Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bourbon Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bourbon Chicken

    Average Rating:

    2,754 Total Reviews

    Showing 221-240 of 2,754

    Sort by:

    • on September 14, 2013

      This is a good recipe, but I didn't get the results I want because timing is tricky with chicken and reductions. Getting results with chicken is all about cooking it to an internal temp of 165. Every degree over this, and the chicken is a bit tougher. I guess it depends on your particular stove and the temperature you simmer the chicken at, but for me, 20 minutes was way too long. I took the chicken off at 15 and the meat was overcooked. I wasn't even comfortable leaving it on that long, but the sauce was still liquid, I thought it needed the full 20 minutes to reduce properly.<br/><br/>So here's what you should do instead. First, skip the step of browning the chicken first. Just add the chicken last, to the sauce. Let the sauce reduce a bit before you add the chicken. Then cook according to the chicken's timing. Cook until the chicken reaches the right temp, or test by cutting into the chicken and seeing if there's any pink inside. Once that pink is gone, stop cooking. If your sauce is still liquid at the time that the chicken is done, then simply thicken it with some cornstarch and flour, don't leave it on the heat to reduce any longer.<br/><br/>I plan to take my own advice and make this recipe again and fix my mistakes. Also, I personally think this recipe needs a veggie. I sliced a red bell pepper into it, and thought that did nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      This recipe has become a new favorite for our family. My boyfriend loves it and asks for it at least once a week! It is excellent. The only thing I would highly suggest is you add 1 Tablespoon of corn starch just to thicken the sauce up! I highly recommend this recipe to anyone who is thinking of trying!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2013

      NOT BOURBON CHICKEN! But still a tasty recipe. This recipe is more like General Tso's chicken than what my local place calls Bourbon chicken. It has quite a bit of kick too! It was still a good recipe, just misleading by the name.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      Ok, so this is nothing like the 'bourbon' chicken flavor you mig expect from Panda express or other mall food court places. I tried it tonight and doubled the sauce after reading other reviews. I should have doubled the chicken as wel! While it's ok, I didn't find it fingerlickin' good, but there was flavor explosion going on, maybe because I used fresh ingredients? I'm going to consult the chef-educated in the family, since I have a feeling that something is off balance (too much or too little of something). I think I'll try for less sugar, since it was extremely sweet. All in all, not a dead end, but needs some work. I think we're on to something here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2013

      This recipe is absolutely fantastic!! I didn't change a thing and my family loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      This is a yummy recipe! I rolled my chicken pieces in cornstarch and lightly browned them. I used OJ instead of apple juice and also used low sodium soy sauce. Also added in some sugar snap peas. Next time I will add more garlic. Very good, I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      I followed this recipe and we just found it pretty boring. We ended up adding chilli to give it some zing. But frankly its more for families who have small children who dont want alot of flavour. Its not an adult meal thats for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      I agree with others that this recipe does taste better than mall bourbon chicken. I did take the suggestions of several reviewers: I coated the chicken in cornstarch to thicken the sauce, I cut the red pepper because I have small children, and I made sure to double the sauce! I thought I was going to have leftovers but they ate this meal and apparently snacked on it later that night. I served over rice with a side of mixed veggies. I will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2013

      This was excellent and tasted just like the bourbon chicken in Chinese takeout!<br/>My family gave it a 9 out of 10 and wants it for dinner on a regular basis! I used<br/>3/4 tsp red pepper for a double recipe and it was perfect!<br/>Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      this was amazing!!! I made it 2 nights in a row. very easy very delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2013

      reviewing this amazing dish :) respect me, my fab african ancestors and we are ok ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2013

      This dish is absolutely delicious! I have used many recipes from this website and all have been impressive, but this was the one that compelled me to register for the site so I could show my appreciation! I followed this to a T except I used chicken thighs, much more tender than chicken breast. I made this for my partner and his brother and everyone was blown away by the flavour. Considering the very simple list of ingredients this requires, and the perfect outcome this is going to be a permanent fixture on our dinner menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2013

    • on June 20, 2013

      This chicken with some fried rice and shrimp sauce is just like going out to eat at my husband's favorite spot, Nikkos. The Secret Shrimp Sauce recipe is also on this site and the Chinese Fried Rice, it all mixes together perfectly. Thanks for sharing this recipe I will be using it alot more often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      Good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2013

      Even though I cut the dried red pepper flakes to 1/2 tsp, my DH thought this was too spicy. Thanks for sharing though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2013

      This was an awesome recipe! Everyone loved it. I did thicken the sauce with cornstarch like a few other reviewers suggested because we like it that way. Served it over pan fried noodles. Family and friends cleaned their plates! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      This is a great recipe! I didn't change the ingredients for the sauce much, although I did add veggies: After the chicken was cooked, I added some thin slices of jalapeno (we like things spicy around here) and some snow peas to the wok and let those cook for about 5 minutes before I added the sauce and finished off the chicken. The chicken only needed about 10 minutes to cook through. And then I added about 2 tbsp of cornstarch in a water slurry to thicken.<br/><br/>It was delicious! Between 2 of us, we definitely ate the whole recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2013

      Just like the stuff at the food court!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bourbon Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (330 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.4
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    42%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 145.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1573.0 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 21.4 g
    85%
    Protein 50.0 g
    100%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites