Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bourbon Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bourbon Chicken

    Average Rating:

    2,809 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 2,809

    Sort by:

    • on June 22, 2011

      I LOVE this recipe. So simple and very delicious! I had to sub white wine for the apple juice and coated the chicken with a little flour as other reviewers suggested (out of corn starch too) and I used about 1/4 cup sugar. I served this in bowls over white rice and broccoli and it was so good. Next time I will double the sauce because it was so delicious and I want it to ooze down over my broccoli and rice (my family definitely agreed). Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe, I can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      amazing! the trick i found is to crank the heat and let the sauce thicken. while this is going on, i steam broccoli, snap peas, carrots, mushrooms, and bell pepper in my rice cooker. Combine the vegetables with the chicken for a minute to mix all the flavors and serve over rice. a staple in my household.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      Love love love this!!! I tripled the recipe (we were feeding a lot of people) I made extra sauce, added 2 bags of stir fry veggies and about 4 cups of brown rice. Made a complete meal! Everyone loved it! Even the three year olds. I added a little Asian hot sauce to my own bowl.( I like spicy) I also had to add cornstarch to thicken up the sauce. Overall a super delicious recipe. We will be making this frequently. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      I made this with leftover Thanksgiving turkey and it was a big hit. Very easy to make and I just "eyeballed" all the ingredients instead of measuring. My family's joke was that I made Bourbon Chicken, and it didn't have bourbon in it. It also didn't have chicken :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      This was AMAZING....my family could not stop raving about it. I doubled the sauce recipe, but still only added the 3/4 t of the red pepper flakes and it still was a little spicy for the kids. However it didn't stop them from having seconds. Next time I will cut down on the pepper flakes to maybe a 1/4t or 1/2t. I got the bag of Oriental Stir-fry Vegtables from Aldi's that someone had suggested in an previous review and it was perfect! I also mixed a little extra apple juice and a bit of corn starch together and added it towards the end to thicken up the sauce. This was a great and quick meal. My family was so full afterward that nobody had room for the Strawberry Pie I made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      Everyone in my family loves this. I add a little bit of corn starch to thicken the sauce and serve over Jasmine rice with broccoli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      This recipe was REALLY good, but just a little too salty for our tastes. We will definitely make it again, but with low-sodium soy sauce this time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      I'll join all the other reviewers that loved this recipe. I thought it was the perfect combination of spicy and sweet. Even DS said it wasn't too hot....he said it was perfect. I served over rice with a side of sugar snap peas. I'd like to try it with some steamed broccoli added in. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      I'm sorry that I have not reviewed this before now! I make this recipe frequently, with some adjustments. I do not use flour or corn starch. I just let it simmer while the rice cooker is going, and it always thickens up. I often use orange juice instead of apple and it still is wonderful. For those who find it salty, try the low sodium soy sauce. It really makes a difference. I also don't use any red pepper since we're wimps here! I always double the sauce, because it is so yummy on the rice and any veggies you pair with the meal. I love that this is a quick, much fresher tasting alternative to take-out. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      Excellent recipe. I made this for my husband and his best friend and we all gave it 5 stars. Yes, the sauce is thin but could be thickened with some cornstarch. Fast and easy to make also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      All I can say is "WOW" This is an awesome dish ~ just the right amount of spice and sweetness. I did add cornstarch to thicken the sauce, but other than that made exactly as written. Served with white rice and chopped broccoli. DD mixed hers all together and DH and I followed suit. Will definitely make again. Thanks for posting this! Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      This is amazing!!!! It's so easy to make! One time I used orange juice since I didn't have apple juice and it was still delicious! I skip the red pepper too. I serve it with rice and broccoli. I always double the recipe so I can take it for lunch the next day too! Thanks for the recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      All I really need is one word...YUM! This is one of those recipes that is so easy to make and has so much flavor you can't believe it was that easy. I cut the red pepper down to 1/2 tsp because I wasn't sure if it would be too hot for my mother, but I think the 3/4 would be fine for her and of course I love things hot so if I was making for myself would use the full amount. Just a hint of sweet, tangy and simply delicious. I used boneless chicken thighs in place of the chicken breast. Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      Great recipe! Made this for my family and we all enjoyed it. The only thing I did was added broccoli, mushrooms, and a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      This recipe was totally awesome. I did add onion and green peppers for some vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      As soon as I saw this recipe I knew I had to try it and so glad I did! My whole family loved this meal. I did, however, cook boneless, skinless chicken breast for 5 hours in my slow cooker. I made the sauce and poured in over the chicken as the cooking liquid. Once the chicken finished cooking, I chunked it and made a slurry to add to the sauce to thicken it. I also cooked thin spaghetti noodles (separately), with choppped broccoli, drained, then added it to the sauce and tossed around.

      This is definitely a "winner" of a meal and am making it again today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      Cooked this last night. Was impressed with how good this tasted given the ingredients, but it was delicious. Like others, I also doubled the sauce and added a tablespoon of cornstarch at the end to thicken it up a bit. I thought it was a bit too spicy with the red pepper flakes, but my husband who loves spicy food actually wished I had put more red pepper in it, so I'm sure for someone in the middle, it will be perfect. Definitely will try cooking again, maybe next time adding some veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      Awesome!! I used 4 chicken breasts, doubled all the sauce ingredients except the sugar and red pepper flakes. I also used applesauce in place of the juice b/c thats what I had. We ran out of soy sauce so I only put in about 3/4 cup total...it was plenty!! Thanks for an awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      i followed this recipe to a T... i didn't care for it too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      I've made this recipe quite often and have always loved it! This time I made it with chicken that I marinated in soy sauce, garlic, and fresh ginger, then dredged in corn starch & fried. It was AWESOME! Will definitely do it that way more often :.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bourbon Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (330 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.4
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    42%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 145.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1573.0 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 21.4 g
    85%
    Protein 50.0 g
    100%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes