2833 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm sorry that I have not reviewed this before now! I make this recipe frequently, with some adjustments. I do not use flour or corn starch. I just let it simmer while the rice cooker is going, and it always thickens up. I often use orange juice instead of apple and it still is wonderful. For those who find it salty, try the low sodium soy sauce. It really makes a difference. I also don't use any red pepper since we're wimps here! I always double the sauce, because it is so yummy on the rice and any veggies you pair with the meal. I love that this is a quick, much fresher tasting alternative to take-out. Thanks for posting!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allysundrop July 08, 2011

I LOVE this recipe. So simple and very delicious! I had to sub white wine for the apple juice and coated the chicken with a little flour as other reviewers suggested (out of corn starch too) and I used about 1/4 cup sugar. I served this in bowls over white rice and broccoli and it was so good. Next time I will double the sauce because it was so delicious and I want it to ooze down over my broccoli and rice (my family definitely agreed). Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe, I can't wait to make it again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milkman's Daughter June 22, 2011

amazing! the trick i found is to crank the heat and let the sauce thicken. while this is going on, i steam broccoli, snap peas, carrots, mushrooms, and bell pepper in my rice cooker. Combine the vegetables with the chicken for a minute to mix all the flavors and serve over rice. a staple in my household.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger's Place February 20, 2011

Love love love this!!! I tripled the recipe (we were feeding a lot of people) I made extra sauce, added 2 bags of stir fry veggies and about 4 cups of brown rice. Made a complete meal! Everyone loved it! Even the three year olds. I added a little Asian hot sauce to my own bowl.( I like spicy) I also had to add cornstarch to thicken up the sauce. Overall a super delicious recipe. We will be making this frequently. Thanks!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lacysue31102 December 23, 2010

I made this with leftover Thanksgiving turkey and it was a big hit. Very easy to make and I just "eyeballed" all the ingredients instead of measuring. My family's joke was that I made Bourbon Chicken, and it didn't have bourbon in it. It also didn't have chicken :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tajgood1 November 27, 2010

This was AMAZING....my family could not stop raving about it. I doubled the sauce recipe, but still only added the 3/4 t of the red pepper flakes and it still was a little spicy for the kids. However it didn't stop them from having seconds. Next time I will cut down on the pepper flakes to maybe a 1/4t or 1/2t. I got the bag of Oriental Stir-fry Vegtables from Aldi's that someone had suggested in an previous review and it was perfect! I also mixed a little extra apple juice and a bit of corn starch together and added it towards the end to thicken up the sauce. This was a great and quick meal. My family was so full afterward that nobody had room for the Strawberry Pie I made.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nball_pchef August 26, 2010

Everyone in my family loves this. I add a little bit of corn starch to thicken the sauce and serve over Jasmine rice with broccoli.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wondermommy04 August 24, 2010

This recipe was REALLY good, but just a little too salty for our tastes. We will definitely make it again, but with low-sodium soy sauce this time!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindsey_bb August 11, 2010

I'll join all the other reviewers that loved this recipe. I thought it was the perfect combination of spicy and sweet. Even DS said it wasn't too hot....he said it was perfect. I served over rice with a side of sugar snap peas. I'd like to try it with some steamed broccoli added in. Thanks for the great recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom July 25, 2010

All I can say is "WOW" This is an awesome dish ~ just the right amount of spice and sweetness. I did add cornstarch to thicken the sauce, but other than that made exactly as written. Served with white rice and chopped broccoli. DD mixed hers all together and DH and I followed suit. Will definitely make again. Thanks for posting this! Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft April 09, 2011
Bourbon Chicken