2868 Reviews

Cooked this last night. Was impressed with how good this tasted given the ingredients, but it was delicious. Like others, I also doubled the sauce and added a tablespoon of cornstarch at the end to thicken it up a bit. I thought it was a bit too spicy with the red pepper flakes, but my husband who loves spicy food actually wished I had put more red pepper in it, so I'm sure for someone in the middle, it will be perfect. Definitely will try cooking again, maybe next time adding some veggies.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wbishop26 December 17, 2010

Excellent recipe. I made this for my husband and his best friend and we all gave it 5 stars. Yes, the sauce is thin but could be thickened with some cornstarch. Fast and easy to make also.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blockhead7 May 05, 2011

This is amazing!!!! It's so easy to make! One time I used orange juice since I didn't have apple juice and it was still delicious! I skip the red pepper too. I serve it with rice and broccoli. I always double the recipe so I can take it for lunch the next day too! Thanks for the recipe!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristalina17 March 20, 2011

All I really need is one word...YUM! This is one of those recipes that is so easy to make and has so much flavor you can't believe it was that easy. I cut the red pepper down to 1/2 tsp because I wasn't sure if it would be too hot for my mother, but I think the 3/4 would be fine for her and of course I love things hot so if I was making for myself would use the full amount. Just a hint of sweet, tangy and simply delicious. I used boneless chicken thighs in place of the chicken breast. Thanks for sharing!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 February 24, 2011

Great recipe! Made this for my family and we all enjoyed it. The only thing I did was added broccoli, mushrooms, and a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmaiorana February 07, 2011

This recipe was totally awesome. I did add onion and green peppers for some vegetables.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Clara, Hudson & Danica's NANA February 01, 2011

As soon as I saw this recipe I knew I had to try it and so glad I did! My whole family loved this meal. I did, however, cook boneless, skinless chicken breast for 5 hours in my slow cooker. I made the sauce and poured in over the chicken as the cooking liquid. Once the chicken finished cooking, I chunked it and made a slurry to add to the sauce to thicken it. I also cooked thin spaghetti noodles (separately), with choppped broccoli, drained, then added it to the sauce and tossed around.

This is definitely a "winner" of a meal and am making it again today!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinderbell January 17, 2011

Awesome!! I used 4 chicken breasts, doubled all the sauce ingredients except the sugar and red pepper flakes. I also used applesauce in place of the juice b/c thats what I had. We ran out of soy sauce so I only put in about 3/4 cup total...it was plenty!! Thanks for an awesome recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deseve8 July 22, 2010

Great recipe! Followed some reviewers suggestion of reducing the sugar to 1/4 cup, otherwise made as stated. Have now made it several times and I now mostly use bone- and skinless thighs and sometimes also add a cup or two sliced fresh mushrooms. Very nice, simple and flavoursome recipe. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo October 03, 2014

My husband is from Tennessee, transplanted to California, and there was a Chinese Rest. in his area that had a Bourbon Chicken. It was a family run place so I was dead in the water coming up with some of their family recipes. This one is nearly spot on and we loved it. We did do the 1T cornstarch to 1T water slurry as many people recommended to achieve the right thickness. Next time we will back the red pepper flakes down just a touch, use low sodium soy sauce (tiny too salty) and just a bit more brown sugar due to his hummingbird sweet tooth (just a little bit more though). As with any recipe it has to be slightly tweaked to every persons tastebuds. All in all, its a spot on Bourbon Chicken recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christie Howell 2000 July 11, 2014
Bourbon Chicken