Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bourbon Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bourbon Chicken

    Average Rating:

    2,804 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 2,804

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2010

      My family of four enjoyed. I made this exactly as described and served it over brown Bamsati rice. Fabulous! I will make again a double for left overs and make more sauce to flavor the rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      I was looking for something a little different to try with chicken, and I found it! This recipe is simple and delicious! I think next time I may make the sauce ahead of time and marinate the chicken in the sauce overnight to add a little extra flavor... but it was great as is! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      all I can say is yummy!!!! I tried this one over the summer and love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      I made this but added stir-fried broccoli. It tastes exactly like chicken and broccoli from a chinese restaurant! The best part is that it uses ingredients that I always have on hand!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      My family loves this sometimes I add aparagus, and I usually thicken the sauce with alittle corn starch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      This made a delicious dinner served over rice -- and was easy to make since all the ingredients are staples in our pantry. Even though I like spicy foods, next time I will decrease the red pepper since it was very hot. The only other change I'll make is to simmer the chicken pieces for only 15 minutes. I cut mine the standard size for bourbon chicken, but they came out a little dry after cooking for 20 minutes. The sauce is fantastic -- you've got the right mix of all the ingredients to make an authentic-tasting Bourbon Chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      What an excellent recipe! I made it for the first time tonight and followed the recipe as written with these exceptions: I used two cut up boneless chicken breast halves (not sure of the weight), a bit less crushed red pepper than called for (my husband's preference), and thickened the sauce at the end with culinary thickener. It was absolutely outstanding--both my husband and I loved it! It will most definitely be in our usual rotation from this point on. Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      Wow! This reminded me of my favorite General Tso's chicken but without the fried batter! Very good and easy to make. I added about 2 T bourbon to truly make it live up to its name! Excellent.....thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      I love this! So easy to make and delicious! We have a big family of 6, so I triple the sauce recipe and only use about 3/4 tsp of the red pepper flakes. The only down side of the original recipe is the lack of delicious sauce. I also had to thicken with corn starch at the end, but that's no biggie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2010

      Very tasty sauce, although a bit thin. My chicken was a bit overcooked. Next time I will try to spend a minimal amount of time getting the chicken pieces browned because the remainder of the time in the sauce is adequate to cook the bite-sized pieces. I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      Why is this called Bourbon Chicken when it has no Bourbon in it??

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      If I could give this a 10 I would! The first time I made this was as a surprise meal for my love, and I kept what I was making a secret until he guessed what it is - and he knew exactly what it was at first bite! It's amazingly tasty, and has a great kick! I highly recommend this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      Way too sweet, and very similar to "Japanese mum's chicken" from this site.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      I thought I had already left a review of this wonderful recipe! My entire family LOVES this dish. I like to make just a tad more sauce so we can have a little extra to mix with our brown rice....just the right amount of spicy fom me but my DH & DD wouldn't mind a bit more heat. I love that it's sweet & spicy & it's perfect served with broccoli, asparagus, or snow peas. (almost any green veggie) Thanks, LinMarie, for a super recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      I LoVeD this recipe!!! it was perfect we tried it with brown rice and made lettuce wraps. Very tasty and nice for a summer dinner. it came out perfect

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      My boyfriend made this for me a few days ago. It is fantastic. We tweeked it a little by adding bell pepper and onion into it. It was so good we're making it again tonight.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      20 stars would be better then 5 for this recipe. I don't know that I can add any more then what has already been said about this fab, easy, and tasty dish. My husband is in love with Bourbon Chicken since he was a kid. He's never had a homemade version he liked...until now. Thanks so much Lin I really appreciate it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Great dish and definitely a step up from most take out. I followed the directions pretty much but did take the advice from some reviews and added a cornstarch slurry.I do double the sauce so when I make the slurry I mix the 1 tbsp cornstarch with apple juice instead of water since doubling the sauce already calls for 1 cup of water. It's also not a bad idea to start with a screaming hot pan with oil added just before the chicken so you get good browning without cooking the chicken all the way through.Since it needs to be simmered later it may tend to overcook if you saute it to the browning point. I get great results this way ! Thanks for the recipe Lin :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      This was really delicious. I'd suggest using low-sodium soy sauce. Regular soy sauce is okay if you're eating it right away, but if there are leftovers, the saltiness really gets into the chicken, and it's way too much. Eating right after cooking, though, it doesn't really matter. This recipe is so much like what you get at your typical Chinese mall-food-court place. Fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      YUM!! Love this recipe! And the whole family ate it - this is a HUGE accomplishment!! I made 4x the sauce to make sure I'd have enough left over to freeze, and found it was probably enough for 2 meals for us. I followed the recipe as stated except to leave out the red pepper since the kids won't eat spicy. I just gave the shaker to my DH to dump as he liked on his plate! I also had to add the corn starch like other reviewers noted to thicken it enough for our liking. We found it a tich salty, so we'll probably cut back a little on the soy sauce next time. This recipe is definitely a keeper and will be made often!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 ... 141

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bourbon Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (330 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.4
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    42%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 145.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1573.0 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 21.4 g
    85%
    Protein 50.0 g
    100%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites