2942 Reviews

Excellent! Added some chopped up bell peppers (red, green and orange), but other than that didn't change a thing. The sauce was a little thin, so next time I with thicken with a little cornstarch like another reviewer recommended.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy February 10, 2011

I loved this recipe my whole family loved it next time I will have to double the recipe so we can have left overs for the next night. The only thing I did not add was the red pepper flakes because my kids will not eat anything spicey. Oh also I did not have any regular cider on hand so I used apple cider instead and I did not taste any difference. We all loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mother of Twins February 10, 2011

Great recipe! Fun to read all the reviews but I had to add one of my own. The sauce makes this dish. I followed it exactly cooking it in a separate pan. I stir fried the chicken first until browned, set it aside then stir fried broccoli, onions and carrots. Added everything together and cooked in the sauce for about 15 minutes until chicken was just done. Served it over rice. Double the sauce and you can fix a very large dish adding other veggies and more chicken at will. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan 'nVegas February 03, 2011

This was so easy and so tasty. with some steamed broccoli and rice it was to die. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
upie118 January 31, 2011

This is delicious! I did not have any garlic so used garlic powder as a substitute. I added green onions and served over rice. I will make this again! Thanks for sharing and thanks to those who take time to review!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mornelle January 30, 2011

this was delicious. served over jasmine rice instead of white whole family loved it . next time gonna add some stirfry. thank you for the recipe it is wonderful

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommacharity January 27, 2011

My wife loved it. I found out it's not a good recipe for people with IBS.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wagslick January 25, 2011

Very tasty! Thanks for posting. It is rather spicy but my family likes it that way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DesiRay January 25, 2011

I, too, used applesauce in place of apple juice which I did not have. Did not notice the sauce bit at all. To thicken, I added a bit of corn starch w/ cold water and served over brown rice. Awesome! Will be putting this in my can't wait to make again file.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CAREBEARCOOKING January 22, 2011

I'm actually between liked & loved on this one. I used chicken breast steaks and the meat ended up a little dry. I mistakenly added 3/4" tsp of the ginger, but it tasted fine. Also, I used low sodium soy (that I have on hand). I will definitely make it again, but I think I'll buy fresh breasts or even thigh meat and use regular soy to help tenderize the meat. I served with whole grain brown rice with green onions. My hubby & I definitely recommend. 1/14/11 - UPDATE to 4 from 3 stars! Used a large fresh chicken breast & regular soy - no low sodium, learned my lesson. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane in Burbank, CA January 17, 2011
Bourbon Chicken