2944 Reviews

Excellent recipe! I did use pork loin cubes instead of chicken and used orange juice in place of the apple juice. Used fresh ginger and dark brown sugar as that was what I had on hand. No red pepper flakes as I was serving this to someone who can't take the heat. Sprinkled just a bit of cornstarch to pot during last 20 min of cooking to thicken the sauce to what turned out to be perfect consistency. I made it with basmati rice in less time than it would've taken me to call the local Chinese take out delivery restaurant and place an order and wait for it to be delivered.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook November 20, 2014

Great recipe! Followed some reviewers suggestion of reducing the sugar to 1/4 cup, otherwise made as stated. Have now made it several times and I now mostly use bone- and skinless thighs and sometimes also add a cup or two sliced fresh mushrooms. Very nice, simple and flavoursome recipe. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo October 03, 2014

My husband is from Tennessee, transplanted to California, and there was a Chinese Rest. in his area that had a Bourbon Chicken. It was a family run place so I was dead in the water coming up with some of their family recipes. This one is nearly spot on and we loved it. We did do the 1T cornstarch to 1T water slurry as many people recommended to achieve the right thickness. Next time we will back the red pepper flakes down just a touch, use low sodium soy sauce (tiny too salty) and just a bit more brown sugar due to his hummingbird sweet tooth (just a little bit more though). As with any recipe it has to be slightly tweaked to every persons tastebuds. All in all, its a spot on Bourbon Chicken recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christie Howell 2000 July 10, 2014

Good recipe! Forgot the apple juice so I used some pineapple juice I had on hand. I reduced the red pepper to only a 1/4 tsp as I was worried it was going to be too hot based on a previous review. NOPE. Next time I'll bump it up to 1/2 tsp. The sauce was too watery so I thickened it with a couple tsp. of cornstarch so it would "stick" to the chicken and veggies. Much better. I added some chopped celery and broccoli. OMG! The broccoli in the sauce was to die for! The chicken was so-so, and my husband swears it's because it was Kroger brand. He might be right, but I also think my chunks were too big and didn't soak up the sauce like I had hoped - were a bit dry. Next time I'm going to cut them into thin strips like many Chinese dishes have, which I think will compliment this sauce perfectly. The sauce was amazing tasting. Next time I'm also going to add in some carrots and maybe those snap peas or whatever they are called....maybe some of those tiny corn cobs, too. Thanks for a nice recipe that has lots of versitality.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trixyinaz May 07, 2012

i followed this recipe to a T... i didn't care for it too much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chocolatelover#1 November 20, 2011

I've made this recipe quite often and have always loved it! This time I made it with chicken that I marinated in soy sauce, garlic, and fresh ginger, then dredged in corn starch & fried. It was AWESOME! Will definitely do it that way more often :.)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsHudson August 29, 2011

I just love this recipe. I tweaked it a little like I do for most recipes. I put 3-4 tablespoons of corn starch, 1 teaspoon of sesame oil and 1 tablespoon of light soy sauce on the cut up chicken pieces and let set for 1/2 hour while I assemble the rest of the ingredients. I use whatever juice I have in the fridge. This time it was grapefruit juice. I use orange juice the first time I made it. I use rice vinegar instead of apple vinegar. The corn starch helps with the browning and with the thickening.
Easy, quick and tasty. Thanks for sharing Lin Marie

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Cindi August 09, 2011

Fantastic! Serve it with rice & broccoli, it's definitely a crowd pleaser, Thank You!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie1980 August 02, 2011

My daughters would love it if I made this every week! We love the recipe. I add a tablespoon or two of corn starch, or flour to thicken the sauce up just a bit. I also sometimes double the sauce (we like it saucey).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sjones123 June 29, 2011

this is my second time making this... I decided to review it now... The reason? I have made this two ways.. one as written, tonight.. and the one time before I hadn't had ginger so used all spice. Didn't have apple juice so added grapefruit and a 1/4 cup of good Canadian Whiskey. I did as a reviewer suggested to dust chicken with cornstarch.. a very good idea. Without it the sauce is to thin for my family... I gotta say this is my go to recipe for now on.. can be easily made into Curry sauce, BBQ sauce.. anything. I love this recipe and didn't find it too salty and used regular soy sauce. I am on a HBP diet and this worked out great for even me... Thanks LinMarie for a very awesome recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WyomingMoonDust May 31, 2011
Bourbon Chicken