2830 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really liked this recipe and I made this as written however next time I will reduce the amount of red pepper, not a heat lover and I will add cornstarch to thicken, thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DPar December 14, 2014

Excellent recipe! I did use pork loin cubes instead of chicken and used orange juice in place of the apple juice. Used fresh ginger and dark brown sugar as that was what I had on hand. No red pepper flakes as I was serving this to someone who can't take the heat. Sprinkled just a bit of cornstarch to pot during last 20 min of cooking to thicken the sauce to what turned out to be perfect consistency. I made it with basmati rice in less time than it would've taken me to call the local Chinese take out delivery restaurant and place an order and wait for it to be delivered.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook November 21, 2014

Outstanding. Cooked it as written. Agree the sauce needs to be thicker. Served it on sticky rice. Perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charper1957 November 18, 2014

Ok...another one who changed it slightly...I used chicken thighs...I use them for most Asian dishes...they allow for a few moments of 'error' in cooking time...breasts do not:) I also noted what others were saying about the thinness and amount of sauce. We love sauce, so I doubled the sauce and let it hard boil for 15 minutes or so, before I put in the chicken (mine cooks quickly as I cut it in thin strips) The sauce reduced and thickened a bit...enough to stay coated on the chicken. I then added the chicken and simmered until it finished cooking...7 minutes maybe. I used hot flakes and it was quite spicy...you can play around with the amount....will be cooking it again....same as before. Thank you to the contributors:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debra2304 October 10, 2014

Ok, I normally don't leave reviews on recipes even if I loved it but I just have to say this recipe was amazing, hands down. In the beginning I made bourbon chicken from a recipe using actual bourbon whiskey. It was descent but not so great because the sauce wasn't thick, plus I wanted it to taste like the mall's, which it didn't. Any way I found that whiskey is too expensive so I decided to try a bourbon chicken recipe without the bourbon and I found this. I followed the recipe exactly as written, I didn't have apple cider vinegar but I did have red wine and white wine vinegar. I used white wine. I also used dark brown sugar because it taste way better than light brown sugar to me. After simmering for a while, I noticed that the sauce wasn't thickening, so I followed other reviews and added a bit of cornstarch. Smothered it over some basmati rice and it was perfect honestly I think it tasted better than the one I made with bourbon and it's just as good as the mall's. Thank you for this easy and inexpensive bourbon chicken recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shaena T. October 01, 2014

Have made this twice - I confess I made some changes that I read in reviews that suited my personal taste. First time I used less brown sugar and added red peppers and doubled sauce ingredients. Chicken seemed rubbery. Second time, again doubled sauce and less brown sugar, simmered sauce with added onion for about 15 minutes, then added back chicken for 5 minutes. Also added steamed broccoli at the last minute. Very pleased with recipe and will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karenatlincoln August 07, 2014

Add a few drops of liquid smoke to get that grilled flavor. Thighs hold more flavor and have better texture when eating. Great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jonathon D. August 02, 2014

I made this recipe yesterday. It tastes much like Dr. Tso's chicken but without the breaded chicken. The whole family loved it. The next time I will double the sauce to drizzle on the broccoli and vegetables I served with it. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. For those who think it's too salty try the low sodium soy sauce. This is a keeper!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nsharonluk July 11, 2014

My husband is from Tennessee, transplanted to California, and there was a Chinese Rest. in his area that had a Bourbon Chicken. It was a family run place so I was dead in the water coming up with some of their family recipes. This one is nearly spot on and we loved it. We did do the 1T cornstarch to 1T water slurry as many people recommended to achieve the right thickness. Next time we will back the red pepper flakes down just a touch, use low sodium soy sauce (tiny too salty) and just a bit more brown sugar due to his hummingbird sweet tooth (just a little bit more though). As with any recipe it has to be slightly tweaked to every persons tastebuds. All in all, its a spot on Bourbon Chicken recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christie Howell 2000 July 11, 2014

I have made this recipe numerous times for my family and we all love it. It is easy, flavorful, and typically have all the ingredients on hand. In a pinch, I have used grape apple juice and there is no difference in taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Puako Sunset July 06, 2014
Bourbon Chicken