2908 Reviews

Cooked this last night. Was impressed with how good this tasted given the ingredients, but it was delicious. Like others, I also doubled the sauce and added a tablespoon of cornstarch at the end to thicken it up a bit. I thought it was a bit too spicy with the red pepper flakes, but my husband who loves spicy food actually wished I had put more red pepper in it, so I'm sure for someone in the middle, it will be perfect. Definitely will try cooking again, maybe next time adding some veggies.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wbishop26 December 17, 2010

Excellent recipe. I made this for my husband and his best friend and we all gave it 5 stars. Yes, the sauce is thin but could be thickened with some cornstarch. Fast and easy to make also.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blockhead7 May 05, 2011

This is amazing!!!! It's so easy to make! One time I used orange juice since I didn't have apple juice and it was still delicious! I skip the red pepper too. I serve it with rice and broccoli. I always double the recipe so I can take it for lunch the next day too! Thanks for the recipe!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristalina17 March 20, 2011

All I really need is one word...YUM! This is one of those recipes that is so easy to make and has so much flavor you can't believe it was that easy. I cut the red pepper down to 1/2 tsp because I wasn't sure if it would be too hot for my mother, but I think the 3/4 would be fine for her and of course I love things hot so if I was making for myself would use the full amount. Just a hint of sweet, tangy and simply delicious. I used boneless chicken thighs in place of the chicken breast. Thanks for sharing!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 February 24, 2011

Great recipe! Made this for my family and we all enjoyed it. The only thing I did was added broccoli, mushrooms, and a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmaiorana February 07, 2011

This recipe was totally awesome. I did add onion and green peppers for some vegetables.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Clara, Hudson & Danica's NANA February 01, 2011

As soon as I saw this recipe I knew I had to try it and so glad I did! My whole family loved this meal. I did, however, cook boneless, skinless chicken breast for 5 hours in my slow cooker. I made the sauce and poured in over the chicken as the cooking liquid. Once the chicken finished cooking, I chunked it and made a slurry to add to the sauce to thicken it. I also cooked thin spaghetti noodles (separately), with choppped broccoli, drained, then added it to the sauce and tossed around.

This is definitely a "winner" of a meal and am making it again today!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinderbell January 17, 2011

Awesome!! I used 4 chicken breasts, doubled all the sauce ingredients except the sugar and red pepper flakes. I also used applesauce in place of the juice b/c thats what I had. We ran out of soy sauce so I only put in about 3/4 cup total...it was plenty!! Thanks for an awesome recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deseve8 July 22, 2010

The Bourbon chicken is very good I also love Bourbon Beef, thanks for the recipe. I do not understand why people feel the need to make changes without first making the original receipt as it is. I find it a bit insulting to the cook.........Thanks again and keep the recipe coming I check everyday for new recipes.........

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lind40 November 30, 2015

TERRIBLE! I followed the recipe precisely. The sauce tastes like what it is: an over-sweetened mixture of soy sauce and ketchup. It also tastes like it's missing something... (actually, like it's missing a lot of things). Every one my family hated it. From the high reviews and ratings, I guess the rest of the country likes such garbage, but it won't cut it with this native Texan.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
droxford December 28, 2014
Bourbon Chicken