2855 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic!! I have never had bourbon chicken so I cannot comment on the authenticity but who cares what you call it, its great! I love that I always have the ingredients on hand without planning ahead to stop in the Asian section of the grocery store. I have made this once a week since I found this recipe and here is what has worked for me. First of all, double the sauce because it is delicious over rice. Secondly, my chunks of chicken cooked through in less than 20 minutes so I had dinner on the table even faster. Finally, to combat the extra sauce and shorter cook time, I added a little bit of cornstarch slurry at the end to thicken it. No big deal and worth the extra step to have dinner in 15 minutes. Thank you for a perfect recipe!

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chani Goldstein September 21, 2010

You have to make the sauce and cook the meat in order to appreciate this recipe. You can taste the sauce first and determine. This recipe is used by all of the oriental resturantes in my area and are a best seller. If you want the liquour taste, then this is not for you. If up are a drinker, then no this recipe is not for you. Thank You Very Much DOloris

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LinMarie January 01, 2003

I've made this twice now. Once for myself, DH and DD. I didn't have apple juice so I substituted orange.I also used low-sodium soy and only 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes. At the advice of others I coated the chicken (and tofu) in cornstarch and lightly fried both. I removed the chicken and tofu and heated the sauce. After 15 minutes of the sauce not thickening I added 1 Tbsp. of cornstarch mixed with 1 Tbsp. of water to thicken. Worked perfectly. I added the chicken for the last 5 minutes to finish cooking. The chicken was moist and perfectly cooked.

The second time I made this was for DH's family (10 people). I cooked 3 lbs. of chicken and 2 bricks of tofu, again coated in cornstarch. I doubled the sauce and had just enough. And this time I used apple juice and honestly couldn't tell the difference between apple and orange. It went over really well.

This was a huge hit and I love how easy it is. This will definitely become part of our rotation!

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babybub May 31, 2011

Made this in a dutch oven, on a camping trip recently. It was delicious! Everyone just loved it. I didn't have one complaint. It was easy, I just pre-mixed the sauce ahead of time to cut down on prep time before dinner. I couldn't have been more happy with the results. Needless to say, we had a lot of happy campers! Thank you for the wonderful recipe.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnaBee July 26, 2010

This was a big hit in my family! Even my 19 month old ate it up. I did make a few changes based on previous reviews... doubled the sauce, used half the sugar called for, used applesauce instead of juice, and I dredged the chicken pieces in cornstarch before cooking them. Also, I only added the chicken breast back in the sauce for the last 10 minutes. Turned out great! Served with stirfried veggies (carrot, mushroom, zucchini, and onion) and rice. I probably would lower the sugar a bit more the next time, as it was still a bit sweet for our taste. Thanks for a great recipe!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GertieGirl July 01, 2010

This chicken was easy and very tasty! I added a small pack of frozen stirfry veggies to the sauce & chicken while it was cooking & it was delicious! This will be a repeat for my family!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jasonlovesjenn July 21, 2010

This was great I didn't change a thing. It was very easy to make. Both my husband and I think it's a keeper Thanks

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosie H February 06, 2003

My kids loved it. I followed the recipe step by step. I love bourbon chicken but this did not taste like bourbon chicken to me. It still was very delicious we love spicy foods. next time I will add 1/4 cup of bourbon. You can also mix the ingredients and marinade overnight. Drain chicken but make sure you save marinate. Brown chicken, add marinate & bring to boil. add (2 tsp of cornstarch dissolved with water) to thicken sauce at the end.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
edgar0523m May 05, 2011

My family loves this recipe. We're making it for the 2nd time tonight.The first time we made it exactly as written. Tonight doubled the sauce and we've added broccoli, mushrooms, water chestnuts and carrots and it's AMAZING!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CryPixie83 January 27, 2011

Very good flavor. I like the sauce to thicken so took the chicken out and boiled the sauce longer. The chicken pieces were done before 20 minutes so check at 15 minutes.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jog4me March 19, 2011
Bourbon Chicken