2940 Reviews

Not quite what I expected.

Le In Chen

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CT_Foodie June 23, 2011

this recipe is delicious!!! i'd definitely say to double up on the sauce though, i had too. i had Apple Sauce in the frig already so I just used 1/4 cup of that instead of the Apple Juice. good recipe though. Jeez im stuffed

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
codycove June 12, 2011

This is a good weeknight meal. I followed the recipe almost exactly with a slight deviation in that
-I added some fresh finely chopped ginger and
-as some other reviews had suggested, dredged the chicken in cornstarch before frying.
I was a bit worried that the sauce seemed very thin at the outset, but it did thicken over the twenty minutes that it simmered with the chicken. Served with jasmine rice and garnished with thinly sliced scallions.
I feel that the recipe was crying out for some veg, so next time I make it, I will either add stir fried veg or serve some on the side, making enough of the sauce for the veg too.
It was also a little salty, so I may use less soy sauce next time or opt for a lower sodium soy sauce.
The sauce in this recipe reminds me a lot of English Rose's Tilapia in Thai Sauce (tilapia in Thai sauce) which is absolutely delicious with lime juice being used in place of apple juice, so if you're looking for a similar fish dish, give it a try!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bhu June 09, 2011

This is a wonderful keeper. Like others, I dusted my chicken in corn starch before I started cooking it which definitely helped to thicken the sauce. I also chose to cut the sugar back by almost 1/2 which worked out perfect for us. As for the ginger, I added a little extra...I took my vegetable peeler and peeled fresh strips of ginger and added them directly to the pot. Everything else I kept the same. I served the chicken over rice with Chinese style sesame green beans on the side. Much less expensive the take-out and better tasting too. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate May 31, 2011

I had 8 People over for dinner last night and every one of them enjoyed this recipe. Loved it, thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meecha4mike May 26, 2011

Delicious! A tad on the spicy side, so I cut down on the red peppers and doubled the sauce. I'm vegetarian, so I made it using Quorn pieces, which worked out heavenly. I served it with a 'triple jade' vegetable mixture over rice. So very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
litvat May 23, 2011

Too salty, even with reduced sodium soy sauce. 2-3 Tablespoons is all you really need. Replace missing soy with water. I didn't find this hot at all, ended up adding some chili oil to it once plated for added spice. Reminds me more of General Tso's Chicken than bourbon chicken. I also coat my chicken in corn starch before cooking it, just my family's preference, It is wonderful either way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dholle May 17, 2011

not that this needs another review...but great easy sauce to make, full of flavor. I threw different veggies in when it was simmering...and they steamed up great. chicken is so tender. hubby loved it too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheftigue May 15, 2011

Great recipe!! I have made it several times, I double the sauce except the red pepper and ginger. SO GOOD!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dbescurry April 20, 2011

Great flavor and so simple to throw together on a weary night. After reading other reviews, I decided to toss the chicken in cornstarch before frying. This really helped to thicken the sauce. I'm afraid it wouldn't be as appealing without it. Next time I might add some peanuts or cashews for added flavor and crunch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick April 19, 2011
Bourbon Chicken