2944 Reviews

My whole family loved this! It is not at all too spicy for me (or even for my husband, who is a big wimp with spice), but my 10-yr old needed a few glasses of lemonade to finish it. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs, and I did thicken with 1 Tbsp of cornstarch as suggested by another reviewer. I served it with my own fried rice (Uncle Ben's chicken brown rice in the pouch, cooked in a pan with margarine, sesame oil, egg, and peas).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferB_RN June 12, 2010

I had a big problem with this recipe....there wasn't enough! My family, all five of us, even the one year old, loved this! I also thickened the sauce a bit and even added a capful of real bourbon! we will be making this again really soon!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheri Lee January 09, 2004

This was really very good. I confess that I did add some vegetables to it,making it somewhat of a stir fry, but did everything else exactly the same. It was spicy and very very tasty. I will be making it again,and again, and again....

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarieRynr August 24, 2003

I have made this several times. It is GREAT! I usually double the liquids and add a little starch at the end to thicken it up. As for the comment someone said to make the liquid and taste test it? I wonder where you learned how to cook? You can't test something like that cold not allowing all the flavors to cook together. Gross, I wouldn't have liked to taste that cold and not cooked. Trust me you should try doing it by the recipe, it is really a good recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Logordon3 September 21, 2016

I am a cook in Buffalo NY and this is one of the best sauce recipes I have tried. I fed it to my boyfriend and he is picky. I gave him a sample after it was done, turned my back for a minute and he was spooning the sauce out of the pan because he loved it so much. The chicken came out nice and tender. For the people who had to add thickener I think you were simmering the sauce with the lid on. It doesn't say to cover it people! I would also recommend doubling the sauce recipe because after 20 minutes of reducing there will be nothing left in the pan. We barely got two helpings of sauce. Great recipe if you like stir fry sauce and know how to follow directions on how to make it. I will be adding veggies next time with mine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fisherman3970 July 07, 2015

I followed the directions completely but got nowhere near the picture. Instead, my sauce is watery and I have a light orange color sauce. It is nothing like the bourbon chicken I've had and my glaze (or lack of a glaze) is not at all similar to the picture. Not sure how this recipe garnered over 2000 reviews, let alone most of them positive. Definitely a waste of time making this - never using this recipe again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leexy87 July 01, 2015

I am the worst cook, and this Recipe, you would have thought I was a Chef!!! I used the exact Recipe, did not change one thing, besides doubling it, and it was absolutely Delish!!!! My husband, and my girls couldn't believe I made it, so thanks for this awesome dish! I need more recipes like this- cause at almost 44- this was the best yet!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threegs April 23, 2015

This is a fantastic recipe. I come back to it time and time again. I've taken to substituting a pound or so of chopped broccoli and carrots for half of chicken. The veggies soak up the sauce and become the best part.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xninex100 January 24, 2015

I really like this! I love the Bourbon Chicken from Kelly's Cajun Grill, but I swear they've all closed down! This one is close! Close enough that I've stopped looking for the perfect one! I took the advice of some others and used low salt soy sauce. My only other recommendation would be if you want your chicken to be a little more moist, use dark meat. I prefer breast meat, but it was a tad dry. I cut up four large chicken breasts, so I doubled the recipe for the sauce. I had just enough! I simmered the sauce for 20-25 minutes and it thickened up nicely without the cornstarch that others recommended. Thank you for an EXCELLENT recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina P. January 07, 2015

This is very good. I reduced the red pepper to 1/8 tsp. and added 1 tbsp. of cornstarch and 1 tbsp, of water to thicken the sauce. I wish I had doubled the sauce though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kris.hodges_12155422 December 14, 2014
Bourbon Chicken