2842 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious!! I made a few alterations. I didn't have Ginger so I used 1/8t of nutmeg and 1/4 ground sage. I cut the red pepper by 1/4 because I didn't know how spicy my kids would think it was... I did add 1T of cornstarch to thicken the sauce. And I cut the apple juice and added a shot of Jack Daniels Whiskey since I didn't have Bourbon. Can't make Bourbon chicken without liquor! It was amazing! And the kids couldn't taste it nor were they affected for all of the extra cautious parents. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy87 March 08, 2011

Not good at all. My DH was even afraid I was making this again when I was making another recipe. Not sure if I did something wrong, but I thought I followed this exactly. Sorry will not be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
likeithot March 06, 2011

This recipe was easy. I had to make a couple minor changes to the recipe. I did cut the red pepper flakes, adding only 2/3 of what was called for (I can't handle too much spice) and added 1 T of cornstarch to thicken the sauce after simmering for the 20 min. Because my boyfriend is gluten intolerant I also used Bragg's Aminos instead of Soy Sauce. You'd never know the difference. As the other reviewers stated it was a great combination of sweet and spicy. It didn't taste salty, but that may be due to the use of Aminos. I served it over brown rice. There was just enough for the two of us so if you are feeding more than two people you may wish to increase the recipe or have more side dishes -- I only made one. It was an amazing dinner -- "One of the the best things you've ever made." It may be an oldie, but a goodie. Great Recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delusion95 March 04, 2011

After searching for a recipe for what I had on hand, I found this recipe and had everything except the ginger and apple juice...so in making the recipe, I nixed the ginger and used applesauce per other reviews...I also cut back on: the sugar a bit as the applesauce was sweetened, the soy sauce (and used a low sodium soy sauce)...and cut back on the crused red pepper as I just wasn't certain how hot it would be...I added some broccolit and....my family devoured it!!!!! It was very good, and we did not think it was too salty, but I'm sure cutting back on the soy sauce helped that. I would definately recommend this recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2mikes1nick February 24, 2011

I have made this recipe several times and I love it. It is easy to make and it is sure to be a crowd pleaser. I like adding cashews to it and a little extra red pepper flake. Almost as good as the stuff I made when I use to work at a chinese restaurant!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blockerryan February 19, 2011

Excellent! Added some chopped up bell peppers (red, green and orange), but other than that didn't change a thing. The sauce was a little thin, so next time I with thicken with a little cornstarch like another reviewer recommended.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy February 10, 2011

I loved this recipe my whole family loved it next time I will have to double the recipe so we can have left overs for the next night. The only thing I did not add was the red pepper flakes because my kids will not eat anything spicey. Oh also I did not have any regular cider on hand so I used apple cider instead and I did not taste any difference. We all loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mother of Twins February 10, 2011

Great recipe! Fun to read all the reviews but I had to add one of my own. The sauce makes this dish. I followed it exactly cooking it in a separate pan. I stir fried the chicken first until browned, set it aside then stir fried broccoli, onions and carrots. Added everything together and cooked in the sauce for about 15 minutes until chicken was just done. Served it over rice. Double the sauce and you can fix a very large dish adding other veggies and more chicken at will. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan 'nVegas February 03, 2011

This was so easy and so tasty. with some steamed broccoli and rice it was to die. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
upie118 January 31, 2011

This is delicious! I did not have any garlic so used garlic powder as a substitute. I added green onions and served over rice. I will make this again! Thanks for sharing and thanks to those who take time to review!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mornelle January 30, 2011
Bourbon Chicken