Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bourbon Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bourbon Chicken

    Average Rating:

    2,754 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 2,754

    Sort by:

    • on May 17, 2011

      Too salty, even with reduced sodium soy sauce. 2-3 Tablespoons is all you really need. Replace missing soy with water. I didn't find this hot at all, ended up adding some chili oil to it once plated for added spice. Reminds me more of General Tso's Chicken than bourbon chicken. I also coat my chicken in corn starch before cooking it, just my family's preference, It is wonderful either way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      not that this needs another review...but great easy sauce to make, full of flavor. I threw different veggies in when it was simmering...and they steamed up great. chicken is so tender. hubby loved it too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      Great recipe!! I have made it several times, I double the sauce except the red pepper and ginger. SO GOOD!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      Great flavor and so simple to throw together on a weary night. After reading other reviews, I decided to toss the chicken in cornstarch before frying. This really helped to thicken the sauce. I'm afraid it wouldn't be as appealing without it. Next time I might add some peanuts or cashews for added flavor and crunch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      I wasn't terribly impressed with this recipe, especially for how highly it's been reviewed. It's nice and easy, which is great, but the end result just isn't all that special. I liked the heat from the red pepper, but I think it needs something else. I see some people are serving it with broccoli or pineapple, I'll probably try something like that next time, and possibly thicken the sauce. Bottom line, this is a super easy recipe, that I will probably try again, it just didn't "wow" me or my husband.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      Delicious! My husband loved it! I served it with brown rice and broccolli.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      After seeing this recipe dozens of times I finally decided to try it. I can see why there are almost 3000 reviews. It was delicious. I cut down on the hots but it was still a little too hot for me. I also added a little cornstarch. I can't wait to try this sauce with pork. Great recipe. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      AMAZING!! i wish i would have made more of the sauce than what the recipe calls for though :(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      Delicious!! I made a few alterations. I didn't have Ginger so I used 1/8t of nutmeg and 1/4 ground sage. I cut the red pepper by 1/4 because I didn't know how spicy my kids would think it was... I did add 1T of cornstarch to thicken the sauce. And I cut the apple juice and added a shot of Jack Daniels Whiskey since I didn't have Bourbon. Can't make Bourbon chicken without liquor! It was amazing! And the kids couldn't taste it nor were they affected for all of the extra cautious parents. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Not good at all. My DH was even afraid I was making this again when I was making another recipe. Not sure if I did something wrong, but I thought I followed this exactly. Sorry will not be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2011

      This recipe was easy. I had to make a couple minor changes to the recipe. I did cut the red pepper flakes, adding only 2/3 of what was called for (I can't handle too much spice) and added 1 T of cornstarch to thicken the sauce after simmering for the 20 min. Because my boyfriend is gluten intolerant I also used Bragg's Aminos instead of Soy Sauce. You'd never know the difference. As the other reviewers stated it was a great combination of sweet and spicy. It didn't taste salty, but that may be due to the use of Aminos. I served it over brown rice. There was just enough for the two of us so if you are feeding more than two people you may wish to increase the recipe or have more side dishes -- I only made one. It was an amazing dinner -- "One of the the best things you've ever made." It may be an oldie, but a goodie. Great Recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      After searching for a recipe for what I had on hand, I found this recipe and had everything except the ginger and apple juice...so in making the recipe, I nixed the ginger and used applesauce per other reviews...I also cut back on: the sugar a bit as the applesauce was sweetened, the soy sauce (and used a low sodium soy sauce)...and cut back on the crused red pepper as I just wasn't certain how hot it would be...I added some broccolit and....my family devoured it!!!!! It was very good, and we did not think it was too salty, but I'm sure cutting back on the soy sauce helped that. I would definately recommend this recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      I have made this recipe several times and I love it. It is easy to make and it is sure to be a crowd pleaser. I like adding cashews to it and a little extra red pepper flake. Almost as good as the stuff I made when I use to work at a chinese restaurant!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      Excellent! Added some chopped up bell peppers (red, green and orange), but other than that didn't change a thing. The sauce was a little thin, so next time I with thicken with a little cornstarch like another reviewer recommended.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      I loved this recipe my whole family loved it next time I will have to double the recipe so we can have left overs for the next night. The only thing I did not add was the red pepper flakes because my kids will not eat anything spicey. Oh also I did not have any regular cider on hand so I used apple cider instead and I did not taste any difference. We all loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      Great recipe! Fun to read all the reviews but I had to add one of my own. The sauce makes this dish. I followed it exactly cooking it in a separate pan. I stir fried the chicken first until browned, set it aside then stir fried broccoli, onions and carrots. Added everything together and cooked in the sauce for about 15 minutes until chicken was just done. Served it over rice. Double the sauce and you can fix a very large dish adding other veggies and more chicken at will. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      This was so easy and so tasty. with some steamed broccoli and rice it was to die. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      This is delicious! I did not have any garlic so used garlic powder as a substitute. I added green onions and served over rice. I will make this again! Thanks for sharing and thanks to those who take time to review!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      this was delicious. served over jasmine rice instead of white whole family loved it . next time gonna add some stirfry. thank you for the recipe it is wonderful

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bourbon Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (330 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.4
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    42%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 145.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1573.0 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 21.4 g
    85%
    Protein 50.0 g
    100%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites