Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bourbon Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bourbon Chicken

    Average Rating:

    2,809 Total Reviews

    Showing 201-220 of 2,809

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2014

      Yummy thanks LinMarie, but as others have, added a little cornflour to thicken the sauce. Served with rice and Asian veg. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2014

      Sauce is tasty. But simmering boneless, skinless chicken breast pieces for that long made the chicken pretty dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2014

      I followed the recipe as written and it was a HUGE hit last night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2014

      I pressure cooked a chicken because I wanted the broth for a different soup. I found this recipe, and used my pulled, chopped chicken in it. Chicken cooked that way is SO tender, and really absorbs the sauce--yum! For that amount of chicken (probably about 3 cups) I almost tripled the sauce and would always do that in future. I used crushed red pepper and only put in half amount, and boy am I glad! It would have been waaaay to spicy for us if I had used the suggested amount. Now I don't know if red pepper flakes are the same as crushed red pepper--just know that crushed are HOT! I did not have a triple amount of soy sauce, but it was fine. Used balsamic instead of cider vinegar because that's what I had. My garlic cloves were big and I added a little extra, but would cut that down next time. I used freshly grated ginger (you can buy a piece big enough for about 15 cents). I use fresh whenever possible. Hubby and I both really enjoyed this (there's enough left for another meal) and I'll probably make it the same way next time. ONE NOTE: we had to open all the windows while this was cooking! Really creates strong fumes, I think from the combination of vinegar and garlic with the other ingredients. Oh, and it reduced nicely and I didn't feel like it needed thickening. This is definitely going in my file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2014

      I double the sauce when making this! It's amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2014

      I like chiken it is a nice food and i like this chicken dish alot because its chicken

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2014

      DELICIOUS! Husband approved! He requested we do it with noodles next time. He's such a picky eater, it's always awesome when a recipe gets his stamp of approval. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2014

      Recipe was very good, I used whole chicken thighs, skin off and added cornstarch to thicken..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2014

      Very good, I wish the sauce was more sauce-y mine turned out like liquid, still really really good, I'd make this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2014

      Excellent recipe! Wouldn't change a thing. Served it for a dinner for 200, and went off like a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2014

      Really a great recipe.Enjoy this.Yum! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      This is delicious! I made it exactly as written and it came out great. I had leftover sauce, and discovered that it is wonderful for cooking lots of other things besides chicken. We've used it as an ingredient with skillet-fried thin-sliced potatoes (white and sweet potatoes mixed, with some bacon and onions), and last night I poured tossed about 3/4 cup of leftover sauce with bite-sized chunks of eggplant, bell pepper, and onion (along with an extra 2 T of olive oil), spread them on a baking sheet, and oven-roasted them at 425 for 20 minutes. The best roasted veggies I've ever had! I'll be keeping this bourbon-less "bourbon" marinade handy in my fridge for more experimentation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2014

      Oh my goodness, was this tasty!! I found myself licking the leftover sauce in the pan when I was doing the dishes!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2014

      Just made this and it was wonderful. I cut the chili peppers a bit as my family is not big on spicy foods.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2014

      Yummy! I lightly coated my chicken pieces in flour before browning. I think that helped to thicken sauce, as in did not need to add cornstarch. I actually added a little more water to make sauce go further. I also added fresh pineapple chunks while simmering. Just the right amount of sweetness to contrast to the spicy hot flavor of pepper flakes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2014

      Quite sweet, I would omit half of the sugar next time but otherwise a hit with hubby and 14 month old!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2014

      Like this recipe needs another review.....but here goes. OFF THE CHART in flavor with very little effort. I added a little cornstarch to my chicken before browning it up and after adding the sauce ingredients and the chicken back into the pan, I added a little more cornstarch mixed with chicken stock to help it thicken up more. Absolutely wonderful dish! Not time consuming, easy on the budget, and it makes the cook look like a rock star! Thanks LinMarie!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2014

      This is a tasty recipe. I used chicken thighs instead of breasts since they are more flavorful. I really browned the thighs that I cut into medium sized pieces in an iron skillet on medium-high. I mixed all the ingredients in a small bowl before adding them to the skillet. I used pineapple juice with a tablespoon of vanilla extract (would have used bourbon if I had any) instead of apple juice. I also added some much needed sesame oil to give it more flavor. I thickened it up with a little cornstarch (2 tsp cornstarch mixed with 2 tsp water) towards the end. Served it over Jasmine rice. I gave this 4 stars because it isn't quite the bourbon chicken you can get in the food court, but is the closest I've made. I'd make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      WOW! This was a big hit at my house! I added the 1 tbsp of corn starch to make the sauce thicker, but I will definitely be making this again and again. I served over steamed broccoli and rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      I tripled the recipe but otherwise made it as written. The sauce is very hot so next time I will cut back on crushed red pepper by half. I added green pepper and sliced onion at the end and threw in 3 lunch sized containers of pineapple tidbits to try to cut the heat. Over all pretty good. Will serve over white rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bourbon Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (330 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.4
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    42%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 145.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1573.0 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 21.4 g
    85%
    Protein 50.0 g
    100%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes