2864 Reviews

This is delicious! I did not have any garlic so used garlic powder as a substitute. I added green onions and served over rice. I will make this again! Thanks for sharing and thanks to those who take time to review!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mornelle January 30, 2011

this was delicious. served over jasmine rice instead of white whole family loved it . next time gonna add some stirfry. thank you for the recipe it is wonderful

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommacharity January 27, 2011

My wife loved it. I found out it's not a good recipe for people with IBS.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wagslick January 25, 2011

Very tasty! Thanks for posting. It is rather spicy but my family likes it that way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DesiRay January 25, 2011

I, too, used applesauce in place of apple juice which I did not have. Did not notice the sauce bit at all. To thicken, I added a bit of corn starch w/ cold water and served over brown rice. Awesome! Will be putting this in my can't wait to make again file.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CAREBEARCOOKING January 22, 2011

I'm actually between liked & loved on this one. I used chicken breast steaks and the meat ended up a little dry. I mistakenly added 3/4" tsp of the ginger, but it tasted fine. Also, I used low sodium soy (that I have on hand). I will definitely make it again, but I think I'll buy fresh breasts or even thigh meat and use regular soy to help tenderize the meat. I served with whole grain brown rice with green onions. My hubby & I definitely recommend. 1/14/11 - UPDATE to 4 from 3 stars! Used a large fresh chicken breast & regular soy - no low sodium, learned my lesson. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane in Burbank, CA January 17, 2011

5 Stars isn't enough!!!!! This is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD!!!!! I used bnls/sknls chicken thighs, 'cause that's what I had on-hand. I too, decreased the red pepper flakes to 1/2 tsp.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful recipe!!! I "WILL" be making it again....& again!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ackman January 13, 2011

This was good, though very heavy on the soy sauce and I even cut it down to 1/4 cup. Will make again but with less soy sauce

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keesha84 January 13, 2011

Made with rice. Came out very well. I doubled the recipe, and in the future I would not double the water.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eca234 January 11, 2011

This was pretty good. I only added 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes and it was really spicy for me. I'm a weenie when it comes to spice, my husband said it was fine. lol It also seemed a little salty to me, and I used low sodium soy sauce. Also, I'd like to add that if you simmer with the lid off, you don't really need to add the corn starch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LogicallyLocked January 10, 2011
Bourbon Chicken