2940 Reviews

I wasn't terribly impressed with this recipe, especially for how highly it's been reviewed. It's nice and easy, which is great, but the end result just isn't all that special. I liked the heat from the red pepper, but I think it needs something else. I see some people are serving it with broccoli or pineapple, I'll probably try something like that next time, and possibly thicken the sauce. Bottom line, this is a super easy recipe, that I will probably try again, it just didn't "wow" me or my husband.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denisevflowers April 17, 2011

Delicious! My husband loved it! I served it with brown rice and broccolli.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
virnarossi April 12, 2011

After seeing this recipe dozens of times I finally decided to try it. I can see why there are almost 3000 reviews. It was delicious. I cut down on the hots but it was still a little too hot for me. I also added a little cornstarch. I can't wait to try this sauce with pork. Great recipe. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sacodeb April 06, 2011

AMAZING!! i wish i would have made more of the sauce than what the recipe calls for though :(

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachelmjohns March 09, 2011

Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
793315 March 09, 2011

Delicious!! I made a few alterations. I didn't have Ginger so I used 1/8t of nutmeg and 1/4 ground sage. I cut the red pepper by 1/4 because I didn't know how spicy my kids would think it was... I did add 1T of cornstarch to thicken the sauce. And I cut the apple juice and added a shot of Jack Daniels Whiskey since I didn't have Bourbon. Can't make Bourbon chicken without liquor! It was amazing! And the kids couldn't taste it nor were they affected for all of the extra cautious parents. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy87 March 08, 2011

Not good at all. My DH was even afraid I was making this again when I was making another recipe. Not sure if I did something wrong, but I thought I followed this exactly. Sorry will not be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
likeithot March 06, 2011

This recipe was easy. I had to make a couple minor changes to the recipe. I did cut the red pepper flakes, adding only 2/3 of what was called for (I can't handle too much spice) and added 1 T of cornstarch to thicken the sauce after simmering for the 20 min. Because my boyfriend is gluten intolerant I also used Bragg's Aminos instead of Soy Sauce. You'd never know the difference. As the other reviewers stated it was a great combination of sweet and spicy. It didn't taste salty, but that may be due to the use of Aminos. I served it over brown rice. There was just enough for the two of us so if you are feeding more than two people you may wish to increase the recipe or have more side dishes -- I only made one. It was an amazing dinner -- "One of the the best things you've ever made." It may be an oldie, but a goodie. Great Recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delusion95 March 04, 2011

After searching for a recipe for what I had on hand, I found this recipe and had everything except the ginger and apple juice...so in making the recipe, I nixed the ginger and used applesauce per other reviews...I also cut back on: the sugar a bit as the applesauce was sweetened, the soy sauce (and used a low sodium soy sauce)...and cut back on the crused red pepper as I just wasn't certain how hot it would be...I added some broccolit and....my family devoured it!!!!! It was very good, and we did not think it was too salty, but I'm sure cutting back on the soy sauce helped that. I would definately recommend this recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2mikes1nick February 24, 2011

I have made this recipe several times and I love it. It is easy to make and it is sure to be a crowd pleaser. I like adding cashews to it and a little extra red pepper flake. Almost as good as the stuff I made when I use to work at a chinese restaurant!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blockerryan February 19, 2011
Bourbon Chicken