2833 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What an excellent recipe! I made it for the first time tonight and followed the recipe as written with these exceptions: I used two cut up boneless chicken breast halves (not sure of the weight), a bit less crushed red pepper than called for (my husband's preference), and thickened the sauce at the end with culinary thickener. It was absolutely outstanding--both my husband and I loved it! It will most definitely be in our usual rotation from this point on. Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Marie B. September 28, 2010

Wow! This reminded me of my favorite General Tso's chicken but without the fried batter! Very good and easy to make. I added about 2 T bourbon to truly make it live up to its name! Excellent.....thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin kell September 14, 2010

I love this! So easy to make and delicious! We have a big family of 6, so I triple the sauce recipe and only use about 3/4 tsp of the red pepper flakes. The only down side of the original recipe is the lack of delicious sauce. I also had to thicken with corn starch at the end, but that's no biggie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachelhankinson September 13, 2010

Very tasty sauce, although a bit thin. My chicken was a bit overcooked. Next time I will try to spend a minimal amount of time getting the chicken pieces browned because the remainder of the time in the sauce is adequate to cook the bite-sized pieces. I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathyinManvel September 03, 2010

Why is this called Bourbon Chicken when it has no Bourbon in it??

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charh41 August 19, 2010

If I could give this a 10 I would! The first time I made this was as a surprise meal for my love, and I kept what I was making a secret until he guessed what it is - and he knew exactly what it was at first bite! It's amazingly tasty, and has a great kick! I highly recommend this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tia Tremblay August 07, 2010

Way too sweet, and very similar to "Japanese mum's chicken" from this site.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bellabby July 22, 2010

I thought I had already left a review of this wonderful recipe! My entire family LOVES this dish. I like to make just a tad more sauce so we can have a little extra to mix with our brown rice....just the right amount of spicy fom me but my DH & DD wouldn't mind a bit more heat. I love that it's sweet & spicy & it's perfect served with broccoli, asparagus, or snow peas. (almost any green veggie) Thanks, LinMarie, for a super recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texaspollock July 21, 2010

I LoVeD this recipe!!! it was perfect we tried it with brown rice and made lettuce wraps. Very tasty and nice for a summer dinner. it came out perfect

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy McBride July 07, 2010

My boyfriend made this for me a few days ago. It is fantastic. We tweeked it a little by adding bell pepper and onion into it. It was so good we're making it again tonight.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kbmaddox June 27, 2010
Bourbon Chicken