2864 Reviews

This was wonderful. I doubled it and it seemed a bit hot so I added a touch more of brown sugar. Next time I will use 1/4 less teaspoon of the red pepper, but if you like it spicey - it's perfect as is! I will make this every month as it is very quick and easy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Summer1954 February 01, 2011

OMG I need more stars, This was Fantastic! I really wasn't expecting it to be that great, but it blew me away. I doubled the sauce bc i was serving it over rice but it probably was not necessary but i like a lot of juices so i didn't care that there was so much sauce. You definitely need to add cornstarch to thicken it up a bit, also i reduced the amount of red pepper to 1/2 tea and im so glad i did. I tasted the sauce when it was just about done and it was a little strong so i just added a little water until it tasted alittle mellow. This is dish is going to be around for along time in my kitchen. I think i might try some stir fry veggies in it next time. YUMMY

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FAMILY COOK #1 January 07, 2011

This was good but not WOW 5 stars like the hype i expected, Mine looked nothing like these pictures and followed exact! It had a good flavor was more liquidy and saucy than i intended but i did enjoy the sweet flavor and i steamed broccoli and served it with brown rice.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cam1l1e January 06, 2011

I cannot believe I have not rated this recipe yet! It is delicious. The only thing i do differently is add stir fry veggies in the last 5 minutes or so of cooking. We love this!!!! Thanks, LinMarie

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessicaleah80 January 05, 2011

My husband loved this. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and gave them a really good browning in a grill pan, while I was heating/reducing the sauce. Dumped the thighs into the sauce to finish cooking and get a nice glaze on 'em. I doubled the quantity of sauce, using low-sodium soya, and adding 3 T cornstarch. I only used about half a teaspoon of pepper flakes. I made Basmati rice (Perfect No Fail Basmati Rice) and to plate, I layered the rice, then some stir fried veggies, and then the chicken in bourbon sauce. Delightful!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katannah October 19, 2010

My whole family loved this! It is not at all too spicy for me (or even for my husband, who is a big wimp with spice), but my 10-yr old needed a few glasses of lemonade to finish it. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs, and I did thicken with 1 Tbsp of cornstarch as suggested by another reviewer. I served it with my own fried rice (Uncle Ben's chicken brown rice in the pouch, cooked in a pan with margarine, sesame oil, egg, and peas).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferB_RN June 12, 2010

I had a big problem with this recipe....there wasn't enough! My family, all five of us, even the one year old, loved this! I also thickened the sauce a bit and even added a capful of real bourbon! we will be making this again really soon!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheri Lee January 09, 2004

This was really very good. I confess that I did add some vegetables to it,making it somewhat of a stir fry, but did everything else exactly the same. It was spicy and very very tasty. I will be making it again,and again, and again....

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarieRynr August 25, 2003

I am the worst cook, and this Recipe, you would have thought I was a Chef!!! I used the exact Recipe, did not change one thing, besides doubling it, and it was absolutely Delish!!!! My husband, and my girls couldn't believe I made it, so thanks for this awesome dish! I need more recipes like this- cause at almost 44- this was the best yet!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threegs April 24, 2015

This is a fantastic recipe. I come back to it time and time again. I've taken to substituting a pound or so of chopped broccoli and carrots for half of chicken. The veggies soak up the sauce and become the best part.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xninex100 January 24, 2015
Bourbon Chicken