2829 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent. I read the other reviews so cooked the sauce separately and added the chicken later, also thickened the sauce with cornstarch. I used Vietnamese chili paste instead of red pepper flakes and grated ginger root instead of ginger powder. There were only two of us so I only used half the chicken but made all the sauce and used some in the stir fried vegetables. Not a bit left over! Yum Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quiltylady December 31, 2010

Fantastic! Followed the recipe, with the exception of whisking all of the ingredients and adding one teaspoon of cornstarch to thicken the sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsjdeiii December 30, 2010

It was good, and I would make it again, but not right away. Overall if you are looking for something new to try, this will work. No idea why it's the most popular chicken recipe here though, as I simply wouldn't rave about it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Got Sauce? December 19, 2010

The flavor was good! but my sauce never thickened. I'll try again with cornstarch. I don't live in high altitudes though. Also, next time I would brown the chicken, remove it and not add it back until the sauce is done. This is what they do in Chinese resturaunts. Simmering the chicken for 20 minutes after you cook it just makes tough meat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tallentedmango December 15, 2010

My family of four enjoyed. I made this exactly as described and served it over brown Bamsati rice. Fabulous! I will make again a double for left overs and make more sauce to flavor the rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracie Altland December 02, 2010

I was looking for something a little different to try with chicken, and I found it! This recipe is simple and delicious! I think next time I may make the sauce ahead of time and marinate the chicken in the sauce overnight to add a little extra flavor... but it was great as is! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smitty's Wife November 10, 2010

all I can say is yummy!!!! I tried this one over the summer and love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooktester November 08, 2010

I made this but added stir-fried broccoli. It tastes exactly like chicken and broccoli from a chinese restaurant! The best part is that it uses ingredients that I always have on hand!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daranaco October 27, 2010

My family loves this sometimes I add aparagus, and I usually thicken the sauce with alittle corn starch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jesskate October 17, 2010

This made a delicious dinner served over rice -- and was easy to make since all the ingredients are staples in our pantry. Even though I like spicy foods, next time I will decrease the red pepper since it was very hot. The only other change I'll make is to simmer the chicken pieces for only 15 minutes. I cut mine the standard size for bourbon chicken, but they came out a little dry after cooking for 20 minutes. The sauce is fantastic -- you've got the right mix of all the ingredients to make an authentic-tasting Bourbon Chicken.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester October 12, 2010
Bourbon Chicken