2833 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is awesome! I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers by doubling the sauce, using only a pinch of red pepper flakes, added scallions, coated the chicken in cornstarch and lightly frying it, served over brown rice with steamed broccoli, let the sauce simmer for 35 to 40 mins so it will thicken (no need to add more cornstarch if you let it simmer longer), and used low sodium soy sauce. This recipe turned out great. This is the first time I tried a new recipe and it turned out great the first time around. Definitely a keeper in my house : )

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HealthyEating2014 May 08, 2014

Changes by reviews... Added 1/2 tsp black pepper to chicken browning. Decreased brown sugar to 1/3 cup loosely packed. Thickened at end with 1 Tbl cornstarch/1 Tbl water.<br/>I'm an excellent cook and very picky on many of these online recipes. Many are over rated. <br/>This recipe is very good. I also made the top rated chinese fried rice by Sue Lau on here with it which also was very good. The whole house moaned and groaned. You know it's good when they don't talk, lol.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mitchell1204_9679280 April 06, 2014

I've had this recipe for a couple of yrs and just made it this past weekend. I followed the recipe to a tee. no substitutions. At first I was worrying about the sauce not thickening up after the recommended cooking time and was going to add cornstarch but I turned up the heat to high and gave it a hard boil and then turned it off. Wah-lah!! It was thick. I like the flavor in the sauce. it was sweet with a kick. I only buy low sodium soy sauce so I had no problem with it being too salty. I will be definitely making this again and sharing the recipe with friends. I think next time I'll fry some chicken and coat them in this sauce. Good stuff.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
overtonswife March 06, 2014

Awesome with a little heat! Food.com is making me a better cook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
house_wife_in_training January 17, 2014

This is a big hit! I usually stick to the recipe, but from time to time I mix in broccoli or stir fry veggies. I also coat the chicken with flour before frying.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana1324 December 04, 2013

NOT BOURBON CHICKEN! But still a tasty recipe. This recipe is more like General Tso's chicken than what my local place calls Bourbon chicken. It has quite a bit of kick too! It was still a good recipe, just misleading by the name.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunshine_4_jt_10000120 September 09, 2013

This dish is absolutely delicious! I have used many recipes from this website and all have been impressive, but this was the one that compelled me to register for the site so I could show my appreciation! I followed this to a T except I used chicken thighs, much more tender than chicken breast. I made this for my partner and his brother and everyone was blown away by the flavour. Considering the very simple list of ingredients this requires, and the perfect outcome this is going to be a permanent fixture on our dinner menu!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyMaiready June 23, 2013

Excellent recipe. I doubled the juice and ginger and left everything else the same. I added some toasted sesame oil at the end and thickened all of that broth with a little cornstarch slurry. A small can of slice water chestnuts was a nice addition. I like the way the sauce got brown and looked delicious... and it WAS delicious. I'll keep the single serve bottles of apple juice in my freezer for when I need this quick meal to toss together. I think pepper and onions would be a nice addition... or really any kind of vegetable.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge March 06, 2013

This was absolutely fantastic and easy to prepare. I mixed the sauce ahead of time and cooked the chicken about ? hour before she got home. She walked in the door and 15 minutes it was served. This is definitely a %u201Cdo over%u201D and made for a great lunch the next day. I doubled the sauce as many people pointed out and it was prefect. This is by far a great recipe!!! Thank you very much to the creator who posted the recipe. Mike

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WhyTry??? March 04, 2013

LOVE! used a little less sugar, but otherwise perfect, didn't need any thing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gatorbek February 22, 2013
Bourbon Chicken