Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bourbon Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bourbon Chicken

    Average Rating:

    2,809 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 2,809

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2013

      This is a big hit! I usually stick to the recipe, but from time to time I mix in broccoli or stir fry veggies. I also coat the chicken with flour before frying.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2013

      NOT BOURBON CHICKEN! But still a tasty recipe. This recipe is more like General Tso's chicken than what my local place calls Bourbon chicken. It has quite a bit of kick too! It was still a good recipe, just misleading by the name.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2013

      This dish is absolutely delicious! I have used many recipes from this website and all have been impressive, but this was the one that compelled me to register for the site so I could show my appreciation! I followed this to a T except I used chicken thighs, much more tender than chicken breast. I made this for my partner and his brother and everyone was blown away by the flavour. Considering the very simple list of ingredients this requires, and the perfect outcome this is going to be a permanent fixture on our dinner menu!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      Excellent recipe. I doubled the juice and ginger and left everything else the same. I added some toasted sesame oil at the end and thickened all of that broth with a little cornstarch slurry. A small can of slice water chestnuts was a nice addition. I like the way the sauce got brown and looked delicious... and it WAS delicious. I'll keep the single serve bottles of apple juice in my freezer for when I need this quick meal to toss together. I think pepper and onions would be a nice addition... or really any kind of vegetable.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      This was absolutely fantastic and easy to prepare. I mixed the sauce ahead of time and cooked the chicken about ? hour before she got home. She walked in the door and 15 minutes it was served. This is definitely a %u201Cdo over%u201D and made for a great lunch the next day. I doubled the sauce as many people pointed out and it was prefect. This is by far a great recipe!!! Thank you very much to the creator who posted the recipe. Mike

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      LOVE! used a little less sugar, but otherwise perfect, didn't need any thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      I followed the recipe to the T. It didn't taste exactly like the Bourbon chicken in the mall, but DANG was it goooooood!!!! I will definitely be making this again soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      Great chicken! I used one pound of chicken and doubled the sauce. Mixed the sauce ingredients in a separate bowl before frying the chicken. This gave the sugar time to dissolve. Once the chicken was cooked, I added the sauce and simmered for 20 minutes. I added a cornstarch slurry at the end to thicken the sauce. Served over jasmine rice. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      It was good but not outstanding. I don't see why it's the most popular recipe on this site. I think probably from reading all these reviews my expectations were too high.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      This was wonderful and too easy! A friend kept raving about her Bourbon Chicken so I looked and found it here. Used OJ instead of apple juice as that is what I had and it worked perfectly. Also added some cornstarch to the sauce as other reviewers and my friend suggested. Mixed the sauce ingredients in a bowl while the chicken cooked. My husband loved this over rice. Will be making again for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      I prepared this today and it was a hit. We have friends staying with us because their power went out after a recent storm, and a neighbor's child who is always over - 12 people in all! Needless to say, there were no leftovers and it has been requested that I prepare (a bigger batch) tomorrow. I did do a couple of things different than the recipe after reading reviews: 1) I used fresh zested ginger in place of the powder form; 2) I used a little more oil than the recipe calls for the brown the chicken; 3) I combined and whisked the ingredients for the sauce in a bowl prior to heating in the pan; 4) I added the red pepper to taste; 5) Instead of soy sauce, I used Braggs liquid aminos to cut down the amount of sodium a little. This is a keeper for my household!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      After so many rave reviews, I was pretty confident that this would be a fantastic recipe...sorry to say I was a tad bit underwhelmed. The chicken (after cooking for 25 minutes) had a nice flavor but was pretty rubbery--blech. The sauce was too thin, although flavorful. Served it over steamed brown rice. I think it has potential, but not sure I'll make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      made this one a million times, I use what ever juice I have on hand, I even used hawaiian punch once lol and it comes out perfect every time! thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      fantastic! My hubby is obsessed with bourban chicken and was all weirded out by ketchup and apple juice sauce... Tasted amazing we made it to a T and it was perfect! Definitely make over and over again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      OK. I'm going to give this 5 stars. Don't be afraid to let the sauce cook down, no need for cornstarch thickener. I am going to double the sauce the next time and add some oriental-style vegs(pre-cooked or stir fried) after the sauce has cooked-down. Also, I highly recommend using a low sodium soy sauce!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      Wow this was amazing considering the short list of ingredients!Packs a flavorful punch.I coated my chicken pieces in cornstarch as others suggested,added more garlic(3 Cloves) and cut the sugar to a 1/4 and only added 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes (my little one would have complained otherwise)Once I had brought to a boil and started simmering I realized I didn't have enough sauce! so I just mixed up some more in a bowl and dumped it in the pan and 20 minutes later we had a great dinner with lots of sauce for our rice:)Save time double your sauce!Also I tasted the sauce when I first mixed it up and thought"oh no I don't like it!"trust me the flavours get wonderful after it cooks,glad I didn't chuck it!Husband loved and little one did too.Thanks Linmarie for posting this gem,not that you needed another 5 star review:D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      Wonderful recipe added some onion cut up in wedges and broccoli.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2011

      I just love this recipe. I tweaked it a little like I do for most recipes. I put 3-4 tablespoons of corn starch, 1 teaspoon of sesame oil and 1 tablespoon of light soy sauce on the cut up chicken pieces and let set for 1/2 hour while I assemble the rest of the ingredients. I use whatever juice I have in the fridge. This time it was grapefruit juice. I use orange juice the first time I made it. I use rice vinegar instead of apple vinegar. The corn starch helps with the browning and with the thickening.
      Easy, quick and tasty. Thanks for sharing Lin Marie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      Pretty yummy! For apple juice, I only had a 6oz juice box, so I ended up mixing the extra 2oz with a bit of cornstarch to thicken it up. Served it over rice and with steamed broccoli. I used 1/4tsp of pepper flakes, but will probably go up to 1/2tsp next time. Doubled the ginger. I used boneless chicken thighs. Will definitely make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      Ohmigosh, this was EXCELLENT!!! I did add a little cornstarch to it (about a tablespoon) to help thicken it up but otherwise made it as it says. It's absolutely fabulous. Yes, it does have quite a kick to it! Perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bourbon Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (330 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.4
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    42%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 145.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1573.0 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 21.4 g
    85%
    Protein 50.0 g
    100%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes