2937 Reviews

The hubby asked me to make this for him again tonight (and he is a picky eater)! We enjoy this dish all the time as it is one of our favorites. I choose to follow the original recipe to the T and it always comes out great. Some times I need the cornstarch for the sauce, other times I don't.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cvaughan88 May 20, 2011

the only thing i did was coat the chicken in cornstarch before cooking it. i followed the directions exactly. the sauce definatly reduces and thickens without adding anything to it. if the directions are followed you really shouldnt have to add any cornstarch to it at all. if you find its not reducing then you simply havent cooked it long enough or the heat may be to low. everyone loved this and even my 7 year old who never likes chinese food. i will make this again for sure.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DomesticatedDiva May 14, 2011

This was very good ... I'll probably cut back on the chilli pepper next time, as I'm not a big fan of spicy foods. I also found that if you let it cook out a little longer than the recipe recommends, the sauce reduces and thickens to a nice consistency. I think I'd like to add some steamed bell peppers to the mixture so we can get some veggies in there.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colleen.Ludgate May 05, 2011

Fast and easy too. I also coated chicken pieces in corn starch before browning.And added broccoli the last three minutes. I think the sauce should be doubled also,especially if adding veggies. I will be making this again and again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silent Whispers April 21, 2011

Great Recipe! We actually triple the sauce, and thicken with cornstarch, cause my kids love to put the sauce extra on the rice. I use applesauce instead of applejuice, and i dont add the red pepper flakes cause my kids are finicky.. but they all 3 eat it up!! Wonderful recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lsmith073104 February 21, 2011

This was wonderful. I doubled it and it seemed a bit hot so I added a touch more of brown sugar. Next time I will use 1/4 less teaspoon of the red pepper, but if you like it spicey - it's perfect as is! I will make this every month as it is very quick and easy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Summer1954 February 01, 2011

OMG I need more stars, This was Fantastic! I really wasn't expecting it to be that great, but it blew me away. I doubled the sauce bc i was serving it over rice but it probably was not necessary but i like a lot of juices so i didn't care that there was so much sauce. You definitely need to add cornstarch to thicken it up a bit, also i reduced the amount of red pepper to 1/2 tea and im so glad i did. I tasted the sauce when it was just about done and it was a little strong so i just added a little water until it tasted alittle mellow. This is dish is going to be around for along time in my kitchen. I think i might try some stir fry veggies in it next time. YUMMY

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FAMILY COOK #1 January 07, 2011

This was good but not WOW 5 stars like the hype i expected, Mine looked nothing like these pictures and followed exact! It had a good flavor was more liquidy and saucy than i intended but i did enjoy the sweet flavor and i steamed broccoli and served it with brown rice.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cam1l1e January 06, 2011

I cannot believe I have not rated this recipe yet! It is delicious. The only thing i do differently is add stir fry veggies in the last 5 minutes or so of cooking. We love this!!!! Thanks, LinMarie

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessicaleah80 January 05, 2011

My husband loved this. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and gave them a really good browning in a grill pan, while I was heating/reducing the sauce. Dumped the thighs into the sauce to finish cooking and get a nice glaze on 'em. I doubled the quantity of sauce, using low-sodium soya, and adding 3 T cornstarch. I only used about half a teaspoon of pepper flakes. I made Basmati rice (Perfect No Fail Basmati Rice) and to plate, I layered the rice, then some stir fried veggies, and then the chicken in bourbon sauce. Delightful!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katannah October 19, 2010
Bourbon Chicken