Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bourbon Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bourbon Chicken

    Average Rating:

    2,804 Total Reviews

    Showing 261-280 of 2,804

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2013

      This was excellent! After reading several reviews, I coated the chicken in cornstarch (you SO have to do this) and cooked it in 3 Tbsp oil. I doubled the sauce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      Good job

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2013

      Amazing! But where's the bourbon? I subbed some Jim Beam for the apple juice and it was delicious. I also reduced the sugar and red pepper. I only used 1/4 teaspoon red pepper and it was still a little too hot for our taste. My husband went gaga over this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      At first glance, I thought this was a fabulous recipe and so I had to try it. I made this for dinner tonight and it was a huge hit, with the hubs AND the kids!! Thanks so much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      We do not have a Chinese restaurant locally that sells bourbon chicken. Since me and my husband have been married (almost 2 years) I have been searching for a bourbon chicken as it is his favorite. I had never tried it before so I didn't know how it tasted. I didn't make a single change and my husband loved it! Thank you so much for this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      Great recipe! Had to brown the chicken in 4 batches as there was too much for one pan, it just boiled rather than browning. Added a few things: an extra clove of garlic, some xanthan gum to thicken the sauce at the end, and garnished with green onions. Doubled the ginger and crushed peppers because it like it spicy. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly.This dish is very versatile and can be easily modified. Uses ingredients that I already had in my kitchen, which is nice. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2013

      This was amazing! I added chopped green pepper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      It was a hit! I did not have apple juice so I used Apple, Orange and Peach mixed juice! I also used balsamic vinegar because I did not have apple cider vinegar. <br/>Thanks God Bless!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      Ok I make this once or twice a month when my wife asks for it. I double the sauce and use thighs. Serve with rice and good soy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2013

      It came out with much too much soupy liquid but I added some flour to thicken the sauce and the result was fantastic. Great taste. So four stars for a great tasting dish but you'll need cornstarch or flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2013

      It was good but it just lacked something. I'm not trying to be a hater considering this is the most reviewed chicken dish on this site but I was left feeling a little jipped I followed the hype. I followed the recipe exactly only substituting an actual apple (pulverized in a blender) for the apple juice. I think what turned me off was the ketchup. I liked the ginger and vinegar and I'll admit when served over rice, the rice did moderate the taste for the better. It was a fine meal but I don't think I'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      I made this last night for my husband and he actually had a pleasant comment! Thank you for posting this awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2013

    • on September 14, 2013

      This is a good recipe, but I didn't get the results I want because timing is tricky with chicken and reductions. Getting results with chicken is all about cooking it to an internal temp of 165. Every degree over this, and the chicken is a bit tougher. I guess it depends on your particular stove and the temperature you simmer the chicken at, but for me, 20 minutes was way too long. I took the chicken off at 15 and the meat was overcooked. I wasn't even comfortable leaving it on that long, but the sauce was still liquid, I thought it needed the full 20 minutes to reduce properly.<br/><br/>So here's what you should do instead. First, skip the step of browning the chicken first. Just add the chicken last, to the sauce. Let the sauce reduce a bit before you add the chicken. Then cook according to the chicken's timing. Cook until the chicken reaches the right temp, or test by cutting into the chicken and seeing if there's any pink inside. Once that pink is gone, stop cooking. If your sauce is still liquid at the time that the chicken is done, then simply thicken it with some cornstarch and flour, don't leave it on the heat to reduce any longer.<br/><br/>I plan to take my own advice and make this recipe again and fix my mistakes. Also, I personally think this recipe needs a veggie. I sliced a red bell pepper into it, and thought that did nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      This recipe has become a new favorite for our family. My boyfriend loves it and asks for it at least once a week! It is excellent. The only thing I would highly suggest is you add 1 Tablespoon of corn starch just to thicken the sauce up! I highly recommend this recipe to anyone who is thinking of trying!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      Ok, so this is nothing like the 'bourbon' chicken flavor you mig expect from Panda express or other mall food court places. I tried it tonight and doubled the sauce after reading other reviews. I should have doubled the chicken as wel! While it's ok, I didn't find it fingerlickin' good, but there was flavor explosion going on, maybe because I used fresh ingredients? I'm going to consult the chef-educated in the family, since I have a feeling that something is off balance (too much or too little of something). I think I'll try for less sugar, since it was extremely sweet. All in all, not a dead end, but needs some work. I think we're on to something here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2013

      This recipe is absolutely fantastic!! I didn't change a thing and my family loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      This is a yummy recipe! I rolled my chicken pieces in cornstarch and lightly browned them. I used OJ instead of apple juice and also used low sodium soy sauce. Also added in some sugar snap peas. Next time I will add more garlic. Very good, I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      I followed this recipe and we just found it pretty boring. We ended up adding chilli to give it some zing. But frankly its more for families who have small children who dont want alot of flavour. Its not an adult meal thats for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      I agree with others that this recipe does taste better than mall bourbon chicken. I did take the suggestions of several reviewers: I coated the chicken in cornstarch to thicken the sauce, I cut the red pepper because I have small children, and I made sure to double the sauce! I thought I was going to have leftovers but they ate this meal and apparently snacked on it later that night. I served over rice with a side of mixed veggies. I will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bourbon Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (330 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.4
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    42%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 145.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1573.0 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 21.4 g
    85%
    Protein 50.0 g
    100%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites