2937 Reviews

Outstanding. Cooked it as written. Agree the sauce needs to be thicker. Served it on sticky rice. Perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charper1957 November 18, 2014

Ok...another one who changed it slightly...I used chicken thighs...I use them for most Asian dishes...they allow for a few moments of 'error' in cooking time...breasts do not:) I also noted what others were saying about the thinness and amount of sauce. We love sauce, so I doubled the sauce and let it hard boil for 15 minutes or so, before I put in the chicken (mine cooks quickly as I cut it in thin strips) The sauce reduced and thickened a bit...enough to stay coated on the chicken. I then added the chicken and simmered until it finished cooking...7 minutes maybe. I used hot flakes and it was quite spicy...you can play around with the amount....will be cooking it again....same as before. Thank you to the contributors:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debra2304 October 10, 2014

Ok, I normally don't leave reviews on recipes even if I loved it but I just have to say this recipe was amazing, hands down. In the beginning I made bourbon chicken from a recipe using actual bourbon whiskey. It was descent but not so great because the sauce wasn't thick, plus I wanted it to taste like the mall's, which it didn't. Any way I found that whiskey is too expensive so I decided to try a bourbon chicken recipe without the bourbon and I found this. I followed the recipe exactly as written, I didn't have apple cider vinegar but I did have red wine and white wine vinegar. I used white wine. I also used dark brown sugar because it taste way better than light brown sugar to me. After simmering for a while, I noticed that the sauce wasn't thickening, so I followed other reviews and added a bit of cornstarch. Smothered it over some basmati rice and it was perfect honestly I think it tasted better than the one I made with bourbon and it's just as good as the mall's. Thank you for this easy and inexpensive bourbon chicken recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shaena T. October 01, 2014

Have made this twice - I confess I made some changes that I read in reviews that suited my personal taste. First time I used less brown sugar and added red peppers and doubled sauce ingredients. Chicken seemed rubbery. Second time, again doubled sauce and less brown sugar, simmered sauce with added onion for about 15 minutes, then added back chicken for 5 minutes. Also added steamed broccoli at the last minute. Very pleased with recipe and will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karenatlincoln August 07, 2014

Add a few drops of liquid smoke to get that grilled flavor. Thighs hold more flavor and have better texture when eating. Great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jonathon D. August 02, 2014

I made this recipe yesterday. It tastes much like Dr. Tso's chicken but without the breaded chicken. The whole family loved it. The next time I will double the sauce to drizzle on the broccoli and vegetables I served with it. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. For those who think it's too salty try the low sodium soy sauce. This is a keeper!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sasha L July 11, 2014

I have made this recipe numerous times for my family and we all love it. It is easy, flavorful, and typically have all the ingredients on hand. In a pinch, I have used grape apple juice and there is no difference in taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Puako Sunset July 06, 2014

This recipe is awesome! I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers by doubling the sauce, using only a pinch of red pepper flakes, added scallions, coated the chicken in cornstarch and lightly frying it, served over brown rice with steamed broccoli, let the sauce simmer for 35 to 40 mins so it will thicken (no need to add more cornstarch if you let it simmer longer), and used low sodium soy sauce. This recipe turned out great. This is the first time I tried a new recipe and it turned out great the first time around. Definitely a keeper in my house : )

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HealthyEating2014 May 08, 2014

Changes by reviews... Added 1/2 tsp black pepper to chicken browning. Decreased brown sugar to 1/3 cup loosely packed. Thickened at end with 1 Tbl cornstarch/1 Tbl water.<br/>I'm an excellent cook and very picky on many of these online recipes. Many are over rated. <br/>This recipe is very good. I also made the top rated chinese fried rice by Sue Lau on here with it which also was very good. The whole house moaned and groaned. You know it's good when they don't talk, lol.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mitchell1204_9679280 April 06, 2014

I've had this recipe for a couple of yrs and just made it this past weekend. I followed the recipe to a tee. no substitutions. At first I was worrying about the sauce not thickening up after the recommended cooking time and was going to add cornstarch but I turned up the heat to high and gave it a hard boil and then turned it off. Wah-lah!! It was thick. I like the flavor in the sauce. it was sweet with a kick. I only buy low sodium soy sauce so I had no problem with it being too salty. I will be definitely making this again and sharing the recipe with friends. I think next time I'll fry some chicken and coat them in this sauce. Good stuff.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
overtonswife March 06, 2014
Bourbon Chicken