not:) I also noted what others were saying about the thinness and amount of sauce. We love sauce, so I doubled the sauce and let it hard boil for 15 minutes or so, before I put in the chicken (mine cooks quickly as I cut it in thin strips) The sauce reduced and thickened a bit...enough to stay coated on the chicken. I then added the chicken and simmered until it finished cooking...7 minutes maybe. I used hot flakes and it was quite spicy...you can play around with the amount....will be cooking it again....same as before. Thank you to the contributors:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2014

    • on October 01, 2014

      Ok, I normally don't leave reviews on recipes even if I loved it but I just have to say this recipe was amazing, hands down. In the beginning I made bourbon chicken from a recipe using actual bourbon whiskey. It was descent but not so great because the sauce wasn't thick, plus I wanted it to taste like the mall's, which it didn't. Any way I found that whiskey is too expensive so I decided to try a bourbon chicken recipe without the bourbon and I found this. I followed the recipe exactly as written, I didn't have apple cider vinegar but I did have red wine and white wine vinegar. I used white wine. I also used dark brown sugar because it taste way better than light brown sugar to me. After simmering for a while, I noticed that the sauce wasn't thickening, so I followed other reviews and added a bit of cornstarch. Smothered it over some basmati rice and it was perfect honestly I think it tasted better than the one I made with bourbon and it's just as good as the mall's. Thank you for this easy and inexpensive bourbon chicken recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2014

      Totally yummy!! My son ate two helpings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2014

      Oh my goodness! First, this recipe was soooo easy! The flavor is out of this world for me. I followed the recipe except I omited the apple juice (just because I didn't have any). I also added bell pepper, celery and carrots thinly sliced and all the same size. Will definitely make again! Thank you for a easy and above all else....delicious dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2014

      Awesome recipe! I tried a different bourbon chicken recipe once not knowing a whole lot about it, and I literally had to make the sauce a day ahead of time to refrigerate over night, it was so many ingredients and so much work. It was absolutely delicious, but this tasted just as amazing with practically no work! That's fantastic in my books. My hubby couldn't get enough of it. Just added a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce. Delish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2014

      Added crushed apple to it as well in addition to the summer fruit juice, crushed apple made it little sticky and yummy! Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2014

      I've never had bourbon chicken before, but with all the reviews I couldn't resist trying it. This was fabulous! My husband and I both gobbled it up. Great flavor with a subtle kick. Served it over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2014

      Have made this twice - I confess I made some changes that I read in reviews that suited my personal taste. First time I used less brown sugar and added red peppers and doubled sauce ingredients. Chicken seemed rubbery. Second time, again doubled sauce and less brown sugar, simmered sauce with added onion for about 15 minutes, then added back chicken for 5 minutes. Also added steamed broccoli at the last minute. Very pleased with recipe and will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2014

      Add a few drops of liquid smoke to get that grilled flavor. Thighs hold more flavor and have better texture when eating. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2014

      This dish is soooo good. We had it on egg noodles, only because we didn't have rice. I made this exactly as directed except I didn't have apple juice so I chopped up an apple and added it in the sauce. Absolutely will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2014

      The prior reviews speak for themselves so I'll leave it at that!! 5 stars from me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2014

      Ahhhh - where's the bourbon??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2014

      Where is the bourbon? I bet it would taste fantastic with actual Bourbon

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2014

      This looks totally awesome! But where's the bourbon?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2014

      Well as sceptical as I was about this recipe 2800+ people are not wrong. Absolutely beautiful, I do agree with a couple of other reviewers, i also added some corn flour dissolved in water to thicken. But other than that YUMMMMM !!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2014

      I made this recipe yesterday. It tastes much like Dr. Tso's chicken but without the breaded chicken. The whole family loved it. The next time I will double the sauce to drizzle on the broccoli and vegetables I served with it. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. For those who think it's too salty try the low sodium soy sauce. This is a keeper!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bourbon Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (330 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.4
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    42%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 145.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1573.0 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 21.4 g
    85%
    Protein 50.0 g
    100%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes