Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bourbon Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bourbon Chicken

    Average Rating:

    2,802 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 2,802

    Sort by:

    • on August 02, 2011

      Fantastic! Serve it with rice & broccoli, it's definitely a crowd pleaser, Thank You!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      My daughters would love it if I made this every week! We love the recipe. I add a tablespoon or two of corn starch, or flour to thicken the sauce up just a bit. I also sometimes double the sauce (we like it saucey).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      The hubby asked me to make this for him again tonight (and he is a picky eater)! We enjoy this dish all the time as it is one of our favorites. I choose to follow the original recipe to the T and it always comes out great. Some times I need the cornstarch for the sauce, other times I don't.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      the only thing i did was coat the chicken in cornstarch before cooking it. i followed the directions exactly. the sauce definatly reduces and thickens without adding anything to it. if the directions are followed you really shouldnt have to add any cornstarch to it at all. if you find its not reducing then you simply havent cooked it long enough or the heat may be to low. everyone loved this and even my 7 year old who never likes chinese food. i will make this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      This was very good ... I'll probably cut back on the chilli pepper next time, as I'm not a big fan of spicy foods. I also found that if you let it cook out a little longer than the recipe recommends, the sauce reduces and thickens to a nice consistency. I think I'd like to add some steamed bell peppers to the mixture so we can get some veggies in there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      Fast and easy too. I also coated chicken pieces in corn starch before browning.And added broccoli the last three minutes. I think the sauce should be doubled also,especially if adding veggies. I will be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Great Recipe! We actually triple the sauce, and thicken with cornstarch, cause my kids love to put the sauce extra on the rice. I use applesauce instead of applejuice, and i dont add the red pepper flakes cause my kids are finicky.. but they all 3 eat it up!! Wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      This was wonderful. I doubled it and it seemed a bit hot so I added a touch more of brown sugar. Next time I will use 1/4 less teaspoon of the red pepper, but if you like it spicey - it's perfect as is! I will make this every month as it is very quick and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      OMG I need more stars, This was Fantastic! I really wasn't expecting it to be that great, but it blew me away. I doubled the sauce bc i was serving it over rice but it probably was not necessary but i like a lot of juices so i didn't care that there was so much sauce. You definitely need to add cornstarch to thicken it up a bit, also i reduced the amount of red pepper to 1/2 tea and im so glad i did. I tasted the sauce when it was just about done and it was a little strong so i just added a little water until it tasted alittle mellow. This is dish is going to be around for along time in my kitchen. I think i might try some stir fry veggies in it next time. YUMMY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      This was good but not WOW 5 stars like the hype i expected, Mine looked nothing like these pictures and followed exact! It had a good flavor was more liquidy and saucy than i intended but i did enjoy the sweet flavor and i steamed broccoli and served it with brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      I cannot believe I have not rated this recipe yet! It is delicious. The only thing i do differently is add stir fry veggies in the last 5 minutes or so of cooking. We love this!!!! Thanks, LinMarie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      My husband loved this. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and gave them a really good browning in a grill pan, while I was heating/reducing the sauce. Dumped the thighs into the sauce to finish cooking and get a nice glaze on 'em. I doubled the quantity of sauce, using low-sodium soya, and adding 3 T cornstarch. I only used about half a teaspoon of pepper flakes. I made Basmati rice (Perfect No Fail Basmati Rice) and to plate, I layered the rice, then some stir fried veggies, and then the chicken in bourbon sauce. Delightful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      My whole family loved this! It is not at all too spicy for me (or even for my husband, who is a big wimp with spice), but my 10-yr old needed a few glasses of lemonade to finish it. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs, and I did thicken with 1 Tbsp of cornstarch as suggested by another reviewer. I served it with my own fried rice (Uncle Ben's chicken brown rice in the pouch, cooked in a pan with margarine, sesame oil, egg, and peas).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      I had a big problem with this recipe....there wasn't enough! My family, all five of us, even the one year old, loved this! I also thickened the sauce a bit and even added a capful of real bourbon! we will be making this again really soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2003

      This was really very good. I confess that I did add some vegetables to it,making it somewhat of a stir fry, but did everything else exactly the same. It was spicy and very very tasty. I will be making it again,and again, and again....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2014

      Great recipe! Followed some reviewers suggestion of reducing the sugar to 1/4 cup, otherwise made as stated. Have now made it several times and I now mostly use bone- and skinless thighs and sometimes also add a cup or two sliced fresh mushrooms. Very nice, simple and flavoursome recipe. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2014

      This recipe is awesome! I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers by doubling the sauce, using only a pinch of red pepper flakes, added scallions, coated the chicken in cornstarch and lightly frying it, served over brown rice with steamed broccoli, let the sauce simmer for 35 to 40 mins so it will thicken (no need to add more cornstarch if you let it simmer longer), and used low sodium soy sauce. This recipe turned out great. This is the first time I tried a new recipe and it turned out great the first time around. Definitely a keeper in my house : )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2014

      Changes by reviews... Added 1/2 tsp black pepper to chicken browning. Decreased brown sugar to 1/3 cup loosely packed. Thickened at end with 1 Tbl cornstarch/1 Tbl water.<br/>I'm an excellent cook and very picky on many of these online recipes. Many are over rated. <br/>This recipe is very good. I also made the top rated chinese fried rice by Sue Lau on here with it which also was very good. The whole house moaned and groaned. You know it's good when they don't talk, lol.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      I've had this recipe for a couple of yrs and just made it this past weekend. I followed the recipe to a tee. no substitutions. At first I was worrying about the sauce not thickening up after the recommended cooking time and was going to add cornstarch but I turned up the heat to high and gave it a hard boil and then turned it off. Wah-lah!! It was thick. I like the flavor in the sauce. it was sweet with a kick. I only buy low sodium soy sauce so I had no problem with it being too salty. I will be definitely making this again and sharing the recipe with friends. I think next time I'll fry some chicken and coat them in this sauce. Good stuff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      Awesome with a little heat! Food.com is making me a better cook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bourbon Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (330 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.4
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    42%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 145.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1573.0 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 21.4 g
    85%
    Protein 50.0 g
    100%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites