2908 Reviews

Way too sweet, and very similar to "Japanese mum's chicken" from this site.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bellabby July 22, 2010

I thought I had already left a review of this wonderful recipe! My entire family LOVES this dish. I like to make just a tad more sauce so we can have a little extra to mix with our brown rice....just the right amount of spicy fom me but my DH & DD wouldn't mind a bit more heat. I love that it's sweet & spicy & it's perfect served with broccoli, asparagus, or snow peas. (almost any green veggie) Thanks, LinMarie, for a super recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texaspollock July 21, 2010

I LoVeD this recipe!!! it was perfect we tried it with brown rice and made lettuce wraps. Very tasty and nice for a summer dinner. it came out perfect

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy McBride July 07, 2010

My boyfriend made this for me a few days ago. It is fantastic. We tweeked it a little by adding bell pepper and onion into it. It was so good we're making it again tonight.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kbmaddox June 27, 2010

20 stars would be better then 5 for this recipe. I don't know that I can add any more then what has already been said about this fab, easy, and tasty dish. My husband is in love with Bourbon Chicken since he was a kid. He's never had a homemade version he liked...until now. Thanks so much Lin I really appreciate it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hallie&Colton'sMoma June 09, 2010

Great dish and definitely a step up from most take out. I followed the directions pretty much but did take the advice from some reviews and added a cornstarch slurry.I do double the sauce so when I make the slurry I mix the 1 tbsp cornstarch with apple juice instead of water since doubling the sauce already calls for 1 cup of water. It's also not a bad idea to start with a screaming hot pan with oil added just before the chicken so you get good browning without cooking the chicken all the way through.Since it needs to be simmered later it may tend to overcook if you saute it to the browning point. I get great results this way ! Thanks for the recipe Lin :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goodieman May 17, 2010

This was really delicious. I'd suggest using low-sodium soy sauce. Regular soy sauce is okay if you're eating it right away, but if there are leftovers, the saltiness really gets into the chicken, and it's way too much. Eating right after cooking, though, it doesn't really matter. This recipe is so much like what you get at your typical Chinese mall-food-court place. Fantastic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cluich May 15, 2010

YUM!! Love this recipe! And the whole family ate it - this is a HUGE accomplishment!! I made 4x the sauce to make sure I'd have enough left over to freeze, and found it was probably enough for 2 meals for us. I followed the recipe as stated except to leave out the red pepper since the kids won't eat spicy. I just gave the shaker to my DH to dump as he liked on his plate! I also had to add the corn starch like other reviewers noted to thicken it enough for our liking. We found it a tich salty, so we'll probably cut back a little on the soy sauce next time. This recipe is definitely a keeper and will be made often!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naomi Up North May 12, 2010

I have rated this before, and made it dozens of times since, taking different liberties on various ingrediants, but last night was the ultimate testiment to how delicious this truly is. My three year old passed up ice cream in favor of a second helping of this dinner! I do prefer it made with dark meat, though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildflower5656 May 04, 2010

My husband loves this recipe so I make it on occasion. It's a little too sweet for me but I still eat it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spinarita April 17, 2010
Bourbon Chicken