2844 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

20 stars would be better then 5 for this recipe. I don't know that I can add any more then what has already been said about this fab, easy, and tasty dish. My husband is in love with Bourbon Chicken since he was a kid. He's never had a homemade version he liked...until now. Thanks so much Lin I really appreciate it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hallie&Colton'sMoma June 09, 2010

Great dish and definitely a step up from most take out. I followed the directions pretty much but did take the advice from some reviews and added a cornstarch slurry.I do double the sauce so when I make the slurry I mix the 1 tbsp cornstarch with apple juice instead of water since doubling the sauce already calls for 1 cup of water. It's also not a bad idea to start with a screaming hot pan with oil added just before the chicken so you get good browning without cooking the chicken all the way through.Since it needs to be simmered later it may tend to overcook if you saute it to the browning point. I get great results this way ! Thanks for the recipe Lin :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goodieman May 17, 2010

This was really delicious. I'd suggest using low-sodium soy sauce. Regular soy sauce is okay if you're eating it right away, but if there are leftovers, the saltiness really gets into the chicken, and it's way too much. Eating right after cooking, though, it doesn't really matter. This recipe is so much like what you get at your typical Chinese mall-food-court place. Fantastic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cluich May 15, 2010

YUM!! Love this recipe! And the whole family ate it - this is a HUGE accomplishment!! I made 4x the sauce to make sure I'd have enough left over to freeze, and found it was probably enough for 2 meals for us. I followed the recipe as stated except to leave out the red pepper since the kids won't eat spicy. I just gave the shaker to my DH to dump as he liked on his plate! I also had to add the corn starch like other reviewers noted to thicken it enough for our liking. We found it a tich salty, so we'll probably cut back a little on the soy sauce next time. This recipe is definitely a keeper and will be made often!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naomi Up North May 12, 2010

I have rated this before, and made it dozens of times since, taking different liberties on various ingrediants, but last night was the ultimate testiment to how delicious this truly is. My three year old passed up ice cream in favor of a second helping of this dinner! I do prefer it made with dark meat, though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildflower5656 May 04, 2010

My husband loves this recipe so I make it on occasion. It's a little too sweet for me but I still eat it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spinarita April 17, 2010

This recipe was delicious! I used about 2-1/2lbs of chicken, but tripled up on the sauce after reading some of the reviews. I did do less sugar since my bf is a diabetic, (didn't want it too sweet). However, I did not think that it was spicy. I think next time I will actually add more of the red pepper flakes for a little more of a kick!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adlichtenberger April 13, 2010

My family really enjoyed this meal. However, they would like the sauce a little thicker. I will make this again but thicken the sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahAJackson March 28, 2010

Very good! I tossed my chicken pieces in cornstarch and a few more red pepper flakes to kick the heat up a notch. If you cook the chicken in batches it will crisp up nicely and make your sauce very rich - carmelizing nice and glossy in your finished dish. Garnish with scallions, slicely on the diagonal and sesame seeds. Delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bhappy's kitchen March 25, 2010

I picked this recipe because of all the rave reviews, but as I was cooking it I became doubtful because the smell wasn't that great. But it sure did taste great! Maybe a smidge salty because of the soy sauce, so I'll reduce that next time. 5 stars! YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*PickyKids* March 22, 2010
Bourbon Chicken