2869 Reviews

This is a wonderful keeper. Like others, I dusted my chicken in corn starch before I started cooking it which definitely helped to thicken the sauce. I also chose to cut the sugar back by almost 1/2 which worked out perfect for us. As for the ginger, I added a little extra...I took my vegetable peeler and peeled fresh strips of ginger and added them directly to the pot. Everything else I kept the same. I served the chicken over rice with Chinese style sesame green beans on the side. Much less expensive the take-out and better tasting too. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate May 31, 2011

I had 8 People over for dinner last night and every one of them enjoyed this recipe. Loved it, thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meecha4mike May 26, 2011

Delicious! A tad on the spicy side, so I cut down on the red peppers and doubled the sauce. I'm vegetarian, so I made it using Quorn pieces, which worked out heavenly. I served it with a 'triple jade' vegetable mixture over rice. So very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
litvat May 23, 2011

Too salty, even with reduced sodium soy sauce. 2-3 Tablespoons is all you really need. Replace missing soy with water. I didn't find this hot at all, ended up adding some chili oil to it once plated for added spice. Reminds me more of General Tso's Chicken than bourbon chicken. I also coat my chicken in corn starch before cooking it, just my family's preference, It is wonderful either way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dholle May 17, 2011

not that this needs another review...but great easy sauce to make, full of flavor. I threw different veggies in when it was simmering...and they steamed up great. chicken is so tender. hubby loved it too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheftigue May 15, 2011

Great recipe!! I have made it several times, I double the sauce except the red pepper and ginger. SO GOOD!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dbescurry April 20, 2011

Great flavor and so simple to throw together on a weary night. After reading other reviews, I decided to toss the chicken in cornstarch before frying. This really helped to thicken the sauce. I'm afraid it wouldn't be as appealing without it. Next time I might add some peanuts or cashews for added flavor and crunch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick April 19, 2011

I wasn't terribly impressed with this recipe, especially for how highly it's been reviewed. It's nice and easy, which is great, but the end result just isn't all that special. I liked the heat from the red pepper, but I think it needs something else. I see some people are serving it with broccoli or pineapple, I'll probably try something like that next time, and possibly thicken the sauce. Bottom line, this is a super easy recipe, that I will probably try again, it just didn't "wow" me or my husband.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denisevflowers April 17, 2011

Delicious! My husband loved it! I served it with brown rice and broccolli.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
virnarossi April 12, 2011

After seeing this recipe dozens of times I finally decided to try it. I can see why there are almost 3000 reviews. It was delicious. I cut down on the hots but it was still a little too hot for me. I also added a little cornstarch. I can't wait to try this sauce with pork. Great recipe. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sacodeb April 06, 2011
Bourbon Chicken