2942 Reviews

5 Stars isn't enough!!!!! This is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD!!!!! I used bnls/sknls chicken thighs, 'cause that's what I had on-hand. I too, decreased the red pepper flakes to 1/2 tsp.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful recipe!!! I "WILL" be making it again....& again!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ackman January 13, 2011

This was good, though very heavy on the soy sauce and I even cut it down to 1/4 cup. Will make again but with less soy sauce

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keesha84 January 13, 2011

Made with rice. Came out very well. I doubled the recipe, and in the future I would not double the water.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eca234 January 11, 2011

This was pretty good. I only added 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes and it was really spicy for me. I'm a weenie when it comes to spice, my husband said it was fine. lol It also seemed a little salty to me, and I used low sodium soy sauce. Also, I'd like to add that if you simmer with the lid off, you don't really need to add the corn starch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LogicallyLocked January 10, 2011

A great recipe! The only change I made was to add a 1lb package of frozen stir fry vegetables during the 20 minutes of simmering.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madriley61 January 04, 2011

Excellent. I read the other reviews so cooked the sauce separately and added the chicken later, also thickened the sauce with cornstarch. I used Vietnamese chili paste instead of red pepper flakes and grated ginger root instead of ginger powder. There were only two of us so I only used half the chicken but made all the sauce and used some in the stir fried vegetables. Not a bit left over! Yum Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quiltylady December 31, 2010

Fantastic! Followed the recipe, with the exception of whisking all of the ingredients and adding one teaspoon of cornstarch to thicken the sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsjdeiii December 30, 2010

It was good, and I would make it again, but not right away. Overall if you are looking for something new to try, this will work. No idea why it's the most popular chicken recipe here though, as I simply wouldn't rave about it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Got Sauce? December 19, 2010

The flavor was good! but my sauce never thickened. I'll try again with cornstarch. I don't live in high altitudes though. Also, next time I would brown the chicken, remove it and not add it back until the sauce is done. This is what they do in Chinese resturaunts. Simmering the chicken for 20 minutes after you cook it just makes tough meat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tallentedmango December 15, 2010

My family of four enjoyed. I made this exactly as described and served it over brown Bamsati rice. Fabulous! I will make again a double for left overs and make more sauce to flavor the rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracie Altland December 02, 2010
Bourbon Chicken